Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pierre from Brooklyn, NY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Martin from UK

Great location

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed all aspects although needed night mask as daylight through blinds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jnj from Australia

great location

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
very comfortable & pleasant area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Courtney from Boston, MA

Fabulous

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed in about a half dozen places across Cape Town during the two weeks I visited and Charles Guest House was my absolute favorite. Great location, incredibly friendly staff, comfortable and clean room. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susan from DC

Perfect Guest House in Cape Town

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
I cannot say enough nice things about the Charles. The room was spacious and lovely, the staff incredibly helpful and the location was perfect. The staff helped us with booking tours and with dinner ideas and were incredibly friendly. The breakfast that was provided at the nearby Village Cafe was always delicious. My only complaint is that I didn't have time to enjoy the many outdoor patio options, but I will make sure to have more down time on my next visit, which will definitely include a stay at the Charles.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very average

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Great location, but sorely in need of some TLC. So, OK, but over-priced for what it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sterling from Stuttgart

Excellent location in nice neighborhood

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Guest House was nicely situated in a great walking neighborhood. We had a car and parking was not hard to find. We were given great ideas of what to do for a full day including a drive to Cape Point; see the penguins at Boulders; drive along the coast and have a dinner to watch the sunset in Camps Bay. We did it all and had a super visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Troy from Silver Spring MD

great staff and terrific location

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms in the Charles are basic and simply furnished but clean. The staff was terrific and very friendly and helpful. The location in the heart of the De Waterkant neighborhood in Cape Town's "city bowl" can't be beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, California

The Charles Luxury Guest House

Posted May 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff, clean, centrally located and the breakfast was quite good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Personal, very friendly

Posted May 19, 2010
The good: Extremely friendly and competent staff. The first day the staff learned my name, and then greeted me by name thereafter. My room was very comfortable. The hotel has a great patio terrace area with a new awning and nice views of the city. The De Waterkant neighborhood is picturesque and upscale; it has gentrified over the last 30 years. There are many nice small shops nearby, as well as a large upscale mall two short blocks away with several nice cafes and restaurants. The guest house has a cozy living room with a fireplace, and a few nights there was a real fire going in the fireplace. Overall, much more personal and intimate than the big, fancy hotels. The bad: The first night I arrived at 11pm. Despite having notified the hotel that I would be checking in late, I still needed to have my shuttle driver call someone to the reception so I could check in, a process that took 10+ minutes. The reception closes at 10pm, so any late arrivals will need to be able to phone someone to come to reception. While I felt very safe in the De Waterkant neighborhood, at night I didn't like that I was often approached by people asking for money (this is common in all of Cape Town, not just the area around this hotel). There are multiple security staff on foot in the neighborhood at night. The lock on my room door was of a very old-fashioned type, and did not seem very secure. There is a free in-room safe that I used. My stay: 10 days, in early May, 2010.