Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aurora

Hotel was great, location was so-so

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Location: Our activities were in Iowa City so definitely not convenient to there, however if you had business/events in Cedar Rapids or needed to fly in/out of
I rated the hotel facilities, condition as 3, however that was due to the location of the hotel versus the actual physical appearance and comfort....those two areas are both a 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Very nice hotel.....

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Everything! Especially that the staff is comprised of Kirkwood students in the various hotel/restaurant management programs.
Cons: If more than one person at check-in/check-out, make sure they don't all offer to help - it was a little overwhelming and confusing.
Location: We enjoyed the Class Act restaurant and got in a fun round of mini golf that is part of the public golf course, just a few blocks away.
My husband and I only had the pleasure of spending one night at the hotel. Our king standard room was exceptionally clean and we were very impressed with the excellent use of space, not to mention the lovely decor. The trip was to visit our son who is attending college at Kirkwood, and the location was perfect for us. We enjoyed a delicious brunch in the Class Act restaurant before leaving. So glad we chose this hotel rather than one of the usual chains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Staff/ cleanliness/ Room layout
Location: Amana Colonies
It's one of the nicest places we've ever stayed, nice layout and staff was extremely hospitable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jasonfrom Savage, MN

Diamond in the rough

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I absolutely loved everything about our stay at HK. How do you find a five star hotel in the middle of nowhere? The staff was amazing. They even provide a free shuttle service into town for dinner and drinks so you can leave your car there. Rooms and hotel are second to none (you're in Cedar Rapids, IA) Highly recommend !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just looking for a nice hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Wow the there was more than 2 coffees in the room. Very clean and well appointed.
Cons: Nothing I could find need improvement.
Location: Restaurants was all that I needed and there was an adequate choice.
Visiting the area, this hotel was recommended by friends of mine that stayed here. They were right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom Atlanta, GA

Extended Stay

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: It is SO modern, beautifully decorated, chic and modern, apparently conceived with the best of products, convenience, and service in mind.
Cons: Nothing. It is quality as it is.
Location: Well, under the circumstances of an automobile accident, I was basically confined to the room; however, it was fine given the quality of service.
Due to an automobile accident, I was requited to stay an extended five days. The entire staff - from front desk, maid service, room service - was absolutely understanding and totally perfect. This is truly a first-class facility with friendly, smiling, professionals. They are not professionals in the making; they have already arrived at five-star ratings. The hotel is centrally located with easy access to everything one could want in Cedar Rapids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tomfrom Madison, WI

A Surprise

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Service was impeccable. The hotel is nice and new. The restaurant is excellent.
Cons: The lobby bar is uneventful.
Location: This is the only drawback. You have to drive to get anywhere. Downtown is only ten minutes away.
I usually stay downtown but everything was booked. This hotel is on the south side of town and I did not even know it existed. If you don't mind the location, which is kind of remote, this is the best hotel in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by RJDfrom IL

One Night

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very clean and modern Hotel. Rooms were comfortable and quiet. Only drawback was the location but with that said I would have no problem staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by SaraandEvafrom Evanston

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant and comfortable. Food in the restaurant was great, service was friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kimfrom denver, co

Ok hotel but pricey for the area

Posted Apr 1, 2014
The hotel was nice but our room was lacking. It is the only upscale hotel i have stayed in without a minifridge. The sheers on the window were ripped and looked tacky. The rest was decent though. The staff was pleasant. Hotel is very close to airport but not close to anything else. Overall probably wouldn't pay that to stay here again.