Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire. UK

Small hotel, excellent location. No frills.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Hotel was small, quiet, comfortable, excellent location and friendly staff. Breakfasts were substantial and rooms were fully equipped and clean.
Cons: Breakfast room small, needs extending somehow. Our room was on 3rd floor but had to use stairs from 2nd floor. wouldn't have been acceptable if infirm
Location: Theatre Fenice 2 mins from Hotel Dell'Opera. Boat (Vaporetto) to Burano. Experience Cafe Florian in St Marks Square. Rialto Bridge and Doges Palace.
Hotel Dell'Opera. Quiet hotel, excellent location, 2 minutes from St Marks Sq. Rooms clean, comfortable and well equipped. A good 3 star standard. (don't expect 4 star). Took advantage of small roof terrace most evenings. Could have been crowded if other residents had done the same.The honesty bar was a nice idea and we took advantage of it. Free Wi Fi was much appreciated. No problem with mobile signals. Staff very helpful. We went in Aug and although hotel was located on small canal there was no smell or mosquitos in spite of what we had been led to believe. The breakfast room was small and only just accommodated everyone. Breakfasts were good with everything you needed if you wanted to eat heartily. Many good restaurants and osterias close by (one even next door). Teatro Fenice just round the corner was well worth a visit. Island of Burano a nice way to spend a day. 1,2 or 3 day vaporetto ticket very good value to enable visits to all sights. Worth going to evening concert if that's your taste, we went to Opera arias, excellent tenor and soprano. Gondola ride expensive but if sharing with another 2 or 4 (maximum 6 to gondola) it was worth the experience. Can get quite congested on small canals. There is so much to do and see we will probably return to Venice. The most popular sites are very busy but you can get tickets to skip queues from tourist info at St Marks Sq. Tip: we did some research and had a list of what we wanted to see. it certainly helped and saved time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McAllen, TX

Overall good but.......

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Overall good. Very basic. Room furniture needs to be updated. Bathroom was very modern. Staff very helpful. A/c was great. Wi-fi ok but needed to enter a user name and password every time we came back to the room. It would have been great to have a coffee maker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good Hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to St Mark's Square where you can visit the Basilica and the Doges Palace. The Rialto Bridge was not too far either.
The hotel was within easy walking distance of St. Mark's Square and a good location for sightseeing. The staff were very polite, accommodating and very helpful. Our room was overlooking the canal where gondolas were frequently passing and it was a most enjoyable experience to be able to hear the singing and watch the procession from our window. The breakfast was excellent - every imaginable food to enjoy even a bottle of Prosecco was available which was a very pleasant touch!! We had a very spacious room and the beds were comfortable. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Loved it!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
I didn't expect much from this hotel prior to getting there. The price was such a good deal and with Venice being so over priced, what can my $200 (plus) get? Well, I got luxury! I might be a tad bit exaggerating, but it was a very nice room for the price. The room and bathroom was big and comfortable with the view of the canal. The bed wasn't fluffy, but it was comfortable enough to lull us to sleep for the night. We went to Venice with a toddler, who was accommodated by the hotel staff. There was already a playpen for him when we walked in the room. There was still a lot of space for him to run around even with the playpen and king size bed plus a sofa. The staff was very helpful and courteous. I accidentally left some $ in the room and it was still there when we got back. The location was 5 minutes walk from taxi bus, which was important considering the water taxi price. The location was close to San Marco Square, which was the best place to go to for me. It was also close to the nicer shops and a few steps from several restaurants. If you stay, go up to the very top floor - the Honesty Bar. It has an interesting view of other buildings (wish I could've spent some time up there, but didn't because of our toddler). The breakfast served was good. My only complaint was that they only served the American coffee. I would have loved cappuccino and/or an espresso machine. I somewhat expected that from an Italian Hotel. I highly recommend the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from buffalo, NY

Great location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: wi fii was weak.
Location: Excellent location
Beautiful hotel. Gondola below our window. Very nice staff and good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nancy Wemhoff from Chicago, Illinois. USA

Convenient location.

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel staff provided many tips for accessing water buses which were very helpful. The concierge was most helpful to provide directions as needed. I enjoyed the variety at the breakfast buffet. Over all I enjoyed my stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maria from Ireland

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location of this hotel is excellent. Central yet not in a noisy area. Walking distance to Rialto, St. Mark's Square, L'Accademia, passing through very nice areas with lovely shops and restaurants. About 5 minute walk to Vaporetto stop. The hotel itself is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Room spacious and beautifully decorated in traditional style, yet with a modern feel also. Our room had a balcony that overlooked a small canal. Gondolas passed by, with their singing gondoliers and accordion players, which was a bit of a highlight! Of note, this was not intrusive or annoying but added something nice to the experience. (this was intermittent, and with closed balcony door barely noticeable, and never at night nor early morning. ) Breakfast was great, good selection, and with lovely cakes! Staff polite, friendly, helpful. This was our third time in Venice. Would definitely return to this hotel for overall ambiance and location. Thanks Hotel Dell'Opera :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by koth from canada

good size room

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
was very in press on the size of the room it was big for the price u pay for....over all was very happy with this hotel i will be back forsure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!! Comfortable room would stay again

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Lovely hotel would definitely recommend and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D. from England.

Better than expected!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: Breakfast was basic, but did the job, and was included.
Location: On side canal, off grand canal. Lovely restaurants nearby, and adjacent to theatre. Short walk from St Marks Sq and water bus.
Really well located. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Lovely room, overlooking canal (although only paid for a classic room)... able to listen to singing gondoliers from bedroom. Great bathroom... All in all, highly recommended. Good wifi included.