Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great for diving & snorkelling

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Very relaxing, staff very nice, great diving and snorkelling (even on house reef). Spa great, Trip to secret island excellent. Shark dive fantastic
Cons: Umbrellas needed, drink orders taken, staff staying out of the pool, don't run out of alcohol or basic breakfast offerings. Pool needs work done
Location: 2 1/2 hour drive from Nadi airport, then boat ride to Beqa. Diving / snorkelling is the main drawcard. Village tours available, kayaks & SUP's avail
For a 4 star resort and visiting in the hottest time of the year, there was not one umbrella on the beach or beside the pool. So finding shade to sit under was very limited. Also we have always found it a treat to have wait staff asking you through the day sitting by the pool or even on the beach, if you would like a drink. Not so at Beqa. Even at meal times, you had to go to the bar and order your drinks. Of course they would deliver drinks to your table, but only when you went to the bar yourself. Surely by doing this the owners of the resort are denying themselves so much revenue it's not funny. One night we sat chatting after dinner with another family, and the bar was totally packed up by 9.30pm and the staff were pretty much waiting for us to go back to our bures and call it a night. The manager was rarely on island that we saw, and never really made a point of welcoming anybody. In general the staff were very friendly, spa ladies just beautiful and had great massages and facials. Housekeeping was great, dive and activities staff great. Activities were sometimes a non-event, even if posted on the board. The pool was nice, but needed work. Food generally good. Breakfast was OK. One morning we ordered poached eggs, only to find out they'd run out of bread to toast. The few hot things on offer in bane maries were pretty much the same every day. Diving & snorkelling was excellent, even the house reef for non-divers was great. Kayaks and SUP's available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Our Stay in Beqa Lagoon

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Very local and cultural feeling but had the amenities of comfort! Everything is calm and truly beautiful with the surroundings.
Cons: Clarify happy hour drink prices, hot water spouts in our room was VERY hot. But otherwise it is nearly perfect!
Location: This is fairly isolated and we wanted it that way. Local visits from the children and village were lovely and it's all about the nature.
This is an amazing resort for divers and families who want a range of activities but also a more private and laid back atmosphere that is not touristy. The spa massages are wonderful, our ocean bure was a dream, the food was excellent and the staff is authentically friendly and accommodating. I would go back in a heartbeat. Although I didn't dive this trip due to an ear problem, we kayaked, paddle boarded, snorkeled and did the waterfall hike. This is one of the only places in the world that has regular dives to see tiger and bull sharks. Happy hour is a bit confusing regarding drink prices, but overall, we were in paradise everyday and met so many wonderful families during our week. The office staff, chef, activities staff -- all gracious and competent people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great location, wonderful view

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Very quiet, and very nice. Staff were very helpful. Also, no cash transactions anywhere for anything, all taken care at checkout.
Cons: Hmmm, I'm sure there's something, but nothing is coming to mind at this moment...
Location: Once you are on the island, you're limited to what they offer, but that's lots, daily trips, hikes, scuba dives, we did not lack for choices!
We were welcomed ashore by a crowd of singing staff, and proceeded to lunch, after which, our bags had already found their way to our room. The room was nice, the bed was fantastic. We had a small dipping pool in our little courtyard, which was very nice on the hot afternoons, although I wouldn't have complained if it was a few degrees colder still. The AC worked great, and the food options were so delicious, every day. I enjoyed every meal very much, along with the facilities, and the scuba diving too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Fantastic stay!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: The resort offers free use of kayaks and paddle boards; and you may book incredible snorkeling or diving excursions, or visit the local schools.
We nearly cried when we boarded our boat to return to the mainland from this resort! We felt like family staying at this friendly and beautiful place. The setting is gorgeous, the water stunning, and without cars or crowded conditions, we felt a great sense of peace. The staff is so warm and accommodating, and the grounds lush and serene. We also thought the food was well prepared and beautifully presented.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Great vacation spot!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: The grounds are amazing, the staff is outstanding, the food is terrific and the diving is world class.
Cons: The gift shop was limited, a new one is being built and it they intend to have a greater selection of items.
Location: The resort is located on an island with no roads and no cars. There are waterfall hikes, trips to local villages, fire walking and amazing diving!
Beqa Lagoon Resort can be reached only by boat. It is truly like landing in paradise. We were escorted by dolphins as we crossed Beqa Lagoon and we were welcomed at the beach by singing and guitar playing. The grounds are spectacular, the bures are accessed by way of wooden foot bridges over Koi ponds. The bures are bright and spacious and when you are sitting on your porch you feel like you could be the only ones around. The dining area and bar are open air and the food is excellent! Each day you choose between meat, fish and vegetarian dishes accompanied by soups or salads. You can snorkel or dive on the house reefs right off the beach, sea kayak, paddle board, swim and, of course, head out on the dive boats. The diving is tremendous! The shark dive that is offered is without parallel in my experience. On a single dive I encountered nurse, lemon, blacktip, grey reef, bull and tiger sharks! The reef dives are also outstanding, the variety of hard and soft corals is truly impressive. Our dive boat was accompanied by a pod of humpback whales one afternoon, it was quite the show! I must also mention the staff. They were fantastic! By the end of your vacation they are like family. I can't wait to return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Beautiful location friendly staff... but only 3*

