Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Art Deco style hotel in downtown Buffalo

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The Deco furnishings, the location, easy walking distance to get around central part of Buffalo and access to rail line to other neighbourhoods.
Location: central location, easy walk to Buffalo Harbor and Canal side development-transit line one street over. Close to Coca-Cola field.
Enjoyed the hotel, only complaint was I booked a King room and ended up with a Queen because the King's were sold-out. My room faced into the side of another part of the hotel, thus I had no natural light coming into the room, which made it feel dark even with the sun was shining outside. The rate included buffet style breakfast which was okay, but eggs were cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Very Good

Posted Aug 24, 2015
The location is very good. Rooms are comfort and clean. The staffs are very nice. When I asked for changing a room, the front desk changed a nice one for me according to my request. A little thing was: the dining place was not clean, espensially the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Fun historic hotel in convenient downtown location

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Service is friendly, and restaurant Bourbon and Butter is amazing. The renovation of the hotel is cool, but the rooms could stand to be a little cozier and better appointed. Feels like corners were cut here and there - loose door handles, doors are not plumb and don't all close easily, etc. All and all, though, a positive experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2015
The suit with two bed room is a good choice for a big family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Iconic Hotel, good location

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: the aesthetics and historical restoration
Cons: staff should be more welcoming, informative. staff should be dressed to reflect the hotel ambience. Room was very cold, no adjustment available.
Location: great central location with many restaurants and points of interest near by
Like the room configuration and historic elements
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but not great.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
The good - cool lobby with funky chairs; bars basically attached but not a part of the hotel; valet parking at $20/nt. relatively cheap for an urban hotel; pleasant staff; no junior suite available so we were upgraded to a very large one bedroom suite with full kitchen. The not-so-good - dark, fairly unattractive hallways; room was a bit dark and 'industrial' with mediocre queen bed; poor wifi connectivity is just unacceptable in the 21st century; a bit pricey for Buffalo.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Came to watch the Buffalo Bison play baseball

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The history of the building
Cons: Front desk staff, more maids so that rooms are cleaned and guests don't have to track them down.
Location: Not a lot to do in walking distance. The ball park is close and you can walk to the casino, but it's a fair walk.
During our stay they were filming a movie. Felt we were in the way just getting out of the elevator on the main floor. The room was very nice, but after walking all day you expect the room to be clean when we got back. It wasn't and the young gentleman at the front desk didn't care. He said he will look into it, but he never did. Finally at 3:30 my husband went and got the maid and asked her to come and clean our room. She said our room wasn't her list to clean. She's the only maid working on our floor that day. So we knew the front desk staff didn't inform her.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the history of the hotel!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Gave me a glimpse of what Buffalo was like at the turn of the century.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great rooms, terrific restaurants and bars

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Everything! Great remodel of a 1823 hotel
Cons: Everything was of good quality and service.
Location: Centrally located in the business district but near the medical corridor, hockey arena and theater districts.
We bought a junior suite at the last minute on a holiday weekend and couldn't be happier. The room was lovely and had all the comforts of home. Walking distance to dozens of great restaurants,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dereck from Trumbull, CT

Great hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, great service but downtown a bit empty.