Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kitty from Los Angeles

A nice place to stay steps away from the beach.

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: I liked the costumer service - Tod made me feel welcomed and the property's warmth is very relaxing and secured.
Cons: A hairdryer - The bathroom of my junior travelers suite did not have one :/
Location: The location is fantastic! there are plenty of places to eat (healthy) and you can walk and explore small shops and restaurants in the area.
I booked this after a business trip to Carlsbad and I couldn't have made a better choice. The travelers suite is enough for if you are not traveling solo and may be even suitable for two. I really like the kitchenette and the sea inspire bedroom decorations. It felt home like and relaxing...I plan to comeback with friend during summer and book a bigger suite; this is the ideal stay if you enjoy the ocean a few steps away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Francis from SoCal

Mostly upgraded Hotel near beach, and restaurants

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Location!!! Steps to beach and good Restaurants. Parking was no problem. Grounds were nice.
Cons: Shower was from 1950s. No shower drain cover. Big cracks in shower. Large refrigerator and stove in small room was different???
Location: Beach access is across small street. Next to old town Carlsbad. Easy walk to everything.
Location great! Most of Hotel has been upgraded, my room had been yet. Was fooled by photos. Would only stay again in upgraded rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from whittier, ca

Felt like a Hawiian getaway!

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: I loved that I felt like I was far away in Hawaii with all the palm trees. Everyone was so friendly and happy, including every guest there!
Cons: The one night we went into the jacuzzi it was a little on the cooler side, wished it would have been warmer.
Location: Perfect location! Everything is in walking distance and the beach is right across the street.
From the moment you walk into this "mini paradise", you feel like you are in Hawaii. This newly renovated hotel has rooms for every situation. With it just being my sister mom and I for this trip we decided on the Mini Luxuary Suite, which had a king size bed, couch bed and a full sized applianced mini kitchen. We were right up stairs from the pool and a perfect location in my opinion. There was a cute little Dutch Door we left open almost the entire time we were there. But my favorite part of the room was te huge jacuzzi tub and also the massive 3 head shower. The room was newly renovated and I just love what they have done with the place. We have been walking by this resort for many years (as we normally stay at a pricier hotel down the street), but this year we devoted to give this place and try and now we are hooked. We will be coming back here next year (maybe sooner) for our annual Carlsbad visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Awesome location. I had outdated room seemed dirty

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Cons: Room was very dated & not cleaned well!
Location: Lots to do around it. Can walk everywhere!
Loved everything but the room I was in. It was old & dirty.. Location was amazing & set up was too. Staff was very friendly & helpful at all times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Poppa K

Great location, super friendly staff

Posted Jun 10, 2013
The staff at the hotel-- front desk, cleaning crew-- were all super friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic-- right across the very unbusy street to the beach (feels more like a sidewalk). The beach here is awesome-- great waves for boogie boards, lots of room for people. The surf might be a bit heavy for little kids (mine are 8-12). We were here in June, and it was a bit chilly and overcast, but the water kept us warm once we got used to it. We got a two bedroom deluxe room with a king and a queen bed and a pullout couch (we have 4 kids), and it was nice. The living room was under-equipped with only one couch for 6 people, but everything was cozy. The kitchen was nice, 6 full sets of dishes, full fridge, microwave, stove, oven, etc. The pool and hot tub were pretty crowded in the evening, so we didn't go, but we went to it in the morning and it was clean and warm. I wish I had known they have boogie boards there that you can borrow for free, plus beach towels. It's very near to a lot of restaurants and the beach town shops you'd expect. It's not super fancy here, but it has a very relaxing feel and they make you feel taken care of. At $400/night for this room on a weekend, it was probably $100-$150 more than I would have thought would be the "right price" for the room, but I don't regret the money-- we have great memories from the place and the hotel had a lot to do with it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruth from London, UK

Budget oasis

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: location, underfloor heating in bathroom, and fires out in the seating/ smoking area at night
Cons: noisy fridge freezer work us every time the motor kicked in
Location: could not have been better - a few steps from the beach, easy to find, and near the shops -little need to use the car
Everything about this resort was wonderful -we could not find a fault, until we got settled in our budget room. The table flaps did not work, the kitchen area lights were on a sensor so if we did not move they went out.I must say though, there were plenty of other lights which made it good to work in. The fridge/ freezer was very noisy and we both got little sleep as it clonked its way through the night. We were right beside an outside gate, and every time somebody went through there it banged behind them- especially the staff when they arrived at 6.30-7am- the whole room shook. Parking on site is very limited and tight but there is ample free street parking behind. Due to the location I would be happy to go back there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by YZ MAMA from Seattle, WA

Can't wait to get back here!

Posted Dec 19, 2012
Pros: beautiful rooms and bathrooms, firepits!
Cons: parking
Location: Amazing beach and restaurant access!
From Check in to check out my stay was an unexpected pleasure! Great rooms, and amazing beach access. Love being right in the middle of downtown without the stuffiness of a big chain hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nhel from West Covina

Escapade

Posted Nov 20, 2012
Pros: Bonfire
Cons: Bed
Location: Reasonable
Hotel is definitely nice but the quality of the bed is poor. The spring hurts. Also the carpet lightly stinks
3 out of 5
by Amac from Portland, OR, USA

Not as great as it appears online.

Posted Apr 7, 2012
Pros: The outside landscaping.
Cons: The smallness of the room and the lack of upkeep.
Location: Location is great, right across from the beach!
We had a tough time with their 90 day cancellation policy and not the most professional response to it. Our room had a broken window and the room is much smaller than it appears online. It isn't bad but it isn't as great as it appears online.