Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

A Tired Beachside Hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The hotel is located in the center of most activities on the Outer Banks.
Cons: Major renovation of the facility is in order.
Location: In addition to its own restaurant and lounge, the hotel is close to all the major outdoor activities and other restaurants.
I found the location to be excellent and the staff did an excellent job greeting guests, running the restaurant and lounge, and keeping the facility as clean as possible. Nature and salt air have taken their toll on the physical facility. The hotel needs major renovations. The rooms need outside insulation to counter the summer heat, and I would imagine, the winter cold. The A/C unit, although working properly, could not keep up with the blazing afternoon sun. Hallway cooling on the top floor where my room was located was always hot. The metal doors to the rooms were not set properly and would stick and bang when closing them. The hallway carpeting was worn and needed to be replaced. The rooms are clean and the staff very attentive to their guests' needs. I have given them 5 stars, but the hotel owners need to spend major money on renovation. They get 2 stars for the hotel condition.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Not worth the price

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Great location, but pool was out, wi-fi was terrible, AC was weak. Don't get first floor because you can see the ocean. (And pay the same price!)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
It was an average hotel, but the staff were helpful and polite to all of the guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way too expensive for such an outdated hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Location on the beach only
Cons: It all needs to be updated, even the elevator access is terrible.
Really really outdated. Old and somewhat nasty for the money. I don't mean to be so negative, but this hotel really needs some work. It is way too expensive. Location is good, accomodations are not but due to the location they can charge what ever they want. I don't have a problem with paying the amount but the need to invest back into updating this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from king nc

The bed slept well. Room was not clean

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Buffet breakfast was very good.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Too expensive for what we received. The breakfast was good. Nice bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hyden, KY

Perfect location, right on the beach!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Directly across the street from American Pie, which has the best homemade ice cream on the planet!
Cons: When I booked this hotel through Expedia, I booked an oceanfront room. When I got there, our rooms were on the street. Friendly staff cleared that up
Location: Located within easy walking distance to at least three excellent restaurants. A leisurely stroll down the street for dinner meant less driving!
This was an older facility but has been kept up well. It was very clean, and the staff at the front desk couldn't have been nicer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel. It's close to the beach, but the beach was dirty (e.g., chicken bones, cigarette buts, and bottle tops).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on beach at OBX

Posted Jul 13, 2015
The hotel is old and weathered by salt water. Also, everything seems damp, the floors are constantly wet, leaving a musty odor in the air. By considering lack of options for day-to-day stays on ocean side, the Comfort Inn is only one of few choices, and overly priced as such.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Martinsville VA

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: It's right on the beach and there is a decent restaurant across the street. Quiet family friendly area.
Cons: Could use a little updating. There was peeling paint on the air conditioner. Mostly things look a little old and well used.
Location: A quiet location. The beach was not crowded even though it was peak season.
This hotel is ok. The bathrooms and showers are tiny. We asked for a crib and paid $65 to rent a pack and play for 3 nights. If we had known we would have brought our own pack and play that would not have smelled musty. The location is nice. Not a bad hotel but a little overpriced.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Close to the beach BUT hotel is old and dirty.

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Complete renovation.
We changed rooms three times before finally getting a refund and leaving.