Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magnificent Castle Experience

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Old world character. Lovely people. Beautiful location.
Cons: Warn people about mosquitoes of the area. Not set up for handicap needs.
Location: Sintra--one of the most spectacular sights of Portugal. Montserrat and its gorgeous gardens. Close to Cascais and the dramatic coastline near Lisbon
We spent three days immersed in the authentic old world feeling of this 16th century castle. It was one of our most memorable Expedia reservations. It is truly ancient character, so, if you are looking for modern luxury this is not for you. It is accessible by a little rocky and steep road on the Sintra Hill, but its old world charm is worth the visit. The authentic period furnishings give it extra charm. We became friends sitting around the large table for the wonderful breakfast. You can also request a wonderful evening meal. We can't wait to go back to Sintra--just to stay there!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
The room was lovely, the location is great minutes to both the beach and old town (which we thought was the best area). Breakfast was simple but a good choice continental. Parking is advertised, but you have to hope for a place on the road and one day we couldn't get a space and had to park quite away from the hotel (glad it wasn't on arrival of departure when we would have had suitcases with us). WIFI was rubbish also seemed to be dropping out contantly, and yes i know, do we need to have WIFI available when on holiday, not normally but we did as we were travelling around and needed to check things. Would we stay again, yes the location was perfect. The hotel even had umbrellas for the beach you could use.The sun loungers/shades nearest were over priced at 15 euros a day (two beds and a umbrella), walk further up the beach away from the hotel and the cost drops to 6 euros.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

It's not a hotel. It's a house.

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing. It's not a hotel.
Location: Almost impossible to find at night.
Terrible experience. The person that I call, doesn't know to give me the correct address, because the address in the site, IT'S NOT CORRECT. One of the worse experience that I ever had.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Boston, Massachusetts USA

Historic Portugal.

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay here and got to see how the rich lived hundreds of years ago. It was like staying at a castle. A small hotel transformed from a original picturesque private estate home. The receptionist was very nice and even gave us a tour of some private quarters.
5 out of 5
by Antonio from Madrid

close to all relevant see sights

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels
Different, typical country house with a very nice surroundings. A little bit difficult to get access to the house but once there the facilities are very good and confortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bozeman, MT

What an amazing treasure!

Posted Mar 29, 2012 on Hotels
We were so surprised to step through the green door and experience the old-world charm of another time. We never would have imagined that such a gorgeous home and garden existed behind the stone wall that's visible from the road. The view overlooks the amazing Monserrat Palace on the next hilltop adjoining the property. The garden is extensive and the home is huge but the main endearing thing about this place is the warmth of the owner and her staff. We were mesmerized by their hospitality and were greeted with warm kindness. It was truly a memorable experience for our entire family. The people were just lovely!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Céline from Longueuil

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Difficile à trouver
4 out of 5
by Irene from Stockholm

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Fridfullt och vackert gammalt ställe med mycket karaktär. Tyvärr mycket svårtillgängligt läge med en otroligt smal, slingrande och gropig väg som tycktes leda rakt ut i djungeln istället för till ett hotell. Det var med hjärtat i halsgropen vi tog oss fram och tillbaka till hotellet.