Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice oceanfront hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Ok but not too clean, staff are not too friendly.nice oceanfront, but carpets are dirty, clogged bath tubs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island

Great location wiith easy access to beach

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The free breakfast was a plus because the facilty was kept clean and food was replenished when low.
Cons: Slow elevators that were tied up by staff cleaning rooms. Right side of quuen suze bed place next to wall with no access to get into bed from that sid
To begin with, the entire staff was excellent! They were polite, accomodating and very professional. Plenty of parking. Good restaurants near hotel. Beach was spotless and well maintained. Pool and area were clean and constantly cleaned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ocean front is not always Ocean View

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: It was close to the beach
Cons: Animals should be kept away from guest with non-pet rooms. Access card for the back door should have been fixed, as well as the toilet shower drains
Location: lots of fresh seafood restaurants, lots of bars and ocean activities
What I thought was a balcony room was actually a back porch with a dune in front of it. Back door access card didn't work, and tub and toilet drained poorly. I also did not realize this was a pet friendly hotel and had to report the dog barking in the room across the hall from us. It stopped shortly after that, but started up again later, and continued during our stay. AC unit for the room wasn't working well, and was really noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London , England

Location location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Great location and friendly staff. Great breakfast buffet
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

room didn't match up to the price for the room

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Room was small and cramped. Was not able to sleep very well, beds were too small for two people
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blue Ridge

Just OK

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Good location right on the beach.
Cons: Elevators are very slow and long waits ensued.
Location: The beach is the best asset and is very close. The Ramada was right next door with a Comedy Club and Karaoke for nearby entertainment.
The lobby and common areas looked clean and new while everything in the hotel room looked a little tired and threadbare. The beds were nice and comfortable. It was raining and windy outside which caused some leak to appear above the window. This caused the carpet to be damp. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mechanicsville, VA

Great location and refreshing pool.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Close to the oceanfront, its pool and continental breakfast was impressive every morning.
Cons: Communications between the front desk and housekeeping.
Location: Lots of restaurants, tourist spots and things to do.
Housekeeping did not change our bed until our 3rd day. The staff kept making excuses and we were in complete compliance and communication. The King size bed gave my husband a backache all week.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

OK Place on the beach.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: On the beach, fairly clean.
Cons: The property needs to be renovated.
Location: The OBX Mystery Dinner Theater that is in the hotel is a must see. We had a wonderful time.
The hotel is right on the beach. The building is very old, however they seem to be trying to keep it up to date. Staff was friendly, However seems to be understaffed or probably just poorly managed. We had to wait 45 minutes to get into our room at 5pm as we were told no rooms were clean. Staff members were standing around and conversing with one another. Rooms are dark and old, although they have made attempts at keeping it updated. There is only 1 elevator and it is sloooowwww. All these things could be tolerable, except for what we paid for the night. Would have been much better if it was about half the cost or completely renovated. Not a bad place to stay, but definitely overpriced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Outdated and smelly!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The Comfort Inn on OBX is just one of a few choices for hotel stay in Kill Devil Hills NC, so we were limited in our choices. However, we may not choose this hotel again. For instance, the elevator (just one there) broke down 3 times during our stay. We, along with other travelers, had to haul all of our beach stuff up and down 4 flights of stairs. There seemed to be a lot of complaints going on around the lobby from others. The smell was utterly horrid, as the first floor smelled entirely of used baby diapers, and the other floors of mildewy and throw-up. It was really bad. I noticed a few travelers, packing up to leave, saying its because of the smell. There was industrial-sized fans attempting to dry out carpets everywhere. The steps in the stairwell were always wet and the cement chipped off, missing treads and general bad shape. A lot of things were just unkempt and could be remedied by staff, but they seemed to be understaffed in maintenance department. Also, we had to move rooms 3 times due to A/C shorted out because of Hurricane Arthur. Hotel has potential to be very nice, if work is completed and not just band-aided over.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorktown,VA

Overpriced

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: It is situated on the ocean front.
They charged over $400.00 for a room that was extremely small and smelled very bad. The pictures of the room are not accurate. The manager and staff were very rude.