Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Loved it!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
I didn't expect much from this hotel prior to getting there. The price was such a good deal and with Venice being so over priced, what can my $200 (plus) get? Well, I got luxury! I might be a tad bit exaggerating, but it was a very nice room for the price. The room and bathroom was big and comfortable with the view of the canal. The bed wasn't fluffy, but it was comfortable enough to lull us to sleep for the night. We went to Venice with a toddler, who was accommodated by the hotel staff. There was already a playpen for him when we walked in the room. There was still a lot of space for him to run around even with the playpen and king size bed plus a sofa. The staff was very helpful and courteous. I accidentally left some $ in the room and it was still there when we got back. The location was 5 minutes walk from taxi bus, which was important considering the water taxi price. The location was close to San Marco Square, which was the best place to go to for me. It was also close to the nicer shops and a few steps from several restaurants. If you stay, go up to the very top floor - the Honesty Bar. It has an interesting view of other buildings (wish I could've spent some time up there, but didn't because of our toddler). The breakfast served was good. My only complaint was that they only served the American coffee. I would have loved cappuccino and/or an espresso machine. I somewhat expected that from an Italian Hotel. I highly recommend the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from buffalo, NY

Great location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: wi fii was weak.
Location: Excellent location
Beautiful hotel. Gondola below our window. Very nice staff and good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!! Comfortable room would stay again

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Lovely hotel would definitely recommend and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D. from England.

Better than expected!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: Breakfast was basic, but did the job, and was included.
Location: On side canal, off grand canal. Lovely restaurants nearby, and adjacent to theatre. Short walk from St Marks Sq and water bus.
Really well located. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Lovely room, overlooking canal (although only paid for a classic room)... able to listen to singing gondoliers from bedroom. Great bathroom... All in all, highly recommended. Good wifi included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from London

Short stay at hotel dell'opera.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: We were very pleased and felt happy there.
Location: Location was very good . All the sights were close by.
Hotel a bit hard to find at first as Venice is a maze best to get a water taxi from san marco . Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good more than enough to eat . Very reasonably priced for a good location close to everything. We would be happy to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Excellent hotel and excellent location. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Aberdeen

Decent hotel, great central location

Posted Feb 19, 2014
For: location; reception staff; cleanliness; roof terrace with honesty bar; fairly large room Against: breakfast buffet is ropey (apparently typical for venice); no tea/coffee making in room; double bed was 2 singles squished together Overall: would be 3.5 if that was an option. nothing major wrong with it, but you couldn't call the hotel itself it great value for the price. there are 2 factors here: one is the "venice effect": it would appear that the whole city can get away with charging a small fortune for averageness; good value is hard to find. the other is location: this hotel is has a great location, in san marco and also handy for academia & rialto - i suspect you are paying for that more than for the condition & facilities of the hotel itself. having said that: the hotel met expectations (apart from the fact it's not possible to get boiling water in your room - that felt cheap) and we had a good stay. Of note: reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful with restaurant tips and transport advice/timetables.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M and T from California

This hotel will not disappoint

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: We found our room to be very comfortable. We liked the renovations as well as the furniture/decor that had been retained from previous decades.
Cons: There is little to improve upon. Rooms were great, breakfast was perfect, service was generous, location was ideal (for low-season)
Location: We were here in low-season (November) and it was perfect but I would not want to be there in heavy tourist season as it's near St Mark's square (busy)
We made a last-minute decision to fly to Venice for the final days of the Art Biennale in mid-November and booked this hotel based on previous reviews and the photos. The hotel did not disappoint us in any way. It was easy (for us) to find the hotel, as we've been to Venice about 5 times and are pretty comfortable navigating the city. We knew that the hotel would be a bit too close to the touristy center of Venice, but in low season we didn't feel any sense of the crowds that make the center of Venice a bit challenging. Yes, you will need to pass through all the little streets with touristy knick-knacks for sale, but this hotel is also located near real neighborhoods where Venetian families reside. Tourists should be advised to explore the less touristy neighborhoods of Venice, to get a good map with a necessary street index. Take good walking shoes and a lightweight umbrella. Many restaurants serve quite mediocre Italian food, so be very choosy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Genevieve from Liverpool

Great location

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Free wifi in room was appreciated!
Very convenient location- only a short walk from vaporetto station and St Mark's square Breakfast basic but of good quality - especially enjoyed the apricot croisssants! Could hear the singers on the Gondalas go past the window to add to the atmosphere Staff had excellent English and were very obliging - they helped with bookings when needed