Ratings based on 677 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheam

Great hotel and a good location near Chester

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Modern feel
Cons: The suite we had the fold our sofa bed could have been better
Location: Chester is on your door step, great historic town
Friendly staff and great restaurants and a comfy room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Well worth the stay

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Firstly the cookie on arrival is amazing. You can smell them as soon as you walk into the hotel. The room was modern and comfortable. Bed was really comfy and the facilities were great. The only negative was that our corridor was full of empty trays of food and wine glasses. One was there from when we checked in and it was still there when we came back in the evening. Made it look untidy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Very good hotel. Everything was perfect. Lots of parking space, deluxe double room was brilliant and the staff at check in were amazing. They were also very helpful when looking for a taxi and making a booking at the restaurant. The only niggle I had was the woman who refilled the mini bar - she didn't speak much english and wouldn't give me an extra bottle of water. Other than that, 10/10 hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpo

Breakfast fiasco!

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Overall, the hotel was pleasant but the bed sheet had what looked like an old blood strain on it (we didn’t see this until late at night so just left it), the toilet in the room wouldn’t flush properly so someone had to come and sort it out and we were told that the steak place didn’t open on a Sunday (this was one of the reasons we had chosen to stay here). I could cope with all that but the next morning when we went to breakfast we were met with queues and limited choice. There were no sausages, no black pudding, no beans and about 10 mushrooms. Some more hash browns appeared but after waiting a few minutes while my other stuff was getting cold I decided to give up. I did see one more tray come out but by that time I couldn’t be bothered to go and queue again. Plus there was no orange juice! I was pretty unimpressed. The reception staff and the staff in the spa were lovely so credit where credit is due.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Noce

Posted Dec 3, 2017
The hotel staff was really kind and the room was clean. The hotel room was really reasonable price. I want to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester

3 night getaway

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Location: 5 minutes from Chester center, 10minutes from Cheshire oaks designer outlet, 30 minutes from Liverpool and Manchester.
Overall exceptional hotel, recently been all refurbished and it looks amazing. Facilities are excellent, Marco Pierre whites restraint is wonderful and their barman do the best cocktails, even if it’s not on the menu he will give it a go for you. Stopped for 3 nights overall in one of their new rooms, we were the 1st ones to stop in in and it had everything you need and the furnishings were very luxurious. The pool and spa area are fantastic, lots of thermal experiences and the dream wave room is great for zoning out. Just one thing to be aware, you do have to pay an extra 15.00 per room to use it all and now since November they have introduced time slots to use it too, so it’s 15.00 per session per room. Each session is 2hours long which is plenty of time, but if you had things planned to do, depending on availability you might find it difficult to use it. Overall though the hotel is amazing and I shall be returning to it for another stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

The smelt awful

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The room smelt awful! After a couple of hours with it not going we called reception and one of the housing staff came with an air freshener! He agreed there was a problem but as the hotel was fully booked couldn't change the room. I explained on check out that the room was lovely but the smell ruined our stay and was told the manager would contact us that day. No contact, I sent an email also. I expect more for a room costing over £200. Very disappointed. We have another wedding in December and have choose to stay at a different hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bradford

Nice hotel but be aware of extra charges

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Arrived to find that if we wanted to use the swimming pool as a family it would cost an extra £25 each time we used it . Found this totally ridiculous when had paid nearly £180 for one night stay . Eventually one of the receptionists wavered the cost but this was after having to speak to a number of members of staff . The Spa Staff were not helpful and were very dismissive. Overall it was a nice stay but will not be returning to this Doubletree . We usually stay in Hilton hotels and found the surcharge outrageous. Hopefully this is a one off .,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Silver wedding

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Stayed for two nights as part of our silver wedding anniversary jaunt. Hotel clean and well run very corporate close to Chester enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by Lee

Lovely hotel, great staff, spa great

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel and Spa exceeded all our expectations. I stay in a lot of nice places with my job and this is right up there. The only thing that let the place down was the Pierre White restaurant. Some of the quality of the food was below par. Literally not eatable. The service in resolving this was faultless however and the way hotel staff dealt with our comments at checkout was equally faultless. I see the restaurant is being renovated this month so I guess we were just a little unlucky as they are winding down.