Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Overall a disappointing experience

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Proximity to nearby attractions
Cons: Place should be cleaned beyond a monthly frequency. Given the amount of money they charge per night, it needed an upgrade in 1990.
Location: Check a tourist guide.
Overpriced for what you get, which is a dirty room, stale breakfast, and smelly lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburg Ks

Price

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Cons: Price
The motel and the staff were very professional. The motel was clean and well kept. The room I was book, was three times to big. Two beds, Two TVs and a hot tub...There was myself and one other who stayed there. We just spent the night there as we were gone most of all day. Just like all the other motels the room rate because of the Sturgis Ralley was robbery...Its all about the money...and how much you can make off anyone during the ralley. Motel rates triple, Gas prices 50 to 60 cents higher. Penalty for use of a credit card, Hambuger 10 bucks. P.S. 4 night stay at the Days Inn $1,011.96 Enough said its time to go somewhere else. Were see if this review makes it anywhere....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Did not stay canceled reservation

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Hair in sheets dirty sock behind dresser towels dirty bugs in room floor dirty
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but the carpet was dirty and stuffy

Posted Aug 2, 2014
If the carpet was clean and free of whatever happens to it, it would have been an excellent room for the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel need upgrade and cleanliness

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Location is at the city limit, also close to crazy horse and Mt. Rushmore.
Had a very bad experience, had to checked out earlier. Carpet and building need to be change and renovate. Beds are so old, no bed skirts and stains are very visible. A cat lives in the hotel and is all over the place. Bugs crawling on the ground upon entering at the back door from the parking lot. Will not come back again and will not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Aurora, CO

Rushmore hotel with cat

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Close to Mount Rushmore and easy walking to interesting part of town.
Cons: Free breakfast was somewhat limited in choices especially when it came to cereal.
Location: Jewel Cave is close and worth doing a tour.
We like cats, so cat in lounge was nice, but not everyone feels the same way. She was well behaved. Also, travelers should be aware this hotel is right on the road to Mt. Rushmore so lots of traffic noise in morning. Of the three hotels we stayed at in South Dakota, this had the smallest room, but it was adequate. Free microwave pop corn in lounge was a big hit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No good for 150 $$

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Bummer breakfast, out of water at the vending and no water available at breakfast. Even the fitness room had no water. We went to McDonald s for breakfast instead.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: It needs to be cleaned and maintained.
Location: The hotel is close to Mt Rushmore and Wind Caves national park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Best value for location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Deb at the front desk went out of her way to make us feel welcome. We got good value for what we paid.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Not even for one night

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The willingness to change rooms at our request.
Cons: Room insulation, noise barriers, customer service training for staff, breakfast quality
My husband and I were looking for a simple place to stay on our way through South Dakota. When we arrived at this Days Inn we were 'greeted' by the woman at the front desk who didn't say a word to us - just walked over to the computer and looked at us expectantly. We were given a room that was right by the front desk and we could hear conversations going on between everyone in the lobby. The room was incredibly small and was only wide enough for the bed and two end tables. There was a round table in the hallway right in front of the bathroom door. When we approached the same woman who checked us in about possibly changing rooms she was very accommodating and we were moved to the end of the hall. Throughout the night we could hear full conversations in the room next to us and every footstep that was taken upstairs. When the upstairs occupants left at 6:00am the next morning we heard every minute of that as well. There is breakfast provided but it included only bread, stale cereal, and frozen omelettes in an ice bath - we left at that point. We were looking for a simple, cheap stay for the night but I would not stay at this hotel again - far too noisy, cheaply done rooms, terrible breakfast. Not worth the price we paid at all.