Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Book after 7PM for same day, no checkin, no refund

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Plenty of open spaces in the parking lot (which should tell you something).
Cons: Customer service
They don't allow checkins after 7PM or refunds if you happen to arrive after. Arrive at 7:05? They just keep your money. Unfortunately, I booked on Expedia around 10 PM for the same night and missed the note that check in ends at 7 (I've never encountered this at a hotel). Expedia sent the booking confirmation and I drove out to the hotel. Of course, the office was closed, and no one answered the phone. Though the policy seems strict, one would think it could be waived for people who arrive within minutes of the booking being *confirmed*. The very act of booking after 7PM for the same day means you've thrown away your money with no recourse. Any "normal" business in this day and age would offer a refund for the mishap, especially considering they're providing you literally no service or product in return for your money. Though I'd normally not leave a negative review against the hotel in this case, they've haven't returned any calls, Expedia confirmed the booking, and of course they weren't willing to refund the money. The booking should never have been confirmed if it could not be honored! I would certainly never try to stay there again, nor would advise any one else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Last resort

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Room 238 heater broke, one burner was functional, water went from hot to cold, bathroom needs maintenance and esthetic repair. Suitable for single, homeless, no where else to go seekers...not worth the price to me. No staff after 7..good luck finding maintenance
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smyrna, GA

Ok for the price

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Not bad for the price. Office personnel is only available from 11am to 7pm Monday thru Saturday tho so that kind of sucked but otherwise was ok for the price. There are tenants who live there so there are kids running around late at night and jumping around that kept me up half the night 2 nights in a row but stayed there a week and didn't have much other trouble or nuisance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Good for transition
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Used and Abused

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Not worth the $75/night I paid, more like half that. It's in transition from Sun Suites to an Inntel but renovations would be so extensive I don't see how it could be cost effective. Dirty carpet, ancient furniture, broken floor tiles, rusty sink, crumbling walkways and overall just beat up. No amenities. It should be leveled and a new one built, not exaggerating. The good things about it are the location is great, the tub drained well, the elevator still works and Breanna at the front desk was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from smyrna, ga

Served it's purpose

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Stayed at the Sun Suites and thought that it served it purpose being that I was passing through town and got a room at the last minute. I only needed a room for the night. It could use some remodeling.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ATL

A total fiasco... bunch of idiots

Posted Sep 30, 2016
I regret booking this hotel through Expedia. My flight had a delay and I got into Atlanta by 9pm. Got to the hotel n couldn't check in. I was outside for over an hour and tried to call Expedia for cancellation. The customer service representative put me on call for over 1hr n hung up. Till date I haven't received any calls from her and I lost my money. I just need to delete my Expedia account cos this is the 3rd time they are being unprofessional about things. Regret using them
1 out of 5
by Suzette from UAE

Never made it inside

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels
As soon as I arrived I noticed young men hanging around the balcony. I felt a little uncomfortable because it was just my son & I traveling plus the rooms faced the outside. The night was a bust when we got to the door to the lobby and it was closed. At first I thought perhaps the attendant stepped away but when I looked at the sign on the side of the door, the hours of operation are 11-7. By this time it's a little before 10 pm because my flight came in at 8:30 pm. I'm like, WTH!!! Who runs a hotel with those hours? Hotels.com made it right by getting me a room some where else at no charge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from Tampa Bay area

Sun Suites above the Chattahoochee River.

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: The architecture is cute & apartment-like. It's good they offer amenities such as a microwave,fridge, & stove. So it saves money on eating out.
Cons: My only concern are the dirty spots on the bed sheets & bath towels/cloths. I recommend either changing rooms or bring your own things to use.
Location: The location is convenient & appears safe. Stores and gas stations are minutes away & so is I-285. Downtown Atlanta is only 15-20 minutes away.
I stayed there recently from 8/30 - 9/3/2013. I checked in the first room & checked the bed's cleanliness. I discovered dirt spots under the sheets. So I went back to the front desk, told them what I found, and requested a different room. They had someone standing nearby while I checked the new room's bed to make sure it was to my satisfaction. The front desk called to check and make sure everything was okay. That was good customer service. Overall, my stay was okay and for the great deal I had gotten I couldn't complain too much. The room was clean. The shower was working fine and everything I used was functioning well. The only other concern were the bath cloths and towels. I feel the housekeeping staff could improve on the cleanliness of them. Half of them didn't appear very clean. I recommend bringing your own bed linen & wash cloths / towels just in case. Despite that. I would still recommend Sun Suites of Smyrna-Vinings. It's in a good area and appeared to be in an extremely low-crime ridden part of town; therefore I never felt my safety was in jeopardy or felt ill at ease about parking my car out overnight.