Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Wonderful Vacation

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING...location, food, all inclusive!!!!
Cons: NOTHING
Location: central on the 7 mile beach. Kool runnings water park, Ricks Cafe.
I traveled to Jamaica for the Annual Smirnoff Dream weekend in Negril and I don't usually spend the time to write reviews but I was very impressed with the service at this hotel so I decided it was worth writing a review. Let me first begin by saying prior to booking this hotel, I read all the reviews for both Couples Swept Away and Couples Negril and after long deliberation, I'm glad I chose Couples Swept Away. The location of the hotel was close to all the festivities and good spot on the 7 mile beach. The airport shuttle was comfortable, about 1 hr 15 mins ride from the airport. Check in was quick, loved the glass of champagne and cold towel given while waiting to be checked in. Keep in mind check in is at 3pm, and your room will not be ready until 3. However, you can use the facilities. We decided on the garden view room because we thought that we only needed the room to sleep. Our room was close to the restaurant and beach but there was not much to see besides trees. Next time, I think it would be better to spend the extra money and get an oceanfront room. The room was clean and bedding comfortable. The food was good (had both Jamaican and American cuisine). Drinks were good, not watered down. Nightly shows was good (we only attended 1 due to the Smirnoff festivities). The beach was clean & not much harassment from the vendors. Beach chairs were plenty. Loved the all inclusive activities. Overall, Couples Swept Away Overall was superb. Will be returning next year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Beautiful beach, great customer service food

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Location: We didn't stray far from the resort, but there is Rick's cafe close by and Margaritaville a couple minutes walk down the beach.
We stayed 6 nights for our honeymoon in August and loved it! At first it was not as pristine/luxurious as we had hoped or expected (based off photographs) and our "ocean view" room was a little bit of a stretch/disappointment as we looked mostly at palm trees and very hard to see any water from our balcony. But that all turned around quick for us! You learn to love it for it's natural beauty and the beach is amazing. The beach was not crowded, easy to get good seats everyday, and the water was crystal clear and perfect temperature (not too warm/not too cold). You felt safe on the beach with security guards and any passing vendors trying to sell anything kept their distance and accepted a polite "no thank you." The food was great - we loved Lemongrass, Feathers, and Patios for dinner. And the 2 that require reservations (Lemongrass and Feathers) were always easy to book. Breakfast at Patios was also great. The staff were always very accommodating to any requests. The staff at the bamboo hut bar were also very friendly and made sure everyone was having a good time! It is also a nice bonus that a lot of the excursions are included with your stay at the resort. We did the sunset catamaran ride and it was free and left right from the resort, so you don't lose a whole day traveling or have to spend extra money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Duh

Very relaxing week

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The beach, the water, the beach, the water... I'm a gym rat so the fitness area was also a good feature for me.
Cons: Update the room décor, mainly the tile and fixtures.
My wife and I spent a nice week at CSA in mid-July. Arrival at Montego Bay was normal. We quickly took off for immigration, which will take at least 30 minutes depending on how many flights arrive at close to the same time. Take 2 black pens on-board so you can fill out the immigration/customs information ahead of time. After clearing immigration, we headed straight for the Couples ground transportation office for a Red Stripe and a 10-minute wait before loading onto our bus. The trip to CSA took 1 1/2 hours, including a 10-minute stop. Check-in was a breeze. It only took about 10 minutes to fill out the necessary information and provide a credit card for any extra services that we would use during the week. The resort is cashless - you settle up at check-out. The rooms are dated; however, it appeared that they were beginning to remodel the Beach Veranda Suites. We stayed in the Great House for its convenience. It was a little noisy due to the tile floors and loud drunks. The room was comfortable but we don't go to Jamaica for the room... it's the beach stupid! This is the best beach in Jamaica with a large floating/swimming area. The spa and fitness facilities are excellent for a resort property. The food was delicious and the service was very good over all. Use Club MoBay on your return trip so you can spend you wait time in A/C comfort at the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

