Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boones Mill, VA

Disappointed

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The diving shop connected with the condo complex, "friendly divers" was friendly, helpful and close.
This condo complex is about 40-50 years old and it looks it. When we arrived (late November), the timing was not considered "High season". The weeds around the building and all over the property were 12" to 18" tall, concrete is broken, parking lots was mud and pot holes. The whole property needs a face lift.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Spacious rooms

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Beach and large rooms
Cons: Staff should inform guests how to use hot water heater in unit to ensure warm water.
Location: Location is a little far from town (30 minute walk) but there are 5 restaurants near the hotel and you can buy groceries from the supermarket and cook
The snorkeling next to the beach is excellent. Maid service is infrequent as expected in a condo resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Great location, quiet area, close to shops and restaurants
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2015
The beach was ok. I kept saying to myself "I bet this used to be beautiful". Compared to other places that we snorkeled this was very nice. The pool was awful but not really necessary here. We had a not so good room. It was just adaquate. Would have been nicer to be able to pick our room. We had a good time but the room was not the greatest F17.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dingmans Ferry, PA

Convenient location on the water

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: You can walk right out your door to the water where there is excellent diving and snorkeling.
Cons: Clean the pool.
Location: Dive, snorkel, mangrove tours, great restaurants...
Convenient location on the water just north of town. We rented three units for seven people and the decor and quality of the air conditioning varied greatly. The front desk was friendly and helpful but the pool was murky and housekeeping (2 times/week) was basic. If you are looking for a luxury stay go elsewhere, but if you go to Bonaire to snorkel or dive (as we did) the Sand Dollar is a good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

The complex is by Bari reef

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: It was clean, spacious and close to a decent snorkel and dive site
Cons: I would suggest that the kitchen cupboards could be improved given the asking price per unit
Location: Diving and snorkelling
Sand Dollar is composed of seven 2story apartment buildings having one, two or three bedroom units. It is difficult to assess all the units because each is privately owned and is subject to individual tastes in furnishing etc. We had was a one bedroom unit. It was spacious, clean and well maintaned. There is a restaurant on site which serves lunch and dinner. A dive site offers everything a diver needs. All in all we would definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Beautiful setting

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Reef, grounds
Cons: Working refrigerators, outlets in bathroom
Loved location, quietness, fantastic diving reef. Was outdated, no blow dryer or outlets in bathroom, refrigerator not working correctly. Had free internet service about 5 out of 7 days.Loved cooking breakfast and kitchen facilities. Loved private patio. Beautiful birds, iguanas wandering around. Sea turtles behind hotel. Would return but would check out appliances right away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Some upside but too much down!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The good things have already been covered by others but I will NEVER go back to this resort
Staff was very nice but they have to be since they are dealing with so many complaints. While I was there, the shower area stopped draining, the wireless did not work at all and we ended up locked up in the room for almost an hour as there was no way out when the doorknob refused to work. The beds were very uncomfortable as well and sitting outside for wireless meant getting eaten alive by mosquitos! I have stayed in Bonaire many times and this was my worst trip ever in terms of having to deal with a resort. Pre communications were slow and repetitive as they never seemed able to answer all questions in one e-mail and we ended up getting horribly over charged for the truck rental they arranged for us. We also overpaid for the room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks county, PA

Not a bad place but there's better choices

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Sand Dollar has steps to great snorkeling. This was very convenient at the end of a day to just jump in and relax. Units have a full kitchen.
Cons: Spruce up common areas, hardscaping, landscaping, etc. Build a resort-like terrace area around the pool, so it doesn't look quite so ghetto.
Location: Good restaurants close-by including Rum Runners, Spice Beach, between-2-buns, and the ice cream place next door. a few minutes from town.
Basically a nice place, but the common areas are a bit run-down and the pool and restaurant area are dated. We used the pool once, it was a bit dirty. The common areas do NOT have a "resort" feel as does Eden or Plaza Resort but to be fair, the Sand Dollar units are condos, not a hotel. The unit itself was clean, the AC worked (although a bit loud since the fan setting worked on med and high only). The patio screen door was off its track, which I notified office of and it was not fixed while we were there (a week). I didn't care enough to go back to the office to complain, just didn't want to be responsible for whatever caused it. Shower drain was very slow, didn't bother telling office. I liked it BUT I can't recommend it since I've seen Plaza Resort and Eden, which have a resort look and feel. I'm sure there is a cost difference, but I will consider that when we return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Albuquerque, NM

Quiet condo on a great dive site

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Quiet, spacious rooms, fully equipped
Cons: Maid service every other day rather than twice a week
Location: Great location on one of the best dive spots on island (Bari Reef)
Our unit was very spacious and comfortably furnished. We loved the large screened in patio. If you opened the front door you had a breeze through the unit and we did not need the A/C. Because it is a condo and some unit we owner occupied it was very quiet. The downside was that there was little social activity but you can walk to clubs like Spice or Rum Runner. We loved the onsite dive shop run by Dive Friends. Highly recommend.