Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Very nice hotel near Chiemsee and Taubensee

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Location, surroundings, staff, food.
Cons: Noise isolation in the rooms.
Location: Chiemsee, Taubensee, hiking, cable car...
Very nice hotel with a really good restaurant - food is amazing!. The staff is very kind. The rooms and general facilities are comfortable, but I would suggest they improve the noise isolation in the rooms; we could hear what other people were doing in the nearest rooms, so if you happen to be next to a particular loud guest, especially at night, you might be disturbed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Gabriele, Hotel Management
Vielen Dank für Ihre persönliche Meinung. Gerne geben wir das Lob an unsere Mitarbeiter weiter. Wegen der Isolation werden wir und kümmern. Vielen Dank nochmals für die Rückmeldung.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed overnight in this very scenic part of Germany. Very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by Adrian from Kansas City

Will stay there again if in town

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
We only spent one night but the hotel was nice with friendly staff and good breakfast included.
5 out of 5
by Jamie from Philadelphia

Wonderful!

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels
It was a great place to visit. The hotel was in a quiet but nice town in Bavaria, which was close to some of the key places to visit in the area (Chiemsee and Bechtesgaden). The room was comfortable, I had a nice balcony with a cute view including chirping birds, a mountain and a babbling stream. It felt unreal. The breakfast was wonderful, tasty, traditional German meats, cheese, fruit, yogurt and some hot foods. Great service, clean and a wonderful place to be in the region. I was close to the town and walked down to another restaurant that was very good, but if from the breakfast the onsite restaurant is any indication then the dinner is probably good too. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by Angie from South Carolina, USA

Quiet place close to mountains

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels
We had a good time for this season. The hotel is located in a quiet place where you can look right to the mountains. We happened to have a room with balcony to enjoy the view. The restaurant offers typically elegant bavarian food with a modern flair.Overall this hotel is a nice place where you want to relax and enjoy outdoor activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from Buckinghamshire, UK

Truly Bavarian Hotel with an International Twist

Posted Aug 27, 2012
Pros: Wonderful local food, excellent local walks, friendly staff
Cons: Bavaria seems to be one of Germany's more expensive areas
Location: Excellent for mountain walking in the summer and ski sports in the winter
Hotel Gabrielle combines true Bavarian hospitality with a slightly more international twist to the already excellent Bavarian food following the return of the talented son who has been studying as a chef abroad. The rooms are large with long wooden balcomies or terraces. Without any sense of irony the staff all wear traditional local clothes as do many in the village and there is live unobstusive Bavarian music outside many evenings, including alpine horns and a small ompha band of very talented local youngsters. The professional but friendly manner of the staff infects the guests who all wish eachother good morning at breakfast, which is an excellent cold buffet with local cheeses, meats, jams and cereals. 20 metres from the hotel is the network of walking paths which criss cross the mountains, well sign posted and of all shades of difficulty. We walked up the Hochgern on our first day to discover we'd walked the equivalernt of Snowdon, but with three Inns on the way, it seemed less. On the mountain we were passed by a cyclist with two dogs and a pet pig, called Emma. Buy a Wanderkarte (map) from the Rathaus to help you plan your walking. The hotel lends bikes to help you access all the walks. By car within an hour is Saltzburg, Berchtesgarten, two hours to the amazing GrossGlockner alpine road, with beautiful vilages closer to hand. In the village the famous Apline Gliding School offers joyrides, a one hour motor glider flight through the mountains is awesomwe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dolie from Wiesbaden, Germany

Special Getaway!

Posted May 29, 2012
Pros: simplicity
Cons: hotel is terrific- town a little dull
Location: Perfect jump spot for day trips to Berchtesgaden or Salzburg or Cheimsee. Would be perfect to spend entire time there going on hikes and bike trips!
Arrived late and they waited up for us. The hotel had a very personal feel to it. Every morning we were greeted by friendly staff and offered eggs in addition to the lovely fresh breakfast. My only regret was not eating dinner there (we were site seeing too often). The food smelled delicious and you can tell that the chefs are progressive and creative. The restaurant appeared packed each night. I would definitely go back to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely wonderful hotel

Posted May 26, 2012 on Hotels
Good location, great views, lots of space, most comfortable bed, nicest staff, great breakfast. I didn't want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by retired from Omaha, NE, USA

Omaha

Posted May 17, 2012
Pros: Food
Lovely small hotel tucked away in a quiet neigborhood with view of the alps. Near Chiemsee, Kind Ludwig's Versailles-like castle on an island. Food was incredible. The winerschnitzel and roasted potatoes were the best we've ever had. Staff was kind and helpful. It was fun to just walk the neighborhood and look at the houses.