Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stay and eat elseware

Posted Dec 6, 2016
our room at 122.00 was overpriced to say the least. the buffet at 35.00 person was overpriced, food luke warm (we we're the first to sit down at 5:00 pm). the prime rib(you have got to be kidding) looked like a long balonie. it was too rare for me and many others, no way to cook it more.. to call oglebay a resort is the worst one I have visited. next time a visit the area I will stay at the casino and enjoy a fantasic buffet for half the price. no need to respond to this, I won"t be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austinburg, United States of America

Great cabins in a peaceful, beautiful setting

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The cabin was wonderful!
Cons: Staff at the front desk, Pricing on some of the kids' activities
Location: There's a lot to do right at the resort, which is nice. Wheeling is a short drive, and there are stores and restaurants very close.
While we had a terrible experience checking in, we were finally given a beautiful 4-bedroom, 2-bath cabin and we had a wonderful vacation! The cabins are a bit of a drive from the main lodge, which makes using the pool a little more difficult, but the serenity was worth it. The cabin was very spacious, and the amenities were great. We enjoyed the driving tour of the lights and the kids loved the pool. The kids' train left a LOT to be desired, and the zoo was a bit over-priced for the few animals that they had out, but the kids enjoyed themselves, so it was worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
It was nice the room was a little outdated but overall was a nice place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Disappointing

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: location is fine.
So many twist and turns to get to your room, not enough signs , or Directions on how to get to your room. just not set up very well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Try to stay here every year. Have always enjoyed this beautiful place and facility.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tremenduous scenery

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Peaceful, scenery, nice staff
Cons: Rennovation is on going, place is slightly tired
Location: Plenty to do right there
Great scenery, plenty to do right there, staff nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cbus, Ohio

a lifetime of memories at this resort

Posted Jun 13, 2016
I am extremely dissapointing in the lack of knowledgeable staff, and complacent long time staff, we checked in after 6, everything was closed and next day we were told we could only use the indoor pool until 11:30. we were given a bill for additional room fees of over 100 and told by several staff that we had to call on Monday to find out why. Finally a manager called our room right before I checked out and said it was a third party finder fee because of booking through Expedia. It ruined my whole morning we ended up getting the amount taken off and getting a 24 hour pass to the pool but the damage was already done. This fond place that I grew up visiting at least 2 times a year was turned into a not-so-friendly to families resort and I sadly doubt that I'll come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not as booked

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
The room was booked and confirmed as an accessible room. While the room was lovely and spacious, it was anything but accessible...not a grab bar to be found. The bathroom was a disaster for my disabled spouse.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elyria, Ohio

GrandKids Loved the Lights

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: The lights are great, rooms ok, food ok
Cons: pool temp & waiting to be seated for meals
Took 2 of the grand kids to see the lights, they had a great time. 2 things that would help, heat the pool it was cold. Getting into dinner was a joke, we stood in line at 7 pm for 15 min to be told it was a 2 hour wait to be seated, when you have small kids not so good. You need to have something else to help with the over load, maybe burger, dogs, fries for a fast snack/meal?
3 out of 5
by Sarah from Ohio

Outdated Lodge

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
We have been to Oglebay many times in the past and have always loved it. This trip was very disappointing for many reasons. Our dinner reservation was lost on our first night and we had to drive into town to eat at a local Bob Evans. The pool was so chlorinated it was cloudy. It was also filthy. The arcade was very outdated with most of the games out of order. Our room was not even ready at the time we checked in at 4:30 pm. When we got to our room it was dated and dirty. There is was a large wet spot in the carpet that never dried. The breakfast and dinner buffet was delicious though.