Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Lansing, MI

My favorite hotel in Rome

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Everything. It's beautiful, quiet, and ideally situated in Trastevere near the Church of S. Maria in Trastevere.
Cons: It is perfect as is. There's nowhere else I'd rather stay in Rome.
Location: As mentioned above, it's situated steps away from the major church in Trastevere. Excellent restaurants abound.
This was my second stay at Relais le Clarisse a Trastevere. Last summer, I stayed with a friend for ten days. I loved the hotel so much that I returned for five days at the end of a university-related trip to Todi and Rome. The Relais was just as lovely the second time around. As always, the staff was superb, assisting with everything from restaurant recommendations to advice about where to buy the auxiliary suitcase required by my shopping. At one point, a gentleman at the desk saved me a trip to a luggage shop in another part of Rome by looking it up online--it turned out to be permanently closed. I would have wasted a fruitless trip if he hadn't gone to this trouble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Gloria - Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Sheila, it was a great pleasure to welcome you again in Rome and we sincerely hope we will have the chance to do so again and again in the future! Thank you for being the perfect Guest: kind, polite, friendly and able to appreciated details and hard work. Please come back! Our warmest regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Rome

Posted May 30, 2017
Room had extremely bad sewage smell each morning. The area not so good, better areas are available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Gloria - Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we are sorry to read this review, especially because durnig all your stay you did not mention any of that. It is always a great mistery for us the reason why a aguests decides to continue spending an unpleasant holiday without mentioning his discomfort, when 98% of the times their issues could be solved within 5 minutes by our staff... if they only knew, of course. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Ideal spot for exploring Rome's old neighbourhood.

Posted May 12, 2017
Convenient. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Room was cozy and quiet. Very enjoyable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Gloria, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing this nice review. See you net time in Rome!
3 out of 5
by franklin

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is good value and comfortable enough but certainly luxe in any sense. The breakfast was poor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Good location; disappointing room and noise.

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff is very friendly and helpful. breakfast is included and pretty decent.
Cons: Rooms.
Location: Trestevre is a great neighborhood that is an easy walk or tram ride into the heart of ancient Rome. The tram stop is right outside the hotel.
This is a well-located small pensione in a fun and convenient location near the Tiber river, in the vibrant neighborhood of Trestevre. However, our room was dingy and small and looked onto an alley parking lot. Up side: the staff are helpful and pleasant and the breakfast is pretty good. Down side: rooms are small, there is no common space, except a courtyard. We found we just wanted to be out of the room all day and only slept there. The noise can be pretty bad as well from the road and other guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Loved the hotel, staff amazing !

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This was a beautiful hotel and close enough for us to walk to all the sites (note we do love walking) but the buses are very close too. The room was so cute, breakfast was wonderful and desk staff were so helpful !! We loved being in a little neighborhood and explored it all finding some amazing food !! Would definitely stay again and have already recommended to friends going in the fall. Thank you
5 out of 5
by maureen

Lovely Hotel in a Great Area

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very easy check in. We were giving a overview of the local area upon arrival.The Trastevere area is very nice with many restaurants, wine bars, shops and markets within walking distance. The room was lovely and very clean. Bathroom was large. The shower even had two shower heads. Delicious breakfast on the outdoor courtyard every morning. They made sure we had breakfast on our last day even though our flight left very early, well before breakfast hours. Front desk very helpful with information on using transportation and visiting historic sites. Tram is right across the street and from there you can get anywhere in the city. Highly recommend Relias Le Clarisse!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Gloria, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing this great review and for recommending us to other fellow travellers! We are so glad you had such a good time at Relais Le Clarisse... we hope you will be back soon so we can thank you in person! Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Nice hotel in Trastevere

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location, history of the hotel and local area
Location: A few cool monuments to check out and the local area was awesome, with great restaurants
I chose this hotel because it was well priced and had heard some good things about the Trastevere area. It is south of the river and a little more tricky to get to however we got the H bus from the Roma Termini station with no issues and with the help of google maps we got off at the right stop and it was a short walk from there. The number 8 tram also stops right outside the hotel which will take you to Piazza Venezi which is close to the attractions. We walked from the hotel on the first day about 25 minutes to the Colusseum. The hotel itself has slightly smaller rooms but considering its Rome, that's fine - it was previously a convent which added to the character of the place a lot! You could see exposed beams and a feeling of history in the hotel. The slight downside was that we did not find a staircase to our 1st floor room - only a TINY lift which literally fit 2 people in it... still, it wasn't something that would stop me staying here again! The breakfast was okay - the room was a little small if it was busy but whenever we went it was fine. They had the typical continental options. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Gloria L. F. (Customer Care), Hotel Management
Dear Ms Catherine thank you very much for sharing such a kind, detailed and useful review with us and other travellers. We are glad you had such a positive experience at Relais Le Clarisse and that you appreciated so much the history of the building we have the luck to host our Guests in. We hope to welcome you next time, too! Warm regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Lovely friendly hotel tucked just off one of the main routes into Rome.Tram stop one minute. Walk to centre 20 mins. Our second stay at this hotel and will return. Trastevere a local area with character. Good bars, cafes and bistros abound on quiet narrow streets. Friendly people. Safe area. Hotel exceeds expectations for its size. Our advice. Stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Great location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Teriffic staff. Helpful in all regards. Best breakfast. Charming hotel in old neighborhood. Plenty of character.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Gloria, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Katie, thank you much for this beautiful review and for appreciating our hard work. We are delighted you had such a great stay and cannot wait to welcome you again! Sincerely