Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
19% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Not clean at all .the cement on walkway was sticky.needed maintenance shower curtain rod fell on my husband.a towel was shoved in bathroom fan .and room was very small and had a large chair in the way of bathroom.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and smells. Staff stare at you thru window

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Would not repeat. Room was dirty and without maintenance for a long time. Staff could not communicate and stared you down as if you'd did something wrong. Creepy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Chico State

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: close to campus/walking distance
Cons: need a complete remodel or at least a good cleaning
Location: close to restaurants and shops
First room smelled like cigarettes so we asked to switch rooms. Both rooms were dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, Ca.

smoky non smoking room

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The maids worked hard
Cons: just about everything
Location: Close to downtown. Easy walking.
Looked like it had barely survived several fraternity parties . Bed was clean and good. Hot water was good. Carpets were ok. Room was smoke scented and a non smoking room. Neighboring rooms were nosy and inconsiderate. Swimming pool was green with algae. Bathroom fixtures were damaged .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Umm..

Posted Mar 4, 2017
This hotel has the potential to be a nice hotel if they just put money into it a little more. In our bathroom the ceiling was caving in there was a hole in the ceiling. The bathroom sealing around the shower, sink, etc was all gross and peeling away. Our tv didn't work because it didn't even have a power cord. The chair they provided for seating had a large stain on it that looked wet. But I didn't touch it. No way. The heater/Ac unit didn't work, as a matter of fact it didn't even have a face plate or half of the parts it was sitting half off the wall and looked like someone had taken a chunk out of it. And to make things worse, we had other friends with us that got a room and their room was sooooo much nicer. The beds were nicer, they had a brand new ac/heat unit. The tv worked, the chair didn't have a stain, their ceiling wasn't caving in. It was a decent room. I'm very upset I pd the same price they did and got a bad room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

homeless shelter

Posted Feb 21, 2017
no electrical 0utlets near beds telephone didn't work heater was either on full blast or off no control wifi extremely weak toilet hardly waited 20 min in empty office ringing bell before anyone came out ROACHES
2 out of 5
by Beatrice

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
The room although it was nonsmoking, smell all of the time like an ashtray. Way too many people selling illegal substances on of the rooms, first floor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best rate in Chico

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
University Inn is a no-frills motel. The WiFi sucks, sketchy people all night, but they keep to themselves. Located in downtown Chico, plenty to see and do if sleep proves elusive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy Inn

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Stay away from this hotel. Chico is wonderful. University Inn is awful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deploable conditions

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The only good thing about this hotel is it's location.
Cons: The overpowering smell of smoke when I opened the door. The broken door, obvious water damage in the roof. Hair everywhere in the bathroom, toilet not cleaned, mold in the shower, not just a little either. Spent as little time as possible in the room because it was so disgusting.