Ratings based on 638 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - overpriced for what you get.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
2 nights spent here, unfortunately we didn't get to really see the hotel as we were out most of the time. Things have changed obviously & where it looks like the spa & fitness facilities were available previously - they now have to be paid for. The lines were very professionally scored out with a black permanent marker in the guest booklet!!! Bed very noisy, perhaps should think about changing them??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lytham st annes

Good hotel, excellent location.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff, bedroom,food.
Cons: Disappointed at the extra charge to use the gym. Would have appreciated complimentary newspaper. Preferred breakfast in other restaurant.
Second time we've stayed, attending a family christening. Daughter lives in Helsby and is a GP 5 mins from the Double Tree.
3 out of 5
by gareth

where was the service?

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
only 6 people in the restaurant and it took over an hour to get my main course. My son had eaten his ice cream by this time! Also tried for over an hour and half to get room service, ended up ordering from Just Eat instead. Reception called me to say my take away was here. I explained I could not come down as I had a 4 year old asleep in bed. I explained to reception about trying to get room service and they asked why did I not call reception. I did call and not no answer!!!! All in all , an expensive night in the hotel , over 250 quid for my room and did not get the service I would expect from this hotel chain. Very poor service. I also tried to contact them on there facebook page, they will respond within the hour it says..............2 days later I still have had no reply........................
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017
Dear Gareth, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and also for sharing your honest constructive feedback. It is disappointing to hear that you experienced difficulties ordering room service. We pride ourselves on offering high levels of both service and facilities, so it is disappointing to hear that we failed to meet those high standards on this occasion. Please be assured that all of your concerns will be reviewed by our management team, and will be used to make any improvements deemed necessary. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to stay with us in the future when I am confident that your experience will be much improved
5 out of 5
by Martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Philip

Great hotel, worth a stay.

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed a few months back as well. Hotel still being refurbished to add more rooms, however looking much better already. Very welcoming new reception. Ate in Marco Pierre restaurant for the first time and well impressed by food quality and portions as well as service. Have to pay to use the pool/sauna but it is worth it. Convenient location for Chester and surrounding areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017
Dear Phillip, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay here. We are so pleased to hear that you are seeing the benefits of our improvement plan, and that you like our new reception and lobby/lounge area. We are very proud to be able to boast a Marco-Pierre White Steakhouse as one of our dining options, and it is rewarding to hear that the food and service were enjoyed. We introduced the charge for the Club & Spa for any guests who choose to take advantage of our fantastic facilities, to enhance their experience and we are glad that this was the case on your visit. We sincerely hope that you will stay with us again in the future, and that you will be able to enjoy one of the 79 additional bedrooms due for completion towards the end of this year. Warmest Regards
4 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017
Dear Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to provide a 4 star rating for your recent stay here. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted May 2, 2017
We received a very friendly welcome from the concierge and receptionist; and that approach from the staff continued throughout our stay. We booked a junior suite, which is perfect if you are staying with children. The hotel is spacious and very clean. It is also very quiet and conveniently positioned just outside Chester. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and we look forward to staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Best Staff

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Driving past it
We have been travelling for the past year and the staff. At this hotel are the kindest and most helpful we have come across in our year. Thevhav gone the extra mile, we had a room upgrade so we had a little more space and many other things done to make our stay more comfortable. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Julie

Anniversary break

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel, would stay again