Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

special situation

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Its position, the fact all rooms face the sea, the sunsets , the enormous pool, the beach, watching the surfers and the dinosaur feet .
Cons: The food was rather over priced with smallish portions.
Location: The position of the hotel is perfect and west facing which means endless beautiful sunsets. The old tram from nearby Praca das Macas going into Sintra
This hotel is in a wonderful position and all rooms face the west and the sea. So sunsets guaranteed. The pool is enormous and a real workout. There are regular buses in to Sintra and along the coast. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible service

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: View
Cons: Service
Location: not much.
We stayed only 2 nights. First day we told them, the hair dryer is not working, no one came to check out. Second day we told them again, some one came and after checking the fuse made sure is not working. I also told them that when we take a shower, the whole bathroom is flooding , which the person who changed the hair dryer confirmed. the lady at the desk told me the room is for disabled people, my reply was that first we are not disabled and even disabled people should not swim in the bathroom after taking shower then she replied maybe there was no other room available that's why they gave us that one, which to my opinion is not acceptable , if you have no room available then you should not book. We were very disappointed and did not enjoy our stay there. The only good thing there was the view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location to beach

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We had a great time. Even on cloudy days. I did yoga and the Olympic size pool was refreshing. The ocean splashes over the sea wall and is fun to watch. The sunset is spectacular from the bar. The room was bright and cheerful. We slept very well. The staff were friendly and made sure we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Horrific out dated lazy hotel full of mosquitoes

Posted Jul 14, 2017
We checked out of this hotel after the first night of 3. On first appearance the hotel has a great location on the beach and inside it seems ok if a little cold and does lack atmosphere. We awoke in the morning after the first night to find our room full of mosquitoes. About 20 or so. We bought some plug in repellent and were happy that this would solve the issue. It actually turned out that it was already too late by this point as we later realized we had already been bitten all over. The noise from the pool outside was awful. Full of screaming kids all day long. So you couldn't lie by the pool or be in your room without shutting the door to the balcony. However the last straw was the cleaner changing the sheets on our bed and thinking it acceptable to leave a dead squashed bloody mosquito in the middle of the top sheet. I lost all faith in their hygiene standards at this point and just had to get away from this horror hotel. We'd paid in advance so we lost out on money and of course this meant the very rude grey haired guy on the reception desk couldn't care less about our complaints. They did offer us another room but we were already sure that the cleanliness of the hotel was not to standard and we found somewhere else. If we had stayed another night at this hotel our mini break would have been ruined completely. Luckily it was revived by staying at a lovely Quinta a couple of kilometres away. Don't book this hotel and Expedia should do a check on their hygiene standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick Canada

Great hotel, perfect view!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: English speaking of the servers
I stayed 3 nights in Arribas Hotel and not even one night I even thought of closing that sliding door.... I slept with the sounds of the waves. It was just perfect. The room was large and super clean! I loved the wardrobe... it was big and clean. The view..... well .... this view is to die for! I think all the rooms are facing the ocean, which is great! The pool is largeeeeeeee!!! Loved it! I also got a massage from the lady by the pool. It was just awesome. Kind lady! The beach is full of surfers...so if this is something you want to try- this is the hotel where you should be staying! Great waves ;-) The hotel is a little far from Pena Palace & Castello de Mouros and downtown Sintra, but if you don't mind the taxi or even the bus (which is like 1 minute walk from the hotel), this is the perfect hotel to just go back and relax after a full day of sight seeing! The restaurant is lovely.... great pictures on the wall from the history of the hotel/beach. You have the same view, which is perfect! Food is good and the service was great... although the servers I had (2 times) didn't speak much English, which I think is a must for as a second language for these kind of hotels ;-) Overall- great experience. I miss this view so much!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The hotel is located on a beautiful beach. The place is good for surfers. There is a huge pool with sea water - around 110m length. There are few restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel but you need to plan well and have earlier dinner in order to avoid disappointment of finding the places closed.
5 out of 5
by alejandro

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Randal

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely brilliant the staff and facilities were excellent
5 out of 5
by Kathy

Awesome Arribas

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Will definitely go back there.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Interestingly minimalist restored 1960´s hotel. Superb sea views.