Ratings based on 697 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southern California

quaint but old

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The only thing that I liked about the hotel was the location. Easy walking distance to everything in Carmel.
Cons: Everything could be improved upon.
The room was old and outdated. The electrical was not good as the only heat in the room was a space heater. Everytime I turned the heater on the circuit would short causing everything to shut off. The breakfast was abysmal. I do not understand how toast, caardboard tasting waffles and coffee constitute breakfast. There was no fresh fruit, juice, eggs.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Carmel by the sea amazing... But not this hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015
This little town is a great place to visit. Lots of art galleries and a convenient place to start a visit to Pebble Beach and the 17 mile drive. But the hotel, not so great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the weekend with Fido

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Charming! Fireplace heaters are awesome. Wine tasting fabulous. Courtyard, lovely
Cons: Amenities could be better or upgraded
The rooms could use some work but they are charming. Location is awesome!!!!!! Phone didn't work, alarm clock didn't work and the tv was pretty bad. We weren't there to talk on the phone, wake up early or watch tv so overall it was super nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SFO Peninsula

VERY DISAPPOINTING "SUITE" #5

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: No comment.
Cons: Self-explanatory.
Location: Romantic, lovely village with great restaurants, galleries, shops, plazas. Live entertainment at Cypress Inn and Mission Ranch.
This so-called suite was just a very small room. It was listed as having a king bed plus TWO singles, plus, plus. Wrong. There was a king bed and one trundle bed. If the trundle bed was pulled out, it would be impossible to walk around it to get to the bathroom or king bed. This is no suite. The "fireplace" consisted of very small gas logs behind a glass screen that was so etched (they called it frosted) that it was hard to even see or enjoy the small flames. The bathroom window was stuck open and there was no way at all to pull the window closed because the handle was missing! It was VERY cold outside and also inside because of this open window all night! The worst part was the bathroom floor. We showed the desk manager tissues we used to try and clean the floor. They were full of black hairs and dirt and crumbs of food. Disgusting. We've stayed in Carmel at least once a month for the past 22 years and we've never had such a bad experience at any of the inns or hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara, CA

Pretty hotel, but limited amenities.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Cons: Faster internet, a/c, and maybe some modern remodeling wouldn't hurt.
This hotel was pretty and nice, but there was no a/c and the internet was really slow. It's an older building, so this is no surprise, it's just a quaint little inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Centralized location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Hotel is centralized and within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the beach. Our room was clean. The chairs, beds/pillows were comfortable.
Cons: Hotel staff could be more welcoming. Bathroom plumbing and heating should be updated or repaired.
Location: Hotel is within walking distance to shops, restaurants and to the beach.
We were running late to check-in, called the office to be told that our room key, direction to our room, and instructions will be left on the door if we do not get there by 8:00pm. Office hours are indicated as 8:00-8:00. I had additional questions and comments, but was rushed off the phone. I called back to get better directions as the hotel does not have a number address. The phone rang and rang... we arrived a few minutes before 8:00 and the office was closed. We found our room clean and comfortable. However, the bathroom, vanity, closet, table and plumbing was old and need some repair. We only found two electrical outlets to plug in our devices. Bathroom heater did not work. Shower was sporadic for some reason. Water supply seems to limited. We were able to hear our neighbor next door talking so the walls are thin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Beautiful city and location.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Located in Carmel by the Sea!
Cons: Repair broken things and replace missing items.
Location: Shopping and eating are within walking distance. It's a fabulous town with then most beautiful beach and coast line in the U.S.
This hotel is old and slightly worn out. It was comfortable and clean but in need of serious updating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Just the location
Cons: The hotel is defiantly not a 3 starts was originally listed as. 1.5 star at the,let!
Not a good review unfortunately. Very old, dirty, misrepresented hotel. Will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom southern Cal

Ok hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: It was close to ocean avenue and walking distance to the beach and was dog friendly.
Cons: Update your rooms put new heaters in bathrooms ( the ones that are in there are very old scary and rusted we were scared to use it) towel rack rusted.
my experience was just OK dog friendly with restrictions marginal cleaning tiny soap bars that you use twice and you need more...very little towels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Carmel

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Nice staff, convienant location. Very basic hotel. Needs updating but is clean and quiet. Breakfast is available. Mainly cereal and waffles. Rooms are small but comfortable with refrigerator.