Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel! The staff was wonderful.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
The restaurant was very good. We ate there both nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by E from Chambersburg, PA

Historic and Charming

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Described above
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Gettysburg; lots if history!
A stay at the Atland Hotel is quaint and charming. The town circle is reminiscent of a century ago. The d├ęcor takes you back to its time period, with high ceilings, transoms on the doors, period wallpaper and antique lighting and furniture. There's no sacrifice in comfort and cleanliness - the room was immaculate. Continental breakfast is provided but the choices are bare bones and nothing that matched the quaint and special experience that the physical facility provided. Good coffee choices! Quiet after 11:00 PM. I'd stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PJ from Pittsford, NY

Business trip

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Nice setting
Cons: Light from Hallway could have been dimmed as the glass up top allowed too much light in.
Not too far from York, where I had to be next AM. A nice quiet spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Romantic

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Ambiance! I got to see several rooms and they are beautiful.
Cons: Communication between mgmt & guest. I received 1 complimentary drink (beer or house wine) for the inconvenience of being locked out in the cold 45 min
I loved my stay, and would stay again, however They do NOT have a front desk and all the doors were locked upon arrival. I also had a day that I wanted to stay in and eat in their lovely restaurant, but the restaurant and bar were closed for a private party, and I felt they should let their guest know in advance. Also there is not enough parking while they have a function.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Eileen from Pennsylvania

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
A little out of the way when visiting Gettysburg, but worth it for the size and cleanliness of the rooms, and the wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jen H. from Connecticut

Beautiful Inn!

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Altland House is a beautiful hotel and situated close to both Gettysburg (a great value compared to the overpriced hotels there). Also, if you're a fan of antiques, you couldn't pick a better place to stay. Loads of shops/auctions/flea markets to satisfy even the most hard-core "picker". The hotel staff was very friendly and the room & bed extremely comfortable. Also, the "Underside" Pub was awesome...good drinks, food and entertainment on weekends. SO great not to have to worry about having a few glasses of wine - no driving - just climb the stairs to your room! Nice continental breakfast (incredibly good cinnamon buns!!). Only "bone to pick" was that housekeeping didn't service our room the last day we were there...bed not made, no replacements for dirty towels, wastebaskets not emptied. It was a Sunday - perhaps they're not on duty then? By the time we returned that evening, there was no one at the front desk to talk to. Not a major bone, though. Also, no one at the desk on Monday morning to check us out. We simply left the room keys on the desk - hope that was okay. All in all, a great value, lovely property and most convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

20 minutes outside of Gettysburg

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pros - Very friendly staff. Beautiful, very spacious room. Our meal at the restaurant was very good. Cons - This is an old hotel and the doors have fanlights over them. At night the lights from the hallway and adjoining room were very brightly shining in our room. I had to put a pillow over my head to block out the light. Perhaps lights could be moved from the hallway ceiling to the walls? Also, the dining room staff has to remember to turn up the lights in the morning. We couldn't see what we were serving ourselves from the buffet as the lights were still dimmed from the previous evening. Also, If guests are having breakfast it might be better to wait to vacuum until they are finished dining. Otherwise - we were very happy with our stay. Although the hotel is old it is well-maintained, charming, attractive and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Singel traveler from North Sersey

Great in every way

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Don't usually write reviews but this place is a gem. Rooms are large,2 bars on location and entertainment. If you have issues walking up stairs then get a room on lower levels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pete from New York

Very comfortable, and very clean hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Facilities were everything you look for in staying in a hotel.
Location: Not around the corner from Gettysburg (15 miles) away, but just follow Route 30 and you are there.
Very happy with our stay at The Altland Inn. Highly recommend it to any traveler going to the Gettysburg area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The restaurant was excellent. The hotel was located at a circle in town and it seemed that every vehicle ( many trucks) went through the circle on Route 30. I never saw such a busy small town as Abbotstown. The hotel stay itself was fine.