Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Juho

Perfect for diving!

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed here for 4 days and couldn't be happier for choosing Red Sea Dive Center as our diving operator. This is a family owned dive center with decades of experience. Our dive master made our dives and also our stay very pleasent. The hotel itself shows sign of wear and tear, however, our room was clean and comfortable and the staff really makes you feel like home. The location is close to diving sites. There are no shops and restaurants in South Beach and we ended up going to Aqaba city center for lunches (totally worth it!). We would definitely go back to Red Sea Dive Center!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kimberly Wi

Nice hotel away from the city

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Nice looking pool and it was great water to swim in. I like the fact it's away from the city. The only thing bad I would say about the facility is for the desolate location it could use some landscape restoration.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Diving Experience

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed the friendliness of the staff.
2 out of 5
by Philippus P from Johannesburg

Mediocre at best

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was a big disappointment. The reviews mention it sets the standard in budget accommodation. Perhaps in summer and perhaps if your sole purpose is diving you don't mind the boring location, the bleak room, the "pre-cooked plastic" breakfast or the general lack of character that it offers. The staff is friendly and helpful enough and gives a sense of a family place but few other redeeming factors are visible. Wont stay there again and can't recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Cons: Breakfast was very inspiring and the sliced white bread was frozen. I have no idea why they didn't serve the local bread.
Clean and new. A great choice if you want to learn to dive.
2 out of 5
by Paul from Newport, MN

Very disappointing

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels
The lady who checked me in, I never caught her name,with the 19 month old son, was/is absolutely phenominal. She spoke great english and was extremely, quick, responsive, and friendly about any need I had. The rest of the staff, not so much. Fortunately, i didnt have many needs/concerns. The biggest problem I had was actually finding the place. The place has no listed address that I am aware of, so GPS was no help thus it took three added hours of driving aimlessly, getting far closer to the Saudi border than I am comfortable with and ultimately arriving too late in the norning to be able to go scuba diving in the Res Sea...which was my sole purpose of going down to Aqaba. Another issue was that none of the elrctric outlets in my room worked. Plus the outlets that were there were different than every other outlet in Jordan that I had encountered, so I needed an adapter for my adapter. After getting a 2nd adapter only to realize my outlets didnt work. So to charge my camera and other electronics i had to connect to the community electric source in the lobby and given all the other devices hooked up, Im assumung mine wasn't the only room with electrical issues. My bed was very uncomfortable and couldnt figure out how to get the AC to work, so instead had to sleep with the unscreened window wide open to let in the cool night air. Overall, the place would have been a complete bust were it not for the warm reception from the unnamed check-in lady.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Excellent services if you are traveling on a lower budget! The rooms were nice and clean, the pool was perfect for the afternoons. The staff are very friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant! The diving is quite affordable, and the diving sites are gorgeous! The instructor was very informative and took pictures of the team while diving. Although the place is not right on the beach, it provides transport to the diving places and the public beach (about 15 min walk form the hotel)
5 out of 5
by C. Gorman from Cairo, Egypt

It doesn't get better than this

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels
The Red Sea Dive Center is a family-owned hotel operated by the two sons of the first licensed scuba diver in Jordan. (Their dad taught the current king how to dive.) Their pride in this family tradition is evident in the well kept hotel, the generous and tasty menu items offered from their convenient kitchen and the excellent scuba instruction offered to their guests. The atmosphere is so laid back that guests can recover from hiking at Petra one day and still dive and enjoy the amazing fish in the Red Sea the next day. The staff kindly arranged for taxi's for us to go into Aqaba for dinner but it was almost hard to leave such a lovely place for one evening. The room was small but we opted for chaise lounges by the pool. The shower was the best we had in Jordan...warm and plentiful. This hotel is well worth the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mosquitos

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels
My roommate and I arrived late and the owner at the front desk was kind enough to make us a snack after having not eaten out entire journey to their hotel. The beds were great but the shower was parallel to the floor so water leaked out everywhere. On top of that there were cracks around the door so Mosquitos and flies got which unfortunately attacked me and my roommate in our sleep. The next day I had big bites all over my body including my face. We ended up switching hotels after the first night and it's been several days since our stay and I still itch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vinyi

Top budget choice in Aqaba

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Great budget place to stay. Excellent dive centre with professional staff. The owner is very helpful. Highly recommend