Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Thatched pub with a small group of rooms

Posted Feb 22, 2018
We stayed here as it was local to IWM Duxford. The pub is an old thatched building that was used by troups during WW2. We arrived Monday lunchtime to find the pub very busy with customers. This must be due to the excellent food on offer. We ordered a snack, but the food was plentiful, freshly prepared and extremely good. The quality of food continued on the two nights we dined in the pub. Breakfast was equally good with locally sourced ingredients. The 5 bedrooms are in an adjacent building just a few paces from the pub. Ours was clean and well prepared, when we arrived. The bathroom was newly refurbished throughout, whilst the bedroom had more of an olde worlde feel. The bed was comfortable, but a larger king size would have been nice. This is a personal observation, as being used to a larger bed at home this one seemed a little small. Otherwise there was nothing to fault. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and we will definitely return in the futures.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Absolutely brilliant - the pub's lovely, the rooms are perfect for a weekend away, and the service was absolutely spot-on. We'll definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Excellent country pub

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: Everything.
Location: Duxford aerodrome with its world-class museum. we took a day and a half to do this, so an overnighter was essential.
Lovely old pub with friendly staff and good food. The rooms are small but well appointed, and they have just refurbished the bathrooms and re-carpeted the rooms. The food was excellent and the portions good - probably a bit too much for me, in truth. Still I managed a dessert, which was equally good. Oh, and if you drink decaf, it's made from beans, not powder. Breakfast was hearty, but I missed the fresh fruit. Check out is at a generous 11:00, so no rush, even though we were in a hurry to get back to the IWM Duxford. And the pub is really close, so just a few minutes drive and we were there. Highly recommend this establishment.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sidcup Kent

Perfect for overnight stay. Very close to IWM.

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Staff. Food. Breakfast.
Cons: The shower in room 3 !
Location: In Duxford village. 5 minutes drive to the Imperial War Museum.
We were visiting IWM Duxford on Monday so we booked 2 rooms checking in on Sunday afternoon. The rooms are basic but very cosy and are annexed to the actual Pub. The bathroom in 3 was a bit tired and the shower kind of sprayed water all over the place but other than that it did the job. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Good choice of beer and wine. Our evening meal was very good. Breakfast is included in the overnight price and was freshly cooked to order. It was excellent, with freshly brewed coffee and choice of cereals. Overall a pleasant stay. Recommended.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for visiting Duxford

Posted Dec 26, 2017
A pleasant motel-style room with breakfast in the adjoining country pub, comfortable though our room was adapted for a wheelchair user.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Needs an update!

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Pros: The food was excellent, and staff very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Everything about the rooms, small old and the bathroom/wetroom was mouldy and very very dated.
Location: Great for visiting Duxford airfield for the IWM.
The B&B rooms need to be updated badly. Bathroom was awful and beds to hard and uncomfortable. TV very poorly located and very small However Hotel part was lovely and quaint, food was excellent, just a shame that the rooms haven't kept uo with todays travellers needs. The best thing was it was very handy to Duxford for a day visit.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: All fine
Location: Duxford Museums. Cambridge. American War Cementery.
Staff most wecoming and agreeable. Meals very high standard with friendly waitresses.Accomodation comfortable with excellent room service
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire uk

Lovely cosy family-run pub

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: It was comfortable and friendly with good food.
Cons: They should warn people that sat navs can be misleading.
Location: Location is a lovely little village with nice people. The Imperial War museum is close and worth a visit but avoid its expensive lunches!
We were really made to feel welcome. The staff were very friendly and made us feel at home drawing us into the banter abot switching on the Christmas lights on 1st December at breakfast which we enjoyed. We had already decided to have dinner somewhere else but we had an excellent lunch and the breakfast before we went was excellent. Only complaint was that the Sat Nav disdn't seem to take us there and we went up and down the High Street before finding the place. Possibly this is because it's close to the corner.
5 out of 5
by John


Posted Dec 1, 2017 on Hotels
I stay here regularly on business as it provides character and comfort and is about as different from some of the branded hotels as anything could be in a very positive way
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northants. U.K

good hotel close to a training venue

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Warm and welcoming atmosphere and friendly staff.
Cons: My only issue is the size of the t.v screen in the room., could do with being slightly larger.
Location: Very close to historic Duxford airfield, and within easy reach of Cambridge.
Great reception , friendly staff , lovely food along with a comfortable room. Fantastic cooked breakfast. The ambiance of the hotel was very warm and welcoming, themed with links from nearby Duxford historic airfield. Would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.