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Location stunning Fantastic snorkelling Friendly staff Relaxing environment The renovated rooms are lovely, spacious, welcoming Comfy big beds
Cons: Unrenovated rooms in serious need of repair Water issues in lots of rooms Food is 'ordinary' and not well cooked, but promoted as being high cuisine
Location: Stunning location - very beautiful Sea life is amazing for snorkelling No activities available outside the resort - very isolated
I have just returned from 5 days at BLR with my two teenage sons. We had expected a 4*+ experience based on the photo gallery on the BLR website, and also on the many very positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Overall we had a fabulous relaxing tropical holiday, once we adjusted our expectations. The Resort is in a poor state of repair. We were initially put in a 2 bedroom bure which was so poor that I asked to be moved. After two requests we were moved to a single room bure that was in much better condition. However even that had problems - the bathroom tap bare trickled, and the plug could not be closed. There were no power points in the bathroom so drying hair or using a shaver had to be done without a mirror. The one towel rail, installed during our stay, was so small that it could barely cope with one towel. But the beds were large and very comfortable, and the room felt spacious and clean and welcoming. The plunge pool had paint peeling off the bottom and was too cold to use. The garden area in front of the bure was lovely, if a little untended. The thatched style roofs that appear in the website photos have all disappeared. I can only guess that they blew away in the cyclone in February, leaving bare roofing iron. Understandable, but surprising that no effort has been made to replace them by July. The swmming pool is pristine, and very inviting, if a little cold at the time of the year. The restaurant/communal space at the front of the resort was in good condition. I
5 out of 5
by Rochelle from Havelock North,New zealand

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
We absolutely love Bequ Lagoon and people they are so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They made us feel like part of the family. We can't wait to go back. Oh and the diving was out of this world!!
5 out of 5
by Delia from Ahwatukee

I will come back again and again!!!

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Spent 4 days in paradise--diving, snorkeling, eating, cultural exposure, fun galore!! The staff were friendly, the food was delicious, the facility was outstanding. I will come back again and again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Diving trip

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
The property is in VERY poor condition with a large amount of resort fixtures that are in desperate need of repair and have obviously been allowed to deteriorate to an unacceptable condition. As the resort in on an island fresh water supply also appears to be a problem as several times the limited supply was cut off and there wasn't any!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Welcoming - A beautiful part of Fiji

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The small size, the personal service and the interaction with the local villages. We felt really welcome.
Cons: We were there over Christmas and so something special could have been organised. eg. Lovo. (we ended up organising our own with the locals later on).
Location: Snorkeling, Local village tours, fire walking, cooking classes.
We stayed for a week and it was beautiful. The welcome on the beach, the location and the mix of tradition was really good. We didn't dive but the snorkeling was also good. From all reports the diving was really good. Loved the people who worked there and also we meet some really friendly guests who it was a pleasure to spend time with on some of the activities. This is the best way to experience Fiji as it isn't just staying in a hotel that could be anywhere. It was a lovely Fijian experience.