Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Outdated and smelly!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The Comfort Inn on OBX is just one of a few choices for hotel stay in Kill Devil Hills NC, so we were limited in our choices. However, we may not choose this hotel again. For instance, the elevator (just one there) broke down 3 times during our stay. We, along with other travelers, had to haul all of our beach stuff up and down 4 flights of stairs. There seemed to be a lot of complaints going on around the lobby from others. The smell was utterly horrid, as the first floor smelled entirely of used baby diapers, and the other floors of mildewy and throw-up. It was really bad. I noticed a few travelers, packing up to leave, saying its because of the smell. There was industrial-sized fans attempting to dry out carpets everywhere. The steps in the stairwell were always wet and the cement chipped off, missing treads and general bad shape. A lot of things were just unkempt and could be remedied by staff, but they seemed to be understaffed in maintenance department. Also, we had to move rooms 3 times due to A/C shorted out because of Hurricane Arthur. Hotel has potential to be very nice, if work is completed and not just band-aided over.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorktown,VA

Overpriced

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: It is situated on the ocean front.
They charged over $400.00 for a room that was extremely small and smelled very bad. The pictures of the room are not accurate. The manager and staff were very rude.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

The view of the ocean at sunrise is very nice

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very clean and the late morning to evening staff were very friendly and courteous. The ocean is very close not having to walk very far.
Cons: The mattress is very uncomfortable, there is know support. The hotel staff for early morning check out need to be a little bit more friendly.
Location: The hotel is very close to food and fun can't argue about that. I would recommend the ice cream place right across the street.
My husband and I were on our one year anniversary and picked this hotel because of the pictures and reviews. The hotel was nice a little bit dated but ok for a place to sleep for a couple of days. One of the dune decks were being repaired so there was only one way to the beach not that big of a deal. The best part of this hotel in my opinion would be the room, it was very updated and clean.The mattress was very uncomfortable but doable. The hotel it self was very clean and so was the pool. I did not like that you need to take two elevators to get to your room but what you gonna do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg, Va

Great location. Good price. Hotel showing wear

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Great location at a good price. The hotel is showing wear being on ocean. Paint coming off and rust in spots but they are working in it. OK place to stay
2 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Swansboro, NC

In need of update

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Staff friendly, helpful Right on beach but access small Hotel needs updating-- hallways and rooms Bathrooms in good shape Rooms felt damp Breakfast good Wouldn't stay again bc of the old, used up feeling of the hall, rooms :(
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Richmond, VA

Decent facility on the beach

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Cons: You need a "maybe" button for the first question, Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?
Pleasant staff but the building is aging and the entry cards were constantly failing. Twice we had to have them re-issue room cards because they did not work or stopped working. It's not pleasant to stand in a hallway unable to access your own goods and space.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach view and access.

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Cons: Bar/lounge area was small with very limited selections.
Location: Any and all beach/water activities, miniature golf, lots of great restaurants, aquarium is nearby.
Hotel is practically on the sand. Right outside the rooms is a beautiful beach view (not all rooms have a view) with immediate access to walk right onto the sand! Rooms were clean, staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
by keke from Virginia

Right on the beach

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Free breakfast was good
Cons: Pet area, revamping of the whole hotel, very old and run down
Location: Right on Beach
Pet friendly but no area to walk, only parkin lot or beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by OrchidIsle from Iowa City, IA

On the Beach

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. The rooms are quiet and restful.
Cons: The internet connection is poor.
Location: Wright Brothers National Monument
We stayed for one night and enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is literally on the beach, and you can be on the beach after you exit the access door. The beach was clean and very inviting. We saw a school of dolphins swimming by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular views

Posted Apr 5, 2014
The location and the view are spectacular. The hotel is currently under what appears to be a very badly needed renovation.