Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Cons: Pricey!
Nice place, roomy and restaurants in the vacinity..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
If you like Art Deco and beautiful interiors, this is your place. The decor is fantastic and it's a great location from which to explore downtown Buffalo, which is starting to re-emerge in some very exciting ways. Our room was nicely appointed and the hotel lobby/cafe are great. Also, the front desk worker who checked us in provided some very good suggestions for dinner near the hotel. All-in-all, it was a very good stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Amazing hotel in Buffalo

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We had a 1st class stay with amazing staff. Facility has tons of history yet modern conveniences. Great bar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016
It was nice for that night For us me and my wife to be
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

will return

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: The woodwork was beautiful, the room updated and welcoming. Very clean!!
Cons: The only thing I was disappointed in was the kitchen was closed when we returned from a show.
Location: Many restaurants to choose from, theater, aboveground metro
Beautiful old hotel with all the modern updates. The room appeared to have been recently renovated, very warm and comfortable. The staff was very nice-our reservation was not found initially and we were given a voucher for the bar while things were taken care of. It was close to where we were going and downtown was very nice and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice, but expected a little better.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Beat up room. Dinged walls. Lame fireplace that was a hologram instead of gas with flame. Pathetic bath fan didn't vent shower steam. Bed creaked and squeaked on every rollover. Room was clean. Staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Oldie but Goodie!

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The ambience and throwback to an earlier era.
Cons: Insofar as our stay and use of this hotel as a base were concerned, and the excellent Parking Valet Service, nothing of consequence noted.
Location: Stayed in Buffalo and went to Niagara Falls two days in a row, so am not really up to snuff on Buffalo!
The Lafayette Hotel is a distinguished example of the old era of great resplendent hotels, and has been well renovated and provides travelers with a stay in a large (it would be difficult to get more room space for the money), convenient, sophisticated, well-equipped (including 2 large screened TV's), and most comfortable accommodation (more like a complete apartment than a traditional hotel room). Everything from the Valet Parking Service to the included breakfast is enjoyable and worthwhile, and by and large this non-cookie cutter facility stands out from the run of the mill establishments that leave guests looking and yearning for something more unique and better than the bland chain-type hotels that provide nothing out of the ordinary and are better forgotten than remembered. Booking this hotel with a target of visiting Niagara Falls which was a 20 minute drive away on I-190 along the Niagara River proved to be a wise decision everyone was deeply pleased by, comfortable with, and would repeat in a heartbeat if a repeat journey were to present itself, at least insofar as rooms 305 and 306 were concerned: what more can be said?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: Easy walk to downtown and restaurants.
Very clean and updated room. Staff friendly and willing to help if needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quirky renovated hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, liked the room set up with working desk.
Cons: Free breakfast didn't have egg option, but it was free, so you really can't complain.
The Lafayette has been restored, but has not lost its charm. I travel a lot for business and like finding a place that doesn't look just like every other hotel room. Very updated and clean, and the staff was super helpful. Early check in was no problem, called cabs for me as no Uber or Lyft in Buffalo, and all were very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakville

History and sophistication with a nice surprise

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Clean design and amenities
Cons: clearer instructions for self-parking
Location: Chocolate bar a short walk over on Chippewa Street was a big hit. Canal side was also enjoyable.
We went for a little get away for our anniversary over the August long weekend. Upon check-in staff upgraded us to a junior suite. Room made nice use of limited space with a certain elegance. The dining room reeked of history with old dark wood. The breakfast is a full hot breakfast, not a continental one as advertised, another nice surprise.