Ratings based on 1,802 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
War OK. Das parken ist zu teuer. Der Ausblick ist sagenhaft. Ich war mit der untransparenten Darstellung der Service Gebühren durch expedia nicht zufrieden. Auf der Buchung steht nicht dass die service gebühren Pflicht sind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Alberta

Great Hotel, if not in the waterfront building.

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The staff were very nice and accommodating. Great pool for the kids and a fantastic location. Easy walk, with a 4-year old to Sea World.
Cons: Get rid of the Waterfront suites!! Or atleast renovate them....
Location: Easy 10-minute walk to Sea World. Great location on the Marina and close to the airport. Downtown is a quick drive.
Please read my entire rating as it has a happy ending. We checked in for a 6-day stay, having booked a king suite on the waterfront. We were provided a large suite on the waterfront in the three story building. What a huge disappointment! The room looked like something from the 80’s and was far from comfortable with its very dated furniture. We wouldn’t sit in the detached living room as the furniture was disgusting. The bathroom had paint peeling, the bathtub was gross, it had rusted hardware and the bottom of the tub was peeling off in big chunks. We were tired and needed a bed, so we stayed for one night. The next morning we approached the front desk, expressed our concern and were promptly provided a new room in the tower. FANTASTIC ROOM!!!!!GREAT VIEWS AND VERY COMFORTABLE. Why are they renting the waterfront rooms out? It’s a completely different class and I would never stay at a Hyatt if that was the standard of rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Not as expected

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The grounds were well kept and quite beautiful.
Cons: Option for self service laundry, commplimentary coffee/tea in the lobby, additional food options for families and additional concierge staff.
Location: Bellmont Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Marina, Downtown - lots to do and see
The hotel was fine enough, the food, room, accomodations were less than desireable and our key cards continously quit working and we were locked out of the building multiple times throughout our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Preferred the Tower

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Cons: The first room we stayed in, alongside the pool needs to be updated.
Location: We walked to the beach and around the marina.
The tower rooms are newly renovated and very nice. We were much happier after moving to this area. The view was very nice, it was clean, and very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

hyatt was disappointing

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: pool area and room service
Cons: the room really needs updating
Location: seaworld
it was a surprise for my grand daughter...she was ecstatic...i did not vocalize my disappointment, but there was hair in the bath tub that i had to rinse before my 12 year old grand daughter could use it. There was mold above the bathroom door. Furniture was chipped and dilapidated. This was not the quality i was expecting from a hyatt. The pool was fantastic. Room service was fantastic and the girls truly enjoyed it. we were supposed to be able to check in at 4 but when we were told at 3:30 that it would be another 30 minutes before our room was ready, it was not disappointing and we went to the pool and dove right in, but after swimming till 4:30 we decided it was time to check in and our room was still not ready! We waited in the lobby with several other disgruntled guests and finally at 5:30 we were allowed to go to our room. With the resort fee you would think the tv would be clear and watchable....the static was so bad the only thing the girls could do was pay for a movie. Really?
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Nice hotel not far from downtown

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Bike rent included in the price. Outside pool. Balcony.
Location: There are not a lot of activities nearby, except one restaurant, coffee shop and . Seaworld is located nearby.
We planned to go to San Diego for 3 days including President's Day, we booked Expedia "Unpublished Rate Hotels", this hotel was chosen and we were very happy. The overall experience with this hotel was good, we didn't have any big troubles, the room was pretty clean and nice, the staff was pleasant. Minus one star - parking, it costs $29 for self parking and $34 for valet. The price is extremely high and unfair, there is no such price even in San Francisco or San Diego downtown. We parked on the nearby street with the sing "No parking from 2am to 4am daily", people told they never saw the tickets there, so we took the risk and saved $90 during our 3 days stay. Minus one star - hotel and rooms condition, everything looks good, but very pretty old, looks like they never made a renovation. I believe the hotel on that rate should keep things up to date.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

Wouldn't be my first choice.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel but the hotel photos fooled us. It looks like nothing like the pictures. The lobby was gorgeous but we weren't staying in the tower. They put us off to the side where it was two floor building and the hotel didn't tell us there wasn't an elevator so we had to carry our very heavy luggage up the stairs. NO VIEW OF ANYTHING. Our room was freezing, the shower was dirty and there was dust everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake, Utah

Weekend Getaway

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The patio and location is awesome...right on the water.
Cons: The bar could stay open a little later than 11 on weekends.
Location: Close to the beach, we rented Harley's and drove the coast on them, downtown in the Gas Lamp District is a blast!
The staff was great and friendly. Loved the location. Right on the water and convenient to all the activities we had planned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle wa

Great location . 1 mile from the ocean

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Had a deck looking over the beautof hotel grounds and mission bay . Walked to Starbucks for coffee and watched bull dogs ride skateboards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent property; not great.

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Exterior is pleasant, nice landscaping. Concierge service was very good; very friendly and helpful.
Location: Sea World minutes away, as well as Mission Beach.
I enjoyed my stay but I can't say it's relatively better than other Hyatt properties or other resort hotels. I can see paying a resort fee if you get something for it but I didn't see anything that would have been considered an amenity other than free Wi-Fi which is not exactly a huge differentiator anymore. For example, at other hotels you might have a newspaper outside your door, a robe, a microwave, a shuttle or something of added value. Nothing here, just an additional charge and the rooms are quite adequate but nothing special. Otherwise, it was just fine.