Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Riverside County, CA

Excellent location near Shelter Island restaurants

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Price through Expedia was 12 dollars lower than we were quoted at desk, so go through "Cheaphotels.com!" The location was the best part.
Cons: Given the age of motel and limited space, not much; what I wished we had had was a place to sit outdoors to drink coffee and read.
Location: Easy access to downtown, beaches, Coronado, King Tut exhibition at Balboa Park, a movie at the Ken Theatre, delicious seafood a block away.
We booked for 2 nights then needed to come in one night early; this may have caused staff a problem because our first room was not good: too noisy, TV was new but we were told to figure out how to use the equipment and find the stations; people could see into the room. We asked for a different room, and this was an interior room (205), and it was perfect!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom idaho

Sufficient Accomodations

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Allowed my dogs for a fee.
Location: Great location near the water. Easy access.
Wonderful staff. Clean room, but needs updating. Bed was very comfortable. Other guests were a little loud and noisy all night and into the morning hours.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson, AZ

Great Pt. Loma location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Make it clear that a damage deposit is required.
Location: Walkable to Pt. Loma Seafood (one of the best) and to Shelter Island.
We have stayed here before because of its location close to the marinas and restaurants which are within easy walking distance. It is an older hotel which has been updated since our last stay. It can be a bit noisy as it is on Roscrans, a busy street. Was surprised that a $50 damage deposit was required at check in. This was not mentioned on Expedia. The room was small but clean and everything worked. This is a great spot to explore San Diego from and the price is right.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

OK for a place to sleep for a few hours

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: It was reasonably priced, near the airport and a decent room. While it was obvious it was an older motel, it was was fairly well maintained and clean.
Cons: The bed was hard and uncomfortable. After sleeping in it for a few hours, I felt like I had been beaten up.
Location: N/A - we checked in, slept for 6 hours, checked out and went back to the airport.
We needed a room while on a 12 hour layover in San Diego on our way home from Hawaii. The rates at the Point Loma were the best we could find in the vicinity of the airport. All in all, not bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katrinafrom hanford california

great value

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
cute cozy room at a more than fair price
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom s

Never stay here again

Posted Jan 12, 2015
The wifi didn't work my entire stay . Management knew there was a problem but never rectified. My first night the ice machine didn't work the office told me to go across the street to the Ramada to get some!! The Ramada told me to tell them to stop sending people over there. Parking very tight,my room was on the ground floor next to the office, noisy early in the morning when maid arrives
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Public Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I wish to thank you for taking the time to write us a review We recommend all of our guests comment on their hotel experience because it give us the opportunity to grow as a hotel and address any potential issues. Thank you so much for notifying the staff that the wi-fi was not working; as a result we were able to respond and fix this issue as quickly as possible. I am happy to say that there is great wi-fi signal through-out the entire hotel and that while most hotels charge for wi-fi, ours is completely free! Also, I would like to apologize for the ice machine not working properly during your stay and for bringing it to our attention so that we were able to get it up and running again to the satisfaction of our customers. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. In the highest regard, Public Relations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Scottfrom Santa Cruz

Disappointing digs at Pt. Loma Inn

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
I booked a suite through Hotels.com. Before check-in I was told they didn't have a suite and I would be upgraded to a room at another property. Instead I was offered an "upgrade" from a queen to a king bed and stuffed into a very small room without a comfortable chair. With holiday crowds in town it was too late to find alternative accommodations. I was told I would be contacted by the manager regarding this but that never occurred. I feel I got a "bait-and-switch" deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice location. Close to the harbor and airport.

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Give guests towels! If a guest asks for towels, just give them! These were cheap towels as it was. When the room is made, give fresh towels!
Location: San Diego and the surrounding area has many things: Balboa Park, the zoo, museums, the beach, it is endless
Good location for quick I 5 and I 8 access, harbor and local beaches. The parking is terrible. Very few spaces and tight and difficult to maneuver. The room was fine. Small but I don't spend much time in the room. It was a nice shower, no tub. TV with cable. A microwave. No fridge. There was a small window but not view. It suited my purpose just fine. All the employees except one were very friendly. They did not have knowledge of the area and could not make suggestions for dining, entertainment etc. One employee seemed very upset when I asked for towels. I received one towel and that was an ordeal. She also made me move my car from a spot I had parked in for 5 nights that the other employees said was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not much asked for, not much provided.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean the floors, need better parking.
Location: Airport and Point Loma.
Old hotel format. Clean sheets, clean bath, dingy walls and dirty floor. TV worked and so did the heater. Near airport just to crash for night. OK. Little sound insulation, but the neighbors tried to be considerate. For a low cost place that gets you to the gate early, it works. The place seemed safe and was not rooms by the half hour, which I thought it might have been.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great price for a last minute nights sleep!

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had to stay overnight in a last minute trip. The price was perfect. The hotel staff was quick to process me in and they were very friendly. The room was a good size and clean.