Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden rainforest retreat

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Never having been to this area before, we planned a trip to see the volcanoes and decided to stay rather than drive all the way back to Kona. We found this place online and the price and location were right. It is kind of tucked in off of the street and we almost missed it. Our room had its own little patio and parking which was great. All in all it was clean and while not fancy it had a certain old school Hawaiian charm. It was really just the noise from the room above us ( all night) which interrupted our sleep that prevented us giving it a higher rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: I liked the hotel is out in the country away from civilization.
Cons: Air conditioners.
This is a great place to stay. It is secluded and close to the Volcano National Park. The room was a little hot during the day but cooled down quickly at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marta from Canada

Quaint hotel close to Volcanoes National Park

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was exceptional! For a few dollars you get a large variety of fruit, cereal, coffee, tea, juice, breads, all locally made!
Location: It is just 5-6 minutes away from Volcanoes National Park, which was a big plus for us!
This was a great place to stay! The whole house is very cute and quaint, extremely clean - no spider webs or dust, clean linens, very well kept!
3 out of 5
by Britt from Maui, HI

Good Location, Unforgivable Mattresses!

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Location, 1 working hot tub, clean mini fridge, wine glasses, wine opener, coffee pot and coffee provided.
Cons: invest in NEW REASONABLE MATTRESSESS
Location: In Volcano City, outside Volcano Nat'l Park. There are a reasonable amount of places to eat, but be sure to grab most grocery stuff before your trip.
As other reviewers have commented, there are multiple houses with different rooms, offering something unique to your experience staying at Volcano Kilauea. Checking into the establishment, I was excited to see what the Olena Room, which was in a different location to the main house, would offer. While the location is great in respect to the National Park Entrance, there were a couple of things that I found disappointing, and one thing I found unforgivable. The room was on the smaller side and clean, the bathroom, also small, had terrible water pressure. The hot tub that was advertised wasn't even working. Those things I can get over, the one thing I found unforgivable was how HARD the mattresses were! If you like sleeping on a floor, then you will not have this problem. Myself and my boyfriend, however found it to be a miserable experience and tossed and turned all night long. In my opinion, the main thing you pay for in a hotel is somewhere to sleep! I would not recommend this "place to sleep" to anyone who enjoys sleeping on a reasonable mattress. Having said this, there were small perks that are included in the room I should note: clean empty mini fridge, wine opener and wine glasses, coffee pot with coffee. Hot tub at main house was in order, so we travelled to take advantage of this feature. It's decent and offeres 3 (steeply) reclining seating positions with water jet massagers. Take advantage of it if you can, it was a nice treat before an uncomfortable sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bonnie from Canada

We only stayed one night

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: comfortable bed
Cons: ask guests to try to be quieter on the stairs
Location: Volcano National Park!
We liked having the kitchen available but found the room under the stairs very noisy when upstairs guests came and went. The bed was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by KymPossible from Seattle, WA

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Privacy, luxurious options
Location: Two miles from Volcano National Park, so that you can go to the park at any time of the day or night.
A fabulous private oasis in the rain forest complete with jacuzzi tub and rainfall shower. it was a wonderful place and we will definitely be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely house stay

Posted May 13, 2013
Cons: Procedures for checking into the hotel.
Perfect place to stay for our family visit to Volcano Fabulous way to meet new travellers, exchange stories and find out the "hot spots" in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room

Posted Oct 30, 2012
They have a variety of rooms in local homes converted to lodging. We went cheap because it was a busy time near the volcanoes. We were in a cute room with a shared bath that had been beautifully remodeled. For the price, this can"t be beat!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Saint George, UT

Comfortable and cozy

Posted Sep 13, 2012
The hotel is very clean; it is just outdated. It is comfortable, the living room, kitchen, dining room and parlor are big and well furnished. I do not know if I should expect common condiments like sugar, salt, pepper, tea bags /coffee packets, but there were none. Otherwise, it is comfortable and I would rate it as 3.5.