Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great, old world hotel built in 1800th,

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: old world charm and superb service
Cons: gym facility, create outdoor sitting to enjoy the meal in a mild and comfortable weather.
Location: Jaku Temple, Lounge and mall road shopping are nearby.
Great hotel, retaining its old world charm with original extensive woodwork. Great spa facilities, excellent food choices with traditional and international cuisine . Superb service, great mountains views. Located on a Mall Road in a walking distance to most of the major attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Niguel, CA

Heaven in Shimla

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping, sightseeing
Another great heritage hotel in India. So many things to mention. The meal and dining room were superb. Overall ambience A+. Service over the top. Indoor pool was very nice and steam room area well maintained/clean. Breakfast was also very good. We were there during peak season but very quiet and calm inside the hotel. Fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gurgaon

Live it to experience it

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Words cannot describe the hospitality extended by the staff of Oberoi Cecil. One has to stay here to expereince what a guest oriented hotel is all about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
With 2 kids we have to have maid with us as 1 kid is small and if we go out for dinner we need to take care of kid but there was one lady from staff at reception who was like misbehaved in terms of not keepin our maid with us . With all respect I never uttered a word but I have been traveling world and she has been with us every ware kindly take care for future
5 out of 5
by Adam

Memorable service with great decor

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
I've heard stories about the quality of the service at the Cecil, and was amazed to see that they were all true. The staff were all well-trained and greeted me by name whenever I encountered them. They served me a welcome hot chocolate upon arrival, and offered suggestions on how to spend my time in Shimla. Dinner was particularly memorable, as the staff were actively engaged in helping me understand the various local dishes. I ended up ordering gucchi matar (a mushroom and pea dish), which was fantastic. I also had the chance to try a few other of their delicacies, including a sorba. Service aside, the room itself was quite impressive. The suite in which I stayed looked like something out of the Viceregal Lodge. All of the furnishings were made of ornate wood, with the bathroom furnished in green marble. As I had business to conduct while visiting, I used the WiFi. Free 2 Mbps WiFi is now available. Faster WiFi is available for 500 INR, but I didn't bother to upgrade, as I found the WiFi provided to be adequate for Skype.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia, Sydney

Best ever experience, great great great staff!!!!!

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Best ever experience. Most amazing staff I have ever come across, great hospitality!! Great decor, perfect to experience the rich heritage of India.... loved the food and great attention to each detail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A fabulous, historic property with stunning views

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The very well appointed, historically decorated rooms and the level of service from the staff.
Location: Walk the Mall Road, climb to the Hanuman temple, take in the stunning sights.
Oberoi Cecil is the perfect spot from which to explore Shimla. Very close to the Mall Road and with easy access to many historic sites, the rooms are elegant, the food and service excellent, and the experience of the place was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Best place to stay in Shimla. Really can't beat the service here. You pay for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Great break from the chaos of daily India. Quite and peaceful. Beautiful grounds and hikes. Meditation destination. Will certainly be back.
5 out of 5
by Surjit Singh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels