Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will come back

Posted May 10, 2017
Excellently run place, friendly and helpful staff, good for partying and socializing Frendz is a 1min walk from either the beach or the main road. They offer many activities and have a bar perfect for meeting people. Even when staying in in the evening, i never experienced the music as annoying and it is always turned off at 11pm and people move on to one of the nearby beach bars Had planned to stay for 3 nights, stayed for a week. Will happily come again
4 out of 5
by dan from los angeles

great people great time

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
people who complain about hostels probably shouldnt stay at hostels.. there meant for the younger crowd who likes to party definitely not for your family and children. With that said place was great. great people breakfast was free the private rooms were plenty big with AC and a Refrigerator. You can also charge the drinks from the beach bars to your room which is very convenient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A decent fun place to stay

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
I just booked one night at the Frendz Resort at the end of my stay in Boracay. Check-in was very friendly. I had a private room and it was a good size with a private bathroom. It's a cozy little "resort" for the backpacker on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio tx

nice 50 yard walk off the beach

Posted Oct 29, 2014
First night they put me in the over flow room due to over booking. then the next two nights in the room I paid for. The over flow rooms are not as nice but it's about a 50 yard walk off the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Dmytro

Very good hotel for his price

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Wifi in rooms
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Great Backpackers

Posted Oct 16, 2012 on Hotels
Very fun place to stay and although it is mainly aimed at younger visitors it also caters for the older crowd. Some of the younger too cool for school hippies gave me the poo's. Sitting around trying to be a little to cool listening to Mob Marley was very cool yes! But I was doing it 25 years ago, and it is nothing new and certainly not very new or cool anymore. The staff are exceptionally polite and there to make you feel welcome and cared for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hanoi, Vietnam

Friendly backpacker hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2011
This hotel is basic. Its overall structure is a cluster of huts in native materials. At some time it must have been charming, but maintenance has been haphazard and the general impression is of an establishment in decline. It could do with a major renovation. Rooms have a bed and fan, AC which works more-or-less, and a simple bathroom. Lighting is barely enough for reading (even in broad daylight). There is a feel of mustiness and damp. Sound insulation is absent and there is little space between the clusters. If you have inconsiderate neighbors, then you are likely to be woken during the night (in our case by heated arguments and some fairly colorful language occasionally). The hotel is located about 250 m from the sea and cool sea breezes do not penetrate beyond the fringe of densely packed (and frequently unattractively constructed) resorts, restaurants and small businesses along the seashore. Hence, in Frendz Resort, the air is still and the humidity and heat sometimes overbearing. Access to the beach is via a narrow lane between buildings. Water drips into the lane from overhead roof drains and airconditioner pipes. One establishment bordering the lane hoses out its kitchen and leaves pools of dirty water on the path. In spite of my negative comments, I would like to stress the friendliness and warmth of the family running Frendz resort. They make a lot of effort to please guests, serve great meals at reasonable cost, and provide free WiFi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location - Friendly Staff

Posted Mar 16, 2011 on Hotels
This place was a great place to stay. The bamboo huts really add to the ambiance. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. There is a common area with secured wi-fi access, a pool table, a long picnic table, a bar (where you can charge drinks to your room) and food available 24/7. Frendz is in a good location - about a 5 minute walk to the beach. Staff is available 24/7, and after midnight they lock the gate. Just ring the bell and someone will let you in. The bamboo huts are a nice touch. They are difficult to maintain, but worth the "experience". Sound does travel, so if you are traveling with a girl/boy-friend, you may be able to hear your neighbors and they may be able to hear you.. Overall it's a great place to meet other travelers, a great place to stay, friendly staff and close to the beach. Side note - avoid the island hopping tours - Take the Ariel's Point cliff diving tour - It's 1200 pesos per person, and well worth it! The staff can set it up for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada and Australia

Very Friendly at Frendz

Posted Mar 13, 2011 on Hotels
My partner and I spent 2 weeks in the Philippines starting off in Malapascua scuba diving then we made our way to Boracay where we stayed at Frendz. The wife Rebecca was extremly friendly when we checked in - our names were on a Welcome board and they gave us a complimentary beer. We booked one of the bungalow rooms and found it to be really spacious and clean - very simple accommodation but perfect. The water was luke warm but not hot but it was hot enough for us not to mind the cooler shower. The only thing that was a bit of an annoyance was the Rooster next door that never shuts up. You get used to him and eventually you don't notice him in the morning after awhile. The staff are extremly friendly and the common area is a good place to hang out and meet everyone else. It's about a 2 min walk to the beach which is really convienient and the security is pretty good so no need to worry about that. I really recommend this place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manila/Vancouver

Frendz Hostel at Boracay - good for solos/families

Posted Jan 3, 2011 on Hotels
I travelled solo female to Boracay and had a great experience at this hostel. The shortcomings listed in the reviews are also common at much more expensive hotels in the Philippines. Clean, fairly secure, only a minute from the beach, where the hostel has reserved access to (complete with beach chairs, cafe to provide drinks/snacks) and from the road (enough if you like to sleep). .