Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sudbury

2nd visit good rm. for the price

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: very friendly staff warm welcome..
Cons: smell of smoke in hallways
Location: liquor store and restaurants & waterfront close
bad storm but power never went off at hotel , staff helped find a restaurant close by.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Thumping music from bar next door till 2:30 am

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Comfortable mattress, clean updated bathroom
Cons: The noise from the night club next door, better quality sheets that stay on the bed.
Location: Close to downtown and the waterfront bikeway and the beach park.
Our room was on the first floor, small but clean, excellent mattress on a king bed (but the sheets pulled off each time you rolled over), updated clean bathroom....however we stayed on a Saturday night and around 11:30 pm we were awoken as the bar next door pumped up the volume. The bass was so powerful that everything in our room and in the hallway was vibrating. The lobby attendant said he'd call next door to ask them to turn it down, but it didn't stop until 2:30 am. I needed to get up at 6am for a race, so this was NOT good! When my husband complained at the desk the next morning, the clerk told him that they are not allowed to tell the guests about the problem with the loud music. Since we booked and paid through Expedia, we were not able to get any kind of discount or credit. My brother-in-law was on the third floor and he said they heard nothing and had a good sleep, so don't take a room on the first floor!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Needs better housekeeping

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The best part of our visit is the location, very near the water, so we had a lovely afternoon stroll and nice patio dinner nearby.
Cons: Better training for staff, both front desk and housekeeping. Housekeeping should have tried the toilet to make sure it worked properly.
Location: Location is at the foot of a lovely street with shops and bakeries. Also very near the park and waterfront. Also, convient to Casino Rama.
Toilet wouldn't flush. Young man at desk had no idea what to do. We re-attached the chain inside the tank and fixed it ourselves. Dirty wet towel hanging on back of bathroom door, probably a rag (I hope). Room itself was clean, no mattress cover which was surprising. Common rooms were well worn, but seemed clean. The worst complaint that we had is that when returning from concert at Casino at 11:15; there were many bar patrons outside the hotel. The bass was booming and we could clearly hear it in our room on the opposite side. Because of all these issues, we decided to forgo our night in Orillia and headed back to our own bed. When we told the young man on the front desk we were leaving, he had no interest in why, and seemed to not care. The staff is very young.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Sleepless in Orillia

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location to the water.
Cons: Breakfast tables and chairs and more food...including cereals, muffins, juice and fruit.
Location: Steps to downtown and waterfront.
Bar next door and one across the street from this Hotel, with very loud thumping music until 2am...impossible to sleep. Breakfast area not big enough to accomodate guests...only 2 tables....with 3 chairs. Food insufficent for a continental breakfast....no clean plates. No paper plates. No butter for toast. No cereal. Only bread, and cookies and waffles to put in toaster and apples. Insufficent parking at Hotel...alternative parking at your own risk in private lot which could leave to open for a ticket. Do not recommend staying there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON Canada

Slightly Below Average Hotel, But Great Location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The Good News: the rooms were very quiet, the A/C worked well, the hotel is "pet friendly", and the hotel is close to everything.
Cons: Improvements: there was a collection of food waste and dirt under one of the beds, 8 out of 11 light bulbs in the room were burnt out, hotel parking
Location: Right downtown close to everything.
We arrived at 3 PM on a Saturday afternoon and were greeted by very friendly and professional front desk staff. Our rooms were ready, so we dropped our luggage off in the rooms and spent some time checking out the waterfront as well as the local street festival.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good value for money?

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Watched a show at Casino Rama and looked for a nearby hotel to stay at. Unfortunately we left it last minute so not that many hotels to choose from. Not really as close to the Casino as I would have liked. It was a Friday night and hotel was situated near some local hang out for a younger crowd. Very noisy. Arrived at 2am and guy at front desk really seemed like he had just been out at the local hang out. Room was adequate but very old and TV did not work at all. I feel like I should have paid $80 for the night for a hotel like this in Orillia .... not $129.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

Disaster

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location only
Cons: See above
Not clean at all. Needs to get the A/C cleaned out - smells musty and dirty. Not enough towels. Stains on the bedding. Floor needs to be vacuumed. Garbage bins need to be emptied. Severely over priced
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

good location for city centre and marina

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: needs renovating. 'Free' breakfast was poor.
Location: close to city centre and marina park
good location but needs a renovation. very small and cramped room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ajax, ON Canada

Close to Waterfront & Shops

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Was close to water front & Main Street shops.
Cons: Provide a minimum 2 ply toilet tissue. Cut the grass & trim the foliage around the accessibility ramps. Fix the automatic door buttons.
Location: Walk along waterfront, take a boat cruise, wander the shops.
Had a King size bed in a very very tiny room. Included TV Armouire, table with 1 chair & mini fridge. Just enough room at foot of bed to get by TV unit. Bedsheets did not fit the bed, seems they might have been double or Queen sheets on a King size bed, kept bunching. Only provided with 2 bath towels initially. Had to request hand towels & face cloths, as well as 2 more bath towels. Pillows too flat. Someone before us left clothes in Armouire, that cleaning staff did not remove. Hope they finally did after we brought it to their attention. Continental breakfast was pretty scarce. 2 types of bagels, whit bread for toast & 2 flavours of muffins, & bananas & apples
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kinda dingy and run down

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Hotel photos online were misleading. Expedia also way overcharged for the room. We had to shovel our own car out of the hotel parking lots after a storm. Curtains didn't fully cover windows and rooms were small