Ratings based on 3,087 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Strathcona review

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: A major advantage of the hotel is its location in downtown Toronto and proximity to landmarks, such as Union Station, the ACC, CN Tower, etc.
Cons: No reason that hotels still should be charging guests for WiFi service. This service is no longer a frill, but should be simply included.
Our stay at the Strathcona went smoothly; no major glitches or disappointments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sketchy Place in Central downtown

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Close to main attractions in downtown is the only thing they have going. Service at desk was not friendly at all and when you would ask them a question they would act as if they didn't want to be there nor help us out. The brunch was expensive and nothing special. Police showed up to the hotel during our stay and took someone out in cuffs. The fairmont which is right across the street seems like the much better stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay

Great Location Downtown Toronto

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect for us.
Cons: This hotel is perfect if you're going to be out and about and using it as a home base. There's no pool,etc.
Location: The location in downtown Toronto is perfect. Minutes away from Union Stn., Air Canada Centre, Roger's Centre, and walking distance to Eaton's Centre.
We were in Toronto for a Bruce Springsteen concert, and this hotel is a five- minute walk from the Air Canada Centre. We flew Porter, and their shuttle brought us within a two-minute walk to the hotel. We walked to Chinatown, Eaton's Centre. Union Station is a five-minute walk for the subway. The rooms are small and pretty basic, but we were just there to sleep. It was very clean, though. There's a nice breakfast buffet in the cafe for $15, or you can order off the menu after a certain time. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful with directions, etc. Will definitely stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Small rooms, hvac didn't work, beds were not comfy, would not recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Small rooms - But good value

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The food in the pub downstairs
Very close to Union Station. Walking distance with large suitcase 6 minutes. This is a real plus. The hotel is clean and looks well maintained. The bedrooms are a little small and so not a lot of sound proofing from you and the hallway. However it wasn't that noisy, so all good. Bathroom and facilities are great and the heating in the hotel works perfectly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great location

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The hotel was great however there was two or three disturbances in the hall with the police and it was very noisy we were awaken three times during the night . Hi reported this to the desk clerk in the morning and I thought we would get some kind of discount but nothing was offered that was disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Nova Scotia

Go Leafs Go Raps!!!

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: It was the best location, clean and safe.
Cons: Would like to have free wifi and maybe one free breakfast and a bank machine in the hotel would be great!
Location: Sports fans would love it great bar and food in the pub in the lower lobby. CN Tower is just behind the hotel!
We had a great experience in Toronto visiting for our first NHL and NBA Games!!!! Great location and also visited the Hockey Hall of Fame as well as the CN Tower. Got unexpected free tickets to the Raptors Game which made it all the more fun! The local supermarket, just a block from our hotel was a great bonus as well as Tim Horton's across the street!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto, ON

About $8 taxi ride to clubbing zone.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Room is tiny ... Open the door and people in the hall can see the bed... Not good for privacy obviously. And the washroom felt like a closet so squishy. The bed was in the centre of the room which left a narrow path to walk around the bed. Didn't fit two people comfortably. Washroom was basically beside the bed so you could hear everything ... It was just small overall. We had to cram all our stuff into the closet or else there literally would be no space for us to move. I mean if you just need a place to sleep it's perfect. But getting ready to go out sucked because there wasn't room for two people we had to take turns or squeeze past eachother.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NS

Clean BUT SUPER TINY

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: To charge extra for wifi is ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS
Location: ACC and aquarium and hockey hall of fame are close.
Room is clean, location is ok but the rooms are absolutely tiny, couldn't open the closet door without hitting the bed and everything at this hotel costs extra, upgrade bed was $40 per night wifi costs extra, parking is crazy expensive etc. I would NOT stay at this hotel again, for the price all said and done you can stay at Fairmont hotel across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short walk from Air Canada, CN Tower, and Rodgers

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Convenience. Cleanliness. Price.
Location: See above
This was a nice, quite reasonably priced hotel that was close to the venues we were visiting. Close to parking, too.