Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Good location, average accommodation

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Nice pool area and helpful reception staff. The hotel is also in a good location, close to the beach with excellent transport links. However, the walls are paper thin - you can hear EVERY noise from the rooms next door and above, no wi fi or air conditioning in bedrooms, no tea/coffee making facilities, very few rooms actually have a view and you must pay to use the room safe. The hotel is also spread widely up along the road - that means if you are staying in block 6 it is a 6 minute walk to reception and to the restaurant for meal times. The hotel does not provide and leaflets or information about the immediate local area - there is a good beach and bar that you wouldn't know about!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The hotel is dated needs t have rooms bought up to date single beds no iron or hairdryer. When I asked for a hair dryer I was told I could only have it for 2 hours, that's fine but our room was 500metres up the road. Breakfast menu never changed for the 14 days. Overall the rooms were large
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, quiet

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Location, not too far from airport
Location: Conveniently located to food stores and restaurants
Agreeable, good value, excellent breakfast, close enough to airport for catching an early morning flight
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel very noisy first thing in a morning.

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
Not a lot going on in the area. Had to travel into Funchal most days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel with indoor and outdoor pools.

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Was given an adjoining room which was not good. Wifi in reception was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good views of sea from room. Breakfast was ok but could have been better.
4 out of 5
by Venkata

Great sea view room

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Dom Pedro stay was great. Good : Friendly staff , Room was clean, great location, great room service. Bad: No free parking. Costs 40 cents an hour. No Wifi in rooms. Swimming pools were cold not heated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gatwick

Very good value for money

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: A lovely hotel with magnificent gardens and two swimming pools. Outstanding value for money
Cons: It's built in the 70s so soundproofing is non existent
Location: Very good position close to the shops restaurants and cafe's. Bus stop over the road and only a short walk and cable car to a charming beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Sep 29, 2016
The hotel was better than we expected for the price but the location is a bit difficult if you don't have a car as you need to get the local buses everywhere. The bus stop for Funchal is convenient (Across the road) but buses are on average ten minutes late. If you want to explore the east, then the bus stop is a good 10-15 minute of a super up hill road. We did that three times but we are young and still felt it was the hardest walk ever. The staff at the hotel are all really nice and helpful but the room cleanness was so and so(floor remained dirty) and even though we had asked to change the sheets they didn't change the cover on the top(we had gotten some mud on it from going hiking.
1 out of 5
by Dalila from CANADA

My last stay at DOM PEDRO GARAJAU :(

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel is not secure, the rooms are outdated, the staff are not friendly at all or accommodating. Very old hotel can hear noise from other rooms / guests and in the hallways.
3 out of 5
by Mohammed from Leeds

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms were located quite a distance from the reception area/restaurant