Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
There are ants and funitures are out wore out. Services are are good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sinagpore

Fantastic location (waterfall), 1 hr from airport

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location, Waterfall
Cons: You are located in isolation, then how can you not serve food after 8 pm. Not even a night menu !
Location: Nothing close by really. And have to drive 20 mins downhill to town.
Great place. Loved the location. The staff is very friendly and try to help. Spa a bit overpriced compared to Thailand rates. The single worst point is that the restaurant closes at 8 pm. So if you come back from the city ( 1.5 hr drive away ) and reach the resort at 8.30 pm : Go hungry or go out again. ( Then u have the issue that there are no taxis available here, u need to rent a car ). This is a management issue and nothing to point at the staff for.
4 out of 5
by Christina from San Francisco

Hotel Stay in Mae Rim, Thailand

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is great if you are looking for a rustic experience close to the elephant farms and tiger kingdom. The property is absolutely stunning. We loved the river and the fact that you are in nature really cool bridge and amazing strolls in the evening. The only thing is that it is far from Chiang Mai city. It takes an hour to get to the city. If you are looking to do more activities, definitely stay here. we stayed here for 1 night and made a change to our stay to be close to the city. We wanted to spend the remainder of our time in Chiang Mai to check out the night market and Saturday night market. The hotel has a great restaurant. We ordered fried chicken, green curry, and a couple of other dishes. So good and fresh! Definitely eat at the restaurant! Also, I thought is was cool that Angelina Jolie stayed here for awhile during her stay in Thailand!
4 out of 5
by Nazeer from Kuwait

amazing Chaing mai

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
stay was nice, surrounding and scenery amazing. Not really a 4 star , can certainly improve in food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Breathtaking resort
4 out of 5
by Wai Man from Hong Kong

There's an actual river running through the hotel!

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
OK so I'm going to be really positive about this hotel, even though a lot of you may not feel the same. I love it for one reason only, it looks like it's been reclaimed by nature. 10 years old, Sukantara cascade resort lives up to its middle name. We actually had no idea that there would be a full force river rapid flowing through the hotel grounds, completely amazing, and now at the end of the 2nd day we can still sit and just stare at it. Yes this place has loose taps, slippery steps, moss everywhere, dampness throughout, rotten bamboo in the shower and a shower head that sprays water in 360 degrees, but that's where the character and charm of this hotel comes in. It's not a modern, big chain resort, it wasn't built 3 months ago. No they don't spray poison to kill all the bugs while you're having dinner (but they did over us a fan to blow them away), and if you don't like wild peacocks trying to steal your breakfast then perhaps you should look elsewhere. Rent a scooter as quickly as you can and then ride around to check out the area, that's my best tip. Ba Ba Black Cafe has world class desserts and coffee at a fraction of the cost, and Sukantara is only 10 minutes from every possible attraction you could ask for, tigers, snakes, monkeys, guns, ATV's whatever. So anyone who loves nature and wants to stay in a place completely intertwined with it should choose Sukantara. If you're sensitive to bugs, dampness and the thought of sleeping in the jungle, don't even bother.
4 out of 5
by Krish from Dubai

Great hotel, rooms good not amazing hotel is beaut

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Gorgeous hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel away from it all

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Stayed in deluxe panaroma room with view of the cascading waterfall. If you like to stay somewhere you can relax and be close to nature, this place does it. Nearest 7-11 is about 8 km downhill. Serves average tasting food. On some nights the peacock decides to party, but bearable to sleep. Watch the peacock fan out its tail over breakfast. Great experience!