Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Delhi

Location.

Posted Jun 11, 2018
Pros: wooden designed hotel.
Location: The mall, Ridge, institute advance study, any sightseeing is able to walk for good for health.
Location is very nice, tourist location in Shimla is walking distance. very convenient to signtseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic hotel, exceptional child friendly staff

Posted Apr 9, 2018
We had a fantastic 4 night stay here in April with our 2 girls (age 2 and 5). On the face of it the hotel appears like a formal colonial period property, but the staff are outstanding. All levels of staff from the management to the housekeepers went out of their way to accommodate us and make the kids feel right at home, which put us at ease. The facilities are of a high standard including the gym and the pool, and there is nothing that the Chef will not make for you. The kids activity centre is well staffed and our girls enjoyed it. A special mention goes to Payal at the activity centre and Prateek in the Restaurant. The only negative thing I could say is that it would be nice to have an outdoor seating area of some description so we could enjoy the famous Shimla scenery and surroundings a bit more. We look forward to returning in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Mar 6, 2018
supeb-bit far from The Ridge-roomon Cart road side slightly noisy but corrected immediately
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandigarh

Offbeat but classical Oberoi

Posted Feb 26, 2018
This property is perched atop the ridge. It is one of those old world colonial heritage properties. All the elements of the hotel, the faint music in the lobby, the guests, the decor, the smell, add up to that very retro, very colonial experience. I would admit that it's slightly heavy on the pocket, but they do exemplify the Oberoi brand of hospitality. That area has many military installations, cleanliness comes free. Add to it the lush deodar cover and sunshine. Magic. We stayed here for 4 nights. In a very characteristic Oberoi gesture, they surprised us with an upgrade to premium room with a balcony overlooking the valley. Gorgeous view! The weather was perfect in the week of Valentine. One can easily be drawn to the many trails into the woods and stray off into the well maintained walkways amidst the whistling deodars. As for our room, it had a well appointed color palette that delivered a break from the usual grey's & whites. The enamel chipping away on the wooden balcony, especially, added to the charm. Sun filled the room for most part of the day, made for an extra pleasing working holiday. The narrow corridors and staircases are done in rich wood and thick carpet. The staff is super courteous. One gentleman even left a personal gift. Asked me to give it to my mother. Sweet, thanks Vineet! All in all, this was a great escape. PS: The cuisine is geared to foreign palate, so tell them your spice preferences before hand. And ignore the monkeys, seriously.
5 out of 5
by Gaurav

Fabulous!

Posted Dec 7, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing heritage property, the rooms are exceptionally nice , staff is courteous. Had an overall fabulous experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Excellent service

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Forget about location and history of this hotel which are amazing, the service is at another level. They make you feel like a royal. Check my detailed review on TripAdvisor.
5 out of 5
by Humera

Amazing Views and Restaurant Service!

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel has a cottage type feeling and amazing views in the mountain view room. The service received in the restaurant was above expectations with us being served new desserts not even on the menu or things we hadn't ordered so we could still taste it. Really recommend trying the paan ice cream (ask for this even if not on menu) and the white tortini. Kashish really went above and beyond to serve us! Pleasantly surprised and look forward to coming again
4 out of 5
by JAYANTI

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
It was nice and service was very good as expected in a Oberoi property. Excellent food and colonial feel in the hotel. The bathroom in the room was a bit dated and needs modernisation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great, old world hotel built in 1800th,

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: old world charm and superb service
Cons: gym facility, create outdoor sitting to enjoy the meal in a mild and comfortable weather.
Location: Jaku Temple, Lounge and mall road shopping are nearby.
Great hotel, retaining its old world charm with original extensive woodwork. Great spa facilities, excellent food choices with traditional and international cuisine . Superb service, great mountains views. Located on a Mall Road in a walking distance to most of the major attractions.
5 out of 5
by Jatin

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Best brand on service Incomparable