Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Beautiful Location

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: The bar in reception closes very early, we returned early evening and could not get a drink.
Location: Beautiful location right on the beach. Nice walk along the beach into the old town where there are lovely restaurants
We had a lovely relaxing stay at this hotel. Like other have said the rooms could do with a bit of upgrading but it looks like this is happening. Cannot comment on any of the entertainment as we didn't actually see any although I believe there was some, we just didn't know where it took place. We were staying on a B&B basis and the breakfasts were really good. Overall we had a lovely time here and would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grantham, UK

Great location, great facilities, excellent staff

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: The room decor was old and getting tatty, but you could see other rooms being renovated, so looks like this is being addressed.
Location: It was a short walk down onto the gorgeous beach and only took a twenty minute walk to get down to the old town.
We booked this trip last minute for very little money. It's three stars, so expectations weren't high, It's in a great location, they have great facilities and their staff were excellent. The room was kept spotless and we had a sea view and side view, yes two balconies! The food was adequate and always fresh and hot, with reasonable choice. For what we paid it was outstanding value and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BanburyUK

View of beach from room excellent.

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Excellent location. Easy to get into town-- taxi for disabled, walking for the fit !!
We -4- all enjoyed our New Year stay& are saving for our next visit ? With other relatives!! It was all as I remembered , Great time had by all. Well done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Location and Great Beach

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: The views of sunset and sunrise were superb and location hard to beat
Cons: the advice re courtesy rooms/keeping room on for late check out when late flights - incorrect or vague info given daily.
Location: great location, out the front and you are a short walk to the strip, town and bull ring or via beach to Praia D'Oura or Albufeira Old Town
Great location and ideal for exploring either direction of the coast. Hotel is spacious, split across many levels so you do need to be mobile. Great views from many rooms ( we had #521 with 180 degree sea view) Food was plentiful, staff in the restaurant were the most accommodating and pleasant within the hotel, the reception staff could be surly and vague at times. The pools had plenty of loungers around them and the pool bar staff very friendly. The entertainment was average in the evening, pretty poor daytimes, but we never went to be entertained.
5 out of 5
by ANDREW

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jan

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon UK

Pleasant stay, right on the beach, good pool

Posted Oct 13, 2017
The hotel is pleasant, a little dated in the rooms but that didn't matter, all kept clean, staff constantly using hand sanitiser. Staff on front desk extremely helpful, very friendly, helped with taxis and organised excursions. All inclusive food was average, good variety. Ok selection of alcoholic drinks but no cider. Decent pool, large/deep enough to swim in properly, second outdoor pool & indoor heated pool available. Good amount of sunloungers, but as we went in late September I would imagine there would be insufficient loungers for peak holiday season. Location wise it is great - quiet location but only 5-10 min walk to the main strip with pubs/eateries/clubs. Beach is so so close. Free bus to old town. Entertainment - the usual average hotel evening entertainment (have to be early to get a good seat though), queues for the bar could be very long. And it did lack daytime entertainment - they only did one aquafit class for the week we were there. 3 pool tables (quite often out of order though, but fixed fairly quickly) and other arcade games for a small fee, table tennis and tennis courts were good (just a deposit required for use of bats/racquets). Overall we all had a nice stay - 6 of us in total, my parents (in their fifties) and my sister and I plus husbands (late twenties). I would recommend the hotel, don't expect luxury, but it is still pleasant. It was good out of season, we were always able to sit together as a six for meals, and get loungers by the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertford uk

Hotel with plenty of space nice views.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Space and loction
Cons: Queuing for drinks
Location: Close to strip and old town free bus shuttle.
Really enjoyed our stay at the Auramar, the hotel is dated but don't let it put you off. The rooms were cleaned every day air conditioned with sea view. The food was excellent with so much choice and the restaurant was huge never had to wait for a table. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the one thing we let the hotel down was the long queues at times in the evening for drinks needed extra staff when busy. We loved the space around the pools always spare sun beds. Over all for a three star hotel we thought it was excellent value.
2 out of 5
by Badrudin

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is actually in terrrible shape. The room was dirty and had ants in it. The cleaning was not thorough. Cobwebs on the steps and stains of puke on the steps. Attitude of staff was to say no first before attempting a resolution. There was only ONE staff that was actually helpful. No toiletries were provided. We did NOT get our money's worth from this hotel. The shuttle service to town was good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Extremely rude manager!!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
It was a very disappointing stay! We had a week getaway in Albufiera, location is reasonable, close to loads of restaurants and private access to the beach. However, we found a cockroach in our room. I understand it’s common in Portugal, but the hotel is fairly expensive and that shouldn’t have been the experience. We raised it at the reception and asked to speak to the manager. Initially the manager seemed nice, however his tone quickly changed! He was unapologetic and extremely rude to us. Did not want to even listen, and kept mentioning the hotel follows correct “regulations”. For him to act and speak the way he did to customers is extremely inappropriate. After speaking to several other guests, we realised they too experienced similar situations, some even worse! The other staff were lovely, just a shame the manager is inconsiderate and rude!