Ratings based on 1,550 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rancho Mirage CA

This hotel is just OK

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Nothing special, comfortable bed, clean room and nice bathroom. But noisy air conditioner. ( through the wall) blasting on the bed all night. For the price there's options on Shelter Island that I'd go to first, Humpherys is overall the best.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PHX

Decent hotel, but this is a time share property

Posted Jul 10, 2014
This was a decent hotel, not great, not bad. There are several buildings, and we were in one about two away from the lobby/restaurant, etc. We had a pool side room, and it was a bit noisy at night, but that was to be expected. The room was very large, two beds, and a little kitchen area, but it felt like it was 1/2 hotel, 1/2 timeshare property. This property would be great if you're planning on fishing and sailing, and it is very close to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temescal Valley

A nice Best Western

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, for a beach hotel.
Cons: Need some more sunshades in the pool. There are just three, over three small tables, leaving all the loungers exposed to the full sun.
Stayed over the 4th. Good location and facilities. Didn't use the restaurant for dinner, but breakfasts were good and good value, too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Our block the rooms need an upgrade
Location: Marine, close to the City and Airport but in a quite location
Great location and friendly staff, our room was a little tied but still OK, the major issue we had was the room had an adjoining door to the room next door so the sound proofing was very poor. Out of the 5 night stay 3 were disrupted by noise in the late / early morning. If you are booking this hotel watch the adjoining unless this is what you require
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brea, CA

Two night get-a-way

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The look, accommodations, and definitely the staff!
Cons: I think it's a perfect place! Maybe a map of local eateries or directions so I didn't have to use my phone for my bearings.
Location: We came from the zoo the first night so that was easy and the next day we went to sea world- it was even easier! Point Loma college was nice too!
When we drove up in the dark after a long day at the zoo- we did a double take, was this the place? It was gorgeous ... Felt like I was in Hawaii again! As I checked in I was told they upgraded my room to a suite! It was luxurious! Big open room with a balcony to watch ships and boats pass by, dinette and sink to help mornings with to young kids go smoothly! Big bathroom with separate shower/toilet also made getting ready a breeze! The two pools we overlooking the marina and if you looked at the photos online like I did to many places- the hotel really does look just like that and more! We loved it and have already recommend it to our friends and family as a top rate place to stay in San Diego! Missing it already!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from Livingston, Scotland

Comfortable stay

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The location, room comfort and views from rooms
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Cabrillo National Monument very accessible by car and the Old Town Trolley Tour is a convenient way to explore San Diego.
We chose Shelter Island as a more restful location than downtown San Diego and were not disappointed.. our room was comfortable and clean with a view over the Bay from the balcony which suited us at first as there was plenty activity to watch. We then realised that the rooms overlooking the Marina got the benefit of the evening sun to sit and enjoy so there is a very definite choice to make when booking. If we return we will definitely book the Marina side. The hotel runs efficiently and the staff are polite and helpful. Our only complaint was that our in-room safe was faulty and could not be used. Although we reported it immediately, two visits from maintenance failed to fix it and it was still not working when we checked out. Not a major issue for us but disappointing never the less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from UK

Superb location.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Superb views and spacious comfortable rooms
Cons: Bar area and restaurant could do with a re-furb. Bar area is particularly cramped. Food was good in the restaurant.
Location: Shelter Island is a superb location in San Diego with plenty to see. Several good restaurants within walking distance of 15 to 20 minutes.
Very welcoming staff and able to checkin early as room was ready.This hotel is in a superb location. Our room overlooked the marina, and had a very welcome coffee machine. The fridge and room safe were also good facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Rooms are Clean, but Bed is Very Firm

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Hotel has a unique appearance from the outside. Rooms are in individual buildings. Rooms were very clean.
Cons: Double pain balcony doors for the traffic noise and solid doors for the hallways.
Location: Very little to do. Walk around and enjoy the scenery, fish or boat.
Check in HAD to be after 4 pm, room was not ready until then. We wandered around Shelter Island, seeing the sites. The room was clean, but the 2 Queen Beds were very firm. The adjustments did not help make it softer. The noise from people coming in and out of their rooms was very loud. We could hear the traffic too. The restaurant, The Blue Wave, was very good and was abit pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Had a great time. Right by the water. Great walkway to enjoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beck from Kansas City

Nice beach side hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Beautiful hotel. A few things could have been better.There was an unfinished outlet in the bathroom. Loud drunk people trying to get to there rooms. I think if it costs that much to stay that the breakfast should be complimentary. But overall a nice place to stay.