Ratings based on 3,715 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great place to stay!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Highly recommend the Strathcona hotel if you are looking for a comfortable and affordable hotel right in the downtown Toronto district. Being only a short 5 minute walk from Union station it is perfect for anyone not wanting to rent a car while staying. The hotel staff is super friendly and accommodating. We were staying there for my girlfriends birthday and they upgraded our room and left us a wine and dessert platter for our arrival! Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A place to crash

Posted Mar 26, 2017
If you are only looking for a place to rest your head, the Strathcona is good. If you'll be spending any amount of time in your room, look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hlaifax, ns

Nice hotel very close to the hockey hall of fame.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We went up for a maple leafs game we only use the room to sleep in. The room was small, however very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel downtown Toronto

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: It was down town Toronto and near Union Station.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hotel right down town Toronto so many restaurants and attractions within walking distance.
Hotel and room was clean and in a great location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

DNA Collection Lab

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Cool decor.
Cons: Cleanliness.
My first experience with the hotel started with the keycard to my hotel not working. This is a common problem that was resolved quickly. I entered my room and immediately put my stuff away, looking forward to jumping into bed. Before I slid under the covers I noticed strands of long black hair on the pillow case and under-sheet. I scrapped the hair off and tried to forget about it. I then went to the washroom and realized that some of the towels were used. I didn't bother to complain to the clerk because it was late and I was only staying the night. Overall, my stay would have been much more comforting if things had been tidier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very convenient for downtown

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Cons: table and chair!
just two blocks away from Union Station and closer to metro; only downside--my room had only a narrow plank and no chair--hard to do any desk work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Would definitely stay here again. The Strathcona is a clean, cozy hotel in a perfect location!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

Great location, cleanness, design, rate.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Great location next to union station, very clean, stylish design, fair rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Great location!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Came out of Union Station and could see the hotel. Location couldn't have been better. An easy walk to City Hall, the Eaton Centre, the Air Canada Centre, CN Tower, Rogers Centre, water front, etc. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Expect to pay extra for most things as is the case in most large cities: parking, breakfast, internet, etc. On that note Wifi reception is not good and wasn't reliable in room. All that said I would stay again and would recommend the hotel to anyone. Comfortable stay and great location!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Very very tiny room.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Very very tiny room. I could have had more space for the same price at the Chelsea hotel 3 blocks away. Shower took 8 mins to give hot water. Very thin walls.