Ratings based on 426 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
20% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

homeless shelter

Posted Feb 21, 2017
no electrical 0utlets near beds telephone didn't work heater was either on full blast or off no control wifi extremely weak toilet hardly waited 20 min in empty office ringing bell before anyone came out ROACHES
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best rate in Chico

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
University Inn is a no-frills motel. The WiFi sucks, sketchy people all night, but they keep to themselves. Located in downtown Chico, plenty to see and do if sleep proves elusive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy Inn

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Stay away from this hotel. Chico is wonderful. University Inn is awful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deploable conditions

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The only good thing about this hotel is it's location.
Cons: The overpowering smell of smoke when I opened the door. The broken door, obvious water damage in the roof. Hair everywhere in the bathroom, toilet not cleaned, mold in the shower, not just a little either. Spent as little time as possible in the room because it was so disgusting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rocklin, CA

Not bad for the price

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Walking distance to downtown shops, restaurants and pubs.
My biggest issue was having the sheets continuously pop off the mattress in the night while sleeping, bad pillows and a bathroom sink that was literally falling off the wall. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly, the location was perfect for walking downtown and the price was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Terrible staff and gross room

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: I did not like anything. The hotel was terrible. Please get a health and safety inspection in there soon because it needs a lot of work.
Cons: The staff was very rude, room was disgistimg and dark. Very dirty
Location: Chico, CA.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Npt the cleanest or nicest looking motel, but the bed was better than mine at home. Sooo soft, so that made us happy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Orbitz
It was a very small hotel, the same man was the same man when checking in and checking out. When first arriving and walking Into the office of the hotel it was like walking into an oven, I couldn't even breath, even though the man was nice he was not friendly didn't even smile or try to respond when I tried to make funny comments. The pool was OK but wasn't the cleanest, overall I just wouldn't stay there anymore, but I'm thankful that we had somewhere to stay, it could have been worse I just didn't like the overall experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Fransisco, Ca

Filthy

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Location to Chico State
Cons: Everything , this place needs a total renovation. Not just paint, carpet , entire bathroom remodel but total electrical upgrade.
This hotel is one of the worse places we've ever stayed at. We had a non-smoking room that reeked of cigarettes. Our bed blanket had at least 10 large cigarette burns burned through the blanket. We also had burns in the window curtains. The windows were so dirty we could barely see out , with large paint chips on the window sill. Large stains on both chairs . The bathroom light switch was broken apart . scared we would get shocked using the light switch. Just a shame that these owners take no pride in their facility.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Unbelievablely noisey street. Unclean room frig. did not work.