Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and updated facility - close to many things

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Location: Nat's baseball
Nice room, beautiful pool area. Only one concern was that from where our room was (2nd floor over the main entrance) the door hinges, I believe, made a squeaking noise early in the morning. It was would occur frequently and probably could be resolved easily by the custodial staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Jennifer, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing that to our attention. We are happy you enjoyed our award winning pool. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great Location for the Price

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Had indicated a king bed in the reservation but were told they only had two queens upon check in.
Location: Decent walk to the Capitol and national mall, also restaurants and bars were blocks away. Lots of new residential construction in the area.
Within walking distance of the Capitol and National Mall. Rooms were updated and clean, nice amenities. The outdoor pool is great, hard to find in downtown D.C.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Jennifer, Hotel Management
Thank you for you excellent review. We are very proud of our award winning pool, and are delighted that you enjoyed it during your stay. We hope you come back soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures can be misleading

Posted Jun 4, 2017
I went to check in and my reservation was messed up. As I'm walking to the room, I noticed a horrible smell that never went away. The bath had a paint chipping and didn't look clean. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever used. I woke up with shooting back and neck pain. I ended up moving to a different hotel for the remaining of my time in D.C.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Love the hotel , not excited about the staff

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: the room and lobby .
Cons: the friendliness of the staff
I have used this hotel for my clients or myself on several occasions and each time the staff was friendly and the room was clean. During this stay the staff made my client feel like an outcast and was not warm or welcoming .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and dingy

Posted May 19, 2017
Awful location, dated hotel, very dank and dingy overall. While checking in the gentleman next to me came down to complain that the room he was giving head dirty towels and unmade bed. I checked in and was told my king size room that I had prepaid for was not available. I was then given an upgrade to a suite. I have no idea why this is called as suite as it was a room that's it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the capitol

Posted May 15, 2017
Location: I like the location near downtown
It was a good experience. The staff help us speaking spanish. The breakfast was aceptable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Very nice hotel, close to main attractions

Posted May 12, 2017
I had a very pleasant stay, the hotel is very nice, newly renovated , the room was clean, spacious and very quiet, as I have requested. The staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. I liked the location as it is about 10-15min walking distance to Smithsonian. I would gladly stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo

Trouble with Expedia reservation and charges

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Pricing for parking and buffet should be consistent. The price for the 2nd night was almost $100 more than the previous day.
Booked with Expedia the day before arrival. Do to an Expedia glitch there were two rooms for one day instead of 1 room for two days. This caused my card to be charged for two rooms and I still needed to book another night at a much higher rate. The hotel also charged a different rate for parking and the buffet compared to what was in the expedia reservation. The location was convenient but not much to eat around the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the National Mall

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Brighter Lighting
Location: Walkable distance to the National Malls and Barrack Row
Convenient location and suitable for tourists who do not drive
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback and look forward to your next visit to Washington, DC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Surprise

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Lunch room and menu are quite good.
Very important information: "Run of House Room" means, that you will receive any available room but never the room you see on the picture. My room and the view were much worst then I hoped. Also I expected free breakfasts, but was told that this time it's impossible. What's good to know - there is some kind of industrial area between hotel and Capitol Hill, and it's tricky to reach it straight. Finally it takes 25 minutes, which, in fact, is not bad. What's nice, is that parking contrary to the promised $ 20 a day, was free. Upon learning of my discontent with the room, they awarded me a free breakfast.