Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammy from Chandler, AZ

They need to update their pics - remodeled rooms

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Price, Staff, Quality of Room, Location
Cons: They need to update their pictures online and let people know if they are getting an updated room or one that is not yet updated.
Location: Right near the bay, eateries, shops, laid back bars. We had other plans but there is a lot to do in Point Loma!
Based on the pics online, I didn't expect it to be very nice. We just needed a place to lay our head at night and it was close to where we planned to be most of our trip and had a great price. I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival, the exterior looked fresh and clean. Staff who checked us in was VERY pleasant and nice. She explained that many of the rooms had been renovated and that our room was one of them. I was floored when we entered our room. The floor was wood plank tile, fresh paint, granite countertop in in the kitchenette, new sink, small glass cooktop, new stainless steel fridge, couple of dishes and utensils for cooking small meals, updated bathroom with new tub / tile surround, and granite counter, Oh and large flat screen TV w/ cable. When I walked back out to the car, I just had to drop into the front lobby and make the suggestion that they should immediately update their photos of their rooms! Mom in law's room was also updated. When you expect outdated style, and somewhat dingy furnishings and then enter the room(s) we had it's very exciting. The only negative, and this has nothing to do with the hotel, since it is on a relatively busy street, you should expect to hear some noise. We expected that and it wasn't a lot of noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Close to airport and downtown San Diego

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Friendly hotel staff but the room was very small. Very clean and in a good location
1 out of 5
by John from Arizona

Not worth the money

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Nice name -- that is all they have going for them at the moment
Cons: Change the management and completely overhaul the way the business is run.
I cannot recommend Point Loma Inn to anyone. I was in San Diego for two weeks. For the first week, I booked a "suite" at this motel. Unfortunately, the reservation was prepaid, so I could not simply turn around and walk away after the very first disappointing night. My "suite" could not be called that by any stretch of imagination. A dark, depressing room with old, filthy furniture. Rooms are cleaned only every other day or so. The towels are simply disgusting. The so-called "breakfast" consists of muffins and peeled hard-boiled eggs placed on the counter in the motel's tiny reception/office. The WiFi is so bad, you can hardly send or receive a short text email. Not enough parking for all guests and staff. After the week was up, I simply crossed the street to the nearby Ramada and stayed the second week there. It was even slightly cheaper than Point Loma Inn, but everything was so much better! I had a clean, bright room with a balcony, new comfortable furniture, real high-speed internet, ample parking, very nice sit-down breakfast, including yogurt, cereal, waffles, fruit, etc. DO NOT STAY AT POINT LOMA INN.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Everything
Location: Right on the water with great view
A lovely place well run and very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Art from Dallas, TX

Good for the price

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: Clean rooms, friendly staff,
Cons: The beds could be more comfortable, TV reception could be better
Location: Not a lot to do nearby, shady characters walking around after 10PM
I came here on a moment's notice for work and ended up at this hotel thanks to Expedia's flight + hotel package. Great room for the price, but I wouldn't pay more than $50 a night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tiffany

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Rome

Smells

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: The cheapest price in the location.
Cons: Maintenance and laundry needs to be cleaner. How can you offer a person stained sheets to sleep on. I was kind of offended
Location: Location was close to the places I wanted to be at.
First I pull up and can't find a parking spot. Circle the block, park in their reserved spot until I seen someone drive off. Get to the room and it smells like old water. The whole time the room smells like this until we use cologne or body spray then it comes back. Burn holes in the covers, weird stains on the sheets. The bed was pretty bouncy. Cable channels is good selection. When I was reading list of charges for items the come up missing they want to charge $500 for a tv. I'm talking about tube tvs that they done even make anymore. They suck more electricity than their worth. I thought that was funny. Source of the smell was the bathroom. It look good until u look under the sink. Pipes was crusty and just dirty. Opening windows would let flying insects in. Microwave and fridge came in handy. Watching tv was fun. I
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 15, 2013
I was very pleased with the point loma Inn during our visit to Sea World. Aarti at the front desk is very nice and helpful, the room was clean and the beds comfortable, and having breakfast as part of the stay is a plus if you want to get an early start without having to think about going elsewhere for breakfast. We had no problem finding parking both nights, even though the place seemed to be at full capacity. Some reviews complain about the breakfast, but this is a clean, budget-friendly motel with a great location. I think their breakfast is good for the price; it’s very nice to have hard-boiled eggs to get some protein in the morning. I also liked that most of the people there were families with kids (like us). If you are traveling within a budget and need a clean, safe place to sleep, this is a great option.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by rita from san bernardino

close to family event

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
arrived at hotel the pictures on site are not what you get only half of the hotel remodeled room was smelly the pull out sofa was filthy the toilet paper was dirty in the bathroom smelled like urine it was disgusting ask for money back and went across the street to another hotel worst place I have ever seen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Above and Beyond Expectations

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Service, rooms, staff
Location: Fishing right across the street, seafood, italian, mexican restaurants walking distance
The hotel and staff are both amazing my child was sick. We taxied to the hotel the general manager took me in his car on his time to the pharmacy. Aarti the morning clerk brought me hot milk to my room the maids were awesome. My room was spotless everyday I highly recommend this hotel anyone wanting a hotel close to SeaWorld, the beach, and by fine restaurants. Once again thank you Frank and Aarti for an amazing stay I will be back.