Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Delightful hotel in centre of Como

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and the historic atmosphere of the hotel.
Cons: The shower leaked and despite being reported was not fixed during our week's stay.
Location: The hotel is situated in the centre of the town so is convenient for the historic buildings and also for the boats serving the lake.
Delightful hotel conveniently situated in the centre of Como. Ideally situated to explore the lake. Our bedroom was comfortable and the breakfasts were sustaining!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cas & Matt from taunton

City break

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Staff were very very friendly and helpful. Could not fault them!
Location: City is great for shopping and people watching. Everything is close at hand. Boat trip to Ballagio and trip on vernicular well worth it.
There were a few problems with the room, 1) despite the double glazing, the disposal of bar empty bottles into the refuse lorry in the street below at 0645 sounded like it was inside the room. 2) bed and pillows were very hard but soft pillows were available. 3) it looked like the room had very recently been converted, there were false timber beams in the ceiling that turned out to have drain pipes from the rooms above, every noise of draining water was loud and clear. We also arrived by car, which was a nightmare because the satnav tried to take us into the city centre at the wrong point. MUST go in from the cathedral entrance!!!! Parking at the hotel was excellent, however. Bottom line though, if you do not need a car , take the train. Would still use the hotel again as it is perfect for this city. Forewarned is forearmed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cigarette smell, no normal towels

Posted Oct 21, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Surrey

Hotel with everything on the doorstep

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Position, parking, free wi-fi.
Location: Walk around the Old Town and visit the Old and new cathedrals - stunning! Take the ferry up the lake stopping at all the villages on route then take t
We stayed at this hotel for three nights in September as part of a driving tour of the lakes and French Alps. Getting to the hotel (which is in a pedestrianised area) was not as bad as I thought although my SatNav (and Google Maps) took us down some very narrow streets. We discovered later that the hotel is signposted if you approach from the Ferry terminal end with no need to drive down these very narrow side streets. Parking was not an issue (we were there in September) but I can see how they might operate a shunting procedure to pack the cars in during the high season. Our room was small but with a large double bed and wet room (think it was the disabled room). The staff were very pleasant and most spoke english. The hotel is in the centre of the old town with everything (including a supermarket) on the doorstep. A five minute stroll from the lake and ferry terminal. Breakfast was a continental buffet with a reasonable choice. We ate in the restaurant on two occasions and the food was good and reasonably priced. The only downside is the noise of delivery services early in the morning but we could have closed the window. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Good stop for the price

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean and the staff were friendly. I booked last minute when I arrived in Como from Milan. No complaints. Breakfast was included, wifi was pretty fast in my room, and it was right by everything. It's a converted convent, which makes it fun and different, but note that the rooms are made for 80 year old nuns - so small. ha. but pretty typical of a european room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by mike from australia

Great Location

Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location next to the cathedral and the ferries for Lake Como Very helpful staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Kent, England

Nice hotel shame about the noisy coach parties

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Noisy Americans
Location: Really close to the lake
To get to the Tres Re you have to drive through pedestrian only streets, there is an exception for hotel guests, which can be a bit fraught, but there is plenty of free (for a motorcycle at least) parking once you get there. We had a small room with a large double bed. This meant that there was not much room to get around the bed and little room for our luggage. The room was also the first in the first floor corridor so very near the stairs. Convenient in some ways but disastrous when on both nights of our stay a coach party of Americans decided that everyone wanted to hear their conversations as they went up the stairs and along the corridors. Not much the hotel can do about their lack of consideration but the stairwell, which is quite grand, amplified the sound considerably. Try to get a room not by the stairs. There was a standard Italian cold breakfast buffet that was fine. Free Wi-Fi is available only close by reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MC from United States

Good location

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
I liked the hotel, a converted convent. The only problem of note was that our shower had no tile blocking the water flow out of the shower, so the water ran all over the bathroom. Our room was designed to be accessible for the disabled, so this may have been a design feature to make it easy to access the shower. My 70 year old mother in law thought the room on the small side, but she was new to the European hotel scene. I thought our room was larger and nicer than many I've stayed in while traveling in Europe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Happy experience in Como.

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Excellent location in the middle of the old town. Good breakfast and the staff gave very helpful advice to our queries. In the evening we had an excellent meal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Tre Re

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Cons: Everything else except the location
Location: Fantastically located
Location is wonderful. Other than that, nothing much exciting about the hotel. Three stars is a little over-rated. It's more like a two star hotel.