Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rosiefrom Birmingham

Lovely hotel for rest and relaxation

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Serenity, remoteness, comfort, staff
Cons: Improve restaurant menu and make prices more affordable. Make spa treatments affordable as I couldn't afford anything!
Location: Nice little town called Barga with restaurants and a medieval town. Drive to Pisa and Florence is about 70 miles. Shopping outlets near Florence.
Wonderful welcome and very friendly and helpful staff! Definitely a well located hotel in remote Tuscany. You definitely need a good car to reach it. Feels safe and relaxing. Pricey to say the least so glad breakfast rate was good via Expedia. Dinners are pricey but this is a very exclusive hotel. The room was good but smaller than I expected for a weeks's stay. Breakfast was monotonous but good quality. The spa treatments were so overpriced as to make them unaffordable. I would have liked to afford treatments under 50 euros! would definitely return to this hotel !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by porkchop

Great view with fantastic outdoor swimming pool.

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Great staff who always smile. Lovely view and delicious food at restaurant. even though it's far from the town, u would definitely want to return to this hotel for a great retreat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Breathtaking!!!!!

Posted Oct 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
The only unfortunate thing about this hotel was not being able to stay longer. This resort is absolutely breathtaking. Everything about it is why Tuscany was my favorite choice in our entire tour of Europe. This resort is so classy and beautiful that you must plan on staying for awhile. The views are spectacular!!!! The service was fantastic and the breakfast was a wide array of choosings that was included in our room rate. I will return to stay longer at this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 23, 2012
I was there with my wife, attending a conference. This hotel is in a remote location and not easily accessible, unless you rent a car (preferably with a GPS). The conference management provided very poor shuttle service to the hotel, and we ended up paying 150 euros for a taxi. Of course, we could have rented a car, but we don't like to drive in that country. Taxis are not allowed to go to the front door of the hotel, and our taxi driver left our luggage on the side of the road, in front a closed metal gate. There was nobody there from the hotel, and our luggage was too heavy to carry. This is really unacceptable and a bad start, to say the least. On the positive side, the room was very nice and the view was great. Unfortunately, most other aspects were poor. The food was generally mediocre. The restaurant (there is only one) is ridiculously understaffed, and service is very slow. There is almost nothing to do at the resort. There are very few tours available. We had to take the train or expensives taxis to go anywhere, and travelling was not particularly pleasant. When we left, we had to take an early morning flight from the Pisa airport. There was no porter available at the hotel to help us with our luggage. They actually expected taxis drivers to do this work for them during night hours!! Need I say more?
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom N.East England

Il Ciocco hotel,

Posted Aug 16, 2010 on Hotels.com
Had a fantastic time, the location of the Hotel was absolutely perfect for us. We attended a wedding reception at the hotel and the church was nearby. The wedding was beautiful and the hotel reception was fantastic, the service they gave was excellent and very orgaganised. The hotel is in a beautiful area so I would def.recommend hiring a car to make the most of your trip. The hotel was really nice, but we found the rooms to be very basic, although they had everything you need, air con, bed, shower and large enough wardrobe space. Apart from the food at the wedding reception,which was excellent, we ate out all the other nights. The cost of beverages in the hotel is expensive and much cheaper in the surrounding villages. So I would like to thank the Groom (Rob) and Bride (Claire)of course.... for supplying all the Vino at the wedding and for the invite to a spectacular day in a fantastic, beautiful area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom New Haven, CT

My fourth visit -- enough said

Posted Aug 8, 2010
Il Ciocco is an ideal spot for an Italian vacation. Its locale is incredibly scenic and beautiful, and the hotel itself is elegant and lovely as well as being very welcoming. It is a resort, with facilities such as a spa, gym, and a beautiful pool on a terrace overlooking the walled city of Barga, mountains, and villages dotting the hillsides. There are playing fields, stables, and hiking trails. The restaurant is excellent, and there is a restaurant bar serving light food and drinks. My comfortable, well-furnished room included a balcony overlooking hotel terraces and the hills and mountains beyond. I rented a car and drove to Lucca (about 45 minutes) and Florence (about an hour and a half). Pisa is a little over an hour away, and there are many outstanding restaurants within a 15-minute drive from the hotel. This was my fourth stay at Il Ciocco, and I hope to come back often!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sugarland, TX

Terrible place

Posted Mar 10, 2009
This was the worst place I have stayed at in the last 10 years. The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, as takes about an 1 hour drive to get to some decent restaurants. We thought Tuscany was supposed to offer nice scenery but all you see is factories that pollute the entire area - a chemical smell was present 24/7. The hotel was very dated, the bathroom was dirty, tiny and uncomfortable, the carpets dirty. Moreover, they dont have any queen or king beds in the entire place. If you stay with your partner, they just put two twin beds together. The staff is some of the rudest and most unhelpful people I have ever seen in a hotel. They refused to give us an invoice at the end because we booked through expedia, even though I needed some type of evidence for work stating I stayed at the place. The front desk staff was rude, unprofessional, discriminates against foreigners, and basically refused any request we had.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom West Sussex

This is a Conference Centre NOT a Hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2008
When we arrived we were told that the Swimming Pool, Sauna, gym, & spa were all closed. Also, that we could not use the Ordinary Restaurant, as it was allocated for the use of Conference Delegates only (all these facilities were shown as available on their Web Site). The only Restaurant we were allowed to use was the A La Carte restaurant. It is expensive and only has the same 5 main courses every night. There is a Pizzaria in the grounds. It is not owned by the hotel but it is very poor quality and serves nothing but Pizza in the evening (not even a salad). As the building is over 2 Km (one & half miles) from the road, up a very very steep drive, it is impossible to get out of the hotel without a car. A 10 minute taxi ride costs 20 Euros!!! The management were totally apathetic and couldn't see how any of this would affect our 'holiday'. They were only interested in the Conference Delegates. It was like being captive in a Prison Camp, until we managed to get out by hiring a car (I think it was the only one owned by the local Car Hire Firm!). Unless you have your own car, DO NOT stay at this 'hotel'.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Athens

Italian version of a conference center

Posted Sep 19, 2008 on Hotels.com
This is a sprawling hotel - conference center in a very beautiful area. The architecture of the public spaces has an early 20th century eclectic Alpine character, while, in contrast, bedrooms are designed as tributes to the pop culture of the 1960's and '70's - mine was a homage to Jimi Hendrix. The hotel has an impersonal, corporate, rather American character very different from the usual family-run albergo in Tuscany. The main attractions are the mountain landscape and the interesting town of Barga nearby.