Ratings based on 3,681 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

A nice place to get away!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Pool and view rooms are great and comfortable!
Cons: More variety at hotel restaurant! Cheaper parking!
Location: Close to ocean, Sea World, water sports, Zoo and airport aren't too far away!
We love it here especially if we get a good deal! Pool is salt water, within walking distance to the ocean, sea world and a couple of places to eat!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victorville, ca

Sits on the marina.2 miles from sea world.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Bathtub was dirty and room was muggy. Sea World one day trip. Not worth the money. Parking at Dana was tight and overpriced. Resort fee ridonkulous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Lovely place

Posted Sep 27, 2014
It was a nice place; we enjoyed our stay. The parking is way over priced in my opinion! Nice pools! Not totally crazy about one of the front desk staff members
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

there's better hotels out there

Posted Sep 27, 2014
The rooms are small, the floor was filthy! The pools were nice and the location was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reno nv.

Nice hotel, it is with-in 10 minutes to everthing

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: awesome landscape and a great view from the room.
Cons: Attention to detail.
Location: great location, beaches, shopping, sporting venues, places to eat every thing just minutes away
Staff is great 2 very good restraunts on property. Staff a little lax on details this visit. no pool towels, room service trays not being picked up. Nothing major or to keep us from coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stay Classy San Diego

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The main pool was gorgeous. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Food was ok at the firefly not the best Calamari as it was quite chewy.
Cons: Charging guests to park $20 a day. Didn't know about this charge booking and i think overnight guests shouldn't be charged.
Location: Great location. Next door to Sea World and 15mins from San Diego Zoo.
Stayed here with my toddler last week. Directions to the hotel were pretty straight forward as we drove up from LA where we were staying. Hotel was clean and well maintained and the staff were polite. However be warned if you drive to the Dana they will charge you $20 a night to park your car. This wasn't mentioned in the Expedia ad when i booked. After debating it they charged me $10 a night but still to charge paying guests to park at the hotel seems unreasonable to me as once you pay hotel tax and the parking charges you can be $50+ less well off. Facilities in the hotel were nice. The firefly restaurant was nice to eat in although the food was good not great. The main pool near the firefly is awesome and far better than the tropical pool which is ok but not as pretty as the main pool. There is a fridge and microwave in your room so if you're staying a few days and don't fancy eating out you can always eat in your room. Location is very central we drove to San Diego zoo which was only 15mins drive away. And the Dana is very close to Sea world which it offers a shuttle for guests to and from there. We didn't use that as we had booked tickets for sea world for another day when we weren't staying. All in all i'd recommend this hotel but they need to either make it much clearer about the parking charges or waive them completely as it seems ridiculous to charge guest to park when you can't access the car park without a room key anyway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Tired hotel in dire need of updates!

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The workers were friendly and helpful.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated. New drywall on the walls to replace the water damage, update the bathtubs and fixtures. Overall updates to the rooms.
Location: In close proximity to downtown San Diego, Pacific Beach and La Jolla. Highly recommend spending a day at Coronado Beach and a day in La Jolla.
The workers are fantastic, helpful and friendly. The hotel rooms are more like a motel, very tired and in dire need of updates. The bathroom walls had a lot of old water damage that was not properly repaired, the A/C is a window mount A/C that is mounted permanently into the wall, the tub had old rust stains and mildew in it. The Dana is fine if you are expecting at best a 3 star facility but when I booked it the rating was a 4 star and this place is no where near a 4 star resort. Nice people, the rooms weren't dirty but they were old and needed updates badly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh...probably won't go back.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The pools looked nice.
Cons: Read my review
Location: There is a nice walking path on the bay line.
We stayed 3 nights and 4 days at this resort. First of all there is a fee for EVERYTHING, so don't think that you are done with paying for your stay after you book a room. They have this lame daily resort fee that you must pay (uuuhmmm what did I just pay in my daily room rate?) and parking fees and other stupid fees. It was VERY annoying. They were about to make me pay for local calls but I put up a stink about it because it is CLEARLY stated that local calls are free and a part of your "resort fee". LORD. Serious rip off. The room and facility itself were pretty nice. They made us think we were getting upgraded to a nice room with a bay view. What they don't tell you is locals party ALL FRICKIN NIGHT LONG on the bay front. Hecka loud and very annoying. If you want a quiet peacful stay don't ask for bayview. Also, if you stay on the weekends there are weddings on the bayfront. Very LOUD and VERY crowded. Not fun to have your room right under all the comotion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice place but expect to pay extra

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Cons: It would be nice if they served drinks at the pool.
The hotel and grounds were great! Nice restaurant's and good food. On the downside make sure you read the find print. There is a $14.00 per day resort fee and if you have a car that will be an additional $20.00 per day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Overall we were satisfied

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Great location, not far from the beach!! We paid extra for a view, our room didn't have a balcony or a patio and all we could see out of our only window was some tree branches, our door faced the parking lot. They were gonna charge $20 for on site parking which is crazy, but they waived the fee for us after mentioning how absurd that was. friendly staff!! Room was plenty big, we rented paddle boards which was nice, and the kuerig coffee maker was great with flavored creamer!! Overall it was a nice place!!