Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

2.0 out of 5
11% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
1.9 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Not what we were led to believe

Posted May 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Not much
Cons: A very big clean and refurbishment
Location: The subway not far. Not much tourist stuff to do in the area but a few local eateries in walking distance
When we booked it was advertised at 4 star....lucky if it was 2. Old run down, tv didn't work and bed very uncomfortable. I will say we got what we paid for BUT I think it damages the Wotif brand as we have had and trusted Wotif mystery deals in the past. Kind of put the last bit of our holiday on a downer. The one good point was that it was near a Subway station and the coffee shop (Meos) was good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Not great

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Close to metro Dong'an Rd on both Line 4 and 7.
Cons: Cleanliness and security. Make sure all the instructions / prices in the room are in English as well.
Location: Tianzifang markets near Dapuqiao metro.
The best thing about this hotel was the fairly convenient location, only a few minutes walk from the metro station (Dong'an Rd, Exit 3). The worst thing was the bed, it was VERY firm to the point of being downright uncomfortable, and I didn't get much sleep. The room didn't feel particularly secure, and although there was a safe on a floor in a cupboard, the fact that it wasn't attached to anything and wasn't very heavy meant I decided to keep my valuables on me rather than leaving them in the room. The bed sheets had been washed however they had many small holes (see photo), and I could see stains on the mattress protector underneath. The shower was revolting, really yellow and sticky underfoot, definitely bring your flip flops! The windows were poorly sealed so the street noise (buses) were quite loud, but thankfully this didn't last all night. There was the odd group of noisy men talking and laughing in the corridor but only for 5 minutes, and this can happen anywhere. The room is well proportioned with a desk and TV (I didn't turn it on though). There is nothing much near the hotel, I just went back there to sleep each night. One night I took the metro to Dapuqiao to explore the laneway markets, and there were also a lot of dining choices in that area. There is free wifi in the hotel, it was quite slow but better than nothing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was sold on Wotif as 4 star hotel - what a joke

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: nothing
This place has NO STAR rating - my wife asked them in chinese. Also cleanness is rated B which means so, so, but not fail yet according to chinese standars - which are low by the way.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ukraine

Terrible hotel with unpleasant stuff

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: room cleaniness
Cons: mostly everything
Location: location is convienient - near metro station, lots of local food and small food shops
old hotel, stuff don't want to understand english, breakfast without meat, coffee and tea, no wi-fi even in hall
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michiganian from Michigan

Very Good for the Price

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Price and breakfast
Cons: The hotel needs a complete overhaul to make it look pleasant and attract visitors.
Location: Not near any big shopping area but it's easy to go to any place by subway.
Hotel staff are friendly but without smiles. I'm a male staying by myself. I only need a place to sleep so for the price, I'm OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel short distance to local shops, that is all

Posted Apr 21, 2014
For what I paid I suppose I expected more. Stains on carpret, breakfast all you heard was Chinese Women chewing their food with their mouth open. Beds extra hard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The internet didn't work

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels
The internet at the hotel did not work, and the bathroom was very dirty.
3 out of 5
by John

Four and a half hours to check in.

Posted Feb 16, 2013 on Hotels
The Hotel itself was a good value for the price although it has gone up twenty percent since I booked it the last time. My room was a little small but acceptable. It was clean and the property was in good enough condition. The internet was real slow. Remember the old dial up days. So it was OK for checking emails and light surfing but VOIP communications were a challenge. It seemed to be most workable between 4-5 Am when the rest of the place was asleep. The breakfast was good enough to get a meal out of and get going for the day but was no Cracker Barrel. The restaurant in the hotel was actually pretty good I had lunch there a couple of times. There was a Metro stop very close maybe 200 yards called Dong ' an Rd. on the 4 and 7. I had a major issue checking in. They had not received anything from Hotels.com so they were calling and I was calling and I was troubleshooting fax machines for the hotel and Hotels.com. Finally after 4.5 hours, two of them on the phone with hotels.com they (Hotels.com) figured out how to send a fax and I got checked in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 北京

値段相応のホテル

Posted Nov 3, 2015
中国の安いホテルに慣れてる方なら可。 コンセントの接触がめちゃくちゃ悪い。 観光で日本からわざわざ上海に来るならもっといいホテルに泊まるべき。
1 out of 5
by PETER from Stockholm

Room with basically no air condition.

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Changhang hotel is a very, very basic hotel. Their rooms are dated and the air conditioning does barely work. Outside the window there's a building site, make you wake up at 5AM. Didn't try their breakfast (~30RMB surcharge). There's a cozy lobby café, which is the only thing worth visiting in this building