GREAT Getaway

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Cons: A/C in the Lemon Grass. But they brought cool towels for keeping cool.
Perfect getaway to the islands. I researched a lot of places, and Couples Swept Away had consistently rave reviews. Now I know why. Clientele ranged from young honeymooners to those in their 50's/60's celebrating getaways or 30-40 year anniversaries. You could be laid back and quiet, or there was action for those who like to party. Lots of free activities were included, like waterskiing, sailing, snorkeling, glass bottom boat, catamaran "booze cruise," etc. Wonderful workout facility with lap pool, spa, tennis courts (hard-tru and clay with free lessons,) squash and racquetball, and jogging paths. Rooms very clean and private. You could even have them stock your fridge with all inclusive drinks. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Not swept away by this hotel!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Too busy for a couples hotel. Food is lovely tho lovely restaurants only need to book 2 of them. A few female staff need to improve their customer care very rude! Beautiful beach but lots of sellers (not selling wot you think they are) a polite no thank you will suffice. Rooms on beach are best huge with sea view upgrade in resort much cheaper than uk. We had money taken from our room so be sure to put everything in your safe when not there it wasn't a lot but it's the principal! We preferred couples negril much smaller & quieter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Returning guests who will never return again!

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Arrived and had to wait over 3 to Chk in. Also had 2 change rooms 3 times cause of broken AC, non working keys and bar and refridge were not stocked. The refridge had open beverages used by previous guest!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

10-year anniversary trip

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We went for only a quick get-away. The beach is unlike any other Ive seen. Absolutely paradise. I thought the facilities were very nice. The rooms were nice, bathrooms not very updated but it was clean nonetheless. Ive been to a Sandals resort before in St. Lucia for our honeymoon. If I had to compare it Id say it was extremely comparable other than the beach being AMAZING in Negril! We had an oceanview room (there was a tiny view of the beach/ocean through some trees) but I cannot complain. Top shelf liquor available which was a pleasant surprise. Always beach chairs available although if you want a shady spot, better grab it up early. I thought the food was great. Almost all of the staff I came across was very pleasant and would say hello (there were a couple who were not overly pleasant but everyone has a bad day now and then). The security guards did a great job keeping the locals in check on the beach. We will definitely be back to Negril. Next time we'll stay a little longer though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

Room with balcony overlooking koi pond and ocean

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Excellent experience! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The food was fantastic and the water sports amazing. Beautiful and well-maintained. We could not have asked for a better honeymoon, and we plan on making this a yearly tradition!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Franklin TN

Nice vacation, very relaxing

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Grounds were beautiful. Beach was wonderful. Staff were very nice.
Cons: Ants in rooms. cleanliness of pool bar area. Wait time for food at Patois.
Location: Great location on beach and Catamaran tour was very nice.
Couples Swept Away was a very nice resort. We had a very enjoyable time. Staff was very friendly. Room was comfortable although had army of ants parading through at all times. Beach was wonderful except for constant badgering of vendors selling wares. Pool Bar was great environment but was very dirty at times. Restaurants were mostly very good except for long wait for food on 2 occasions. Over all very nice and met most of our expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Couples Swept Away Negril

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Very clean and beautiful flowers. Easy to get lost as you find your room! We had an end unit with plantation shutters, the room was clean.
Cons: Remember your room requests are just requests. We asked for third floor, and got the second floor, we booked ahead. Loud construction next to us.
Location: Remember its a 90 minute drive from the airport. Ricks Café, Margarittaville, the only out of the resort locations we saw.
What a beautiful beach, and what fun! You don't need to take the party bus to Margaritaville, just walk up the beach! Be prepared for locals selling you "things" . Take the Tie-Dye t-shirt class, cheap and lots of fun. My husband and I have been to 5 All inclusive resorts, this resort's food is the best, so delicious! Staff friendly. We enjoyed the rafts that are on the beach chairs, so you can float your day away. They served fruit Kabob's on the beach and no loud announcements about activities like most resorts. Snorkeling fun, Catamaran worth your time! And don't miss Rick's Café! you pay 15. per person for the van ride, but totally worth it! Beautiful sunset. We of course didn't dive off the cliffs like most the people in our van! Relaxing, lots of weddings, and plenty of fun to be had! Look for Mr. Icebox on the beach. He has the best voice ever! Let him serenade you, and buy his CD!!!