Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Incredible views, beautiful room!

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Have one double bed versus two singles pushed together - always more comfortable for couples. :)
Location: This is a small village and very easy to get around.
My boyfriend and I booked this at the last minute due to a change in our travel plans, and we were so happy we did!! This was our favorite stay in Italy, unfortunately it was only for one night. The room was charming and cozy, with very unique accents such as the stone wall and stone in the bathroom. The view though!! It was breathtaking. I felt like I was in a fairytale, looking down at the village and ocean. It was very quiet - we could not hear any of the other guests. Check in was very easy too, the owner was not there to meet us but we just used the intercom to call their cell, they buzzed us in, and we could head right to our room. All of the instructions were neatly organized in a book in the room. We ate at Trattoria dal Billy for dinner, just a short walk from the hotel, and it was phenomenal - highly recommended!! This hotel is located in Manarola, and it was by far the most unique and beautiful place we visited. I read on some other reviews about the steps to get there, but we parked along the road before the entrance to the village, and it was not a difficult trek at all. Just had to carry our bags from the door up a flight of stairs to the room. I can't wait to go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic view in a picture perfect village

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Super easy to find, the view, modern hotel, best bathroom in Europe!
Manarola is such a lovely small town -- could see spending a week here to unwind totally!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small rooms but comfortable

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
Nice mountain and sea views from the room, a bit small of the rooms but with new decoration and fully furnished. Want to be back again.
3 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hopefully an aberation

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
Can't remember name of room, but on first floor on the left. Nice room with a nice view of the town. Bed was comfortable. BUT the reek coming from the bathroom could be absolutely overpowering. The shower leaked, pooling water near the toilet; the sink took forever to drain. Left a note about it when we left and haven't heard anything although it's been a week. There is no one on premises at all--even at check in you press a button that is connected to the owner's cell phone and he buzzes you into the building remotely. Plus, payment is in cash that you leave in an envelope in the room when you leave. Frankly, I think this is fine, but with the bathroom situation it would've been nice to have someone around to ask about it. And promised free bottled water never materialized.
5 out of 5
by Scott from Corrales

A taste of Chinque Terra

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
Touring many of the sites of Italy. Heard that Cinque Terra was a must see. That proved to be a fact. Spent some time in Manarola. Giovanni Rooms are located high in the city near the church. The view of the town and ocean did not disappoint. Emails from the owner made the rooms easy to find as did his meeting us in the church yard. Clean well maintained and comfortable it was a great place - near a nice local bistro for dinner and or lunch. Would stay there again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Fort Worth

Perfect room in Cinque Terre

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: We liked Manarola, the smallest of the towns, and the fact that our hotel was near the top of the hill, away from the hustle and bustle of tourists.
Cons: We did not have any soap at the start, and only one roll of t.p., but both probs were easily remedied.
Location: Hiking. Browsing shops. Trains to other 4 villages. Good food.
Giovanni was easy to reach by phone, and very responsive. He fixed a shower leak promptly. He spoke good english, gave good directions, and was knowledgable about the area. The view from our window looked down through he town toward the marina, and everything was in walking distance. The head of the Lavostra trail from Manarola to Corniglia started just across the street. It was a challenging walk for us (we're in our 50's), but well worth the beautiful views. The whole area is really a magical place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessie from Philadelphia

beautiful room overlooking the water!

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Everything was new and our room overlooked the water
Cons: communication with the owner. Luckily I had an international calling plan so I could let me know that we had arrived.
Location: hike, swim, shop, EAT!!!
What a lovely place to stay! Manarola is small and there weren't a lot of options as it really is a residential town. The owner met us when we got there and took us up to our newly renovated room. Our window overlooked the street on route to the water as well as the water. It was GREAT! We could see all the pastel buildings and the crystal blue water! Everything was new in the room and bathroom. Just know ahead of time that you must pay in cash- they don't take credit cards. There is an ATM in town if you need one as many of the vendors there only take cash. Of course the town is simply beautiful. My husband and I walked up a hill and watched the sun set over the water and the sky turned MAGNIFICENT colors. Anyway, I would highly recommend this little inn!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Toronto

With view to Mediterranean Sea!

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: The apartment is wonderful, All details are looked after, you feel like you are home. Giovanni is helpful and friendly.
Cons: Bring your mosquito repellant!
Location: Hiking, swimming, diving, fishing, wine tasting ....
Wonderful experience in Cinque Terre! 2 nights were a way too short. We are planning to have another 6-7 nights stay shortly!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Room with a View

Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed at Giovanni Rooms at the end of August and couldn't have chosen a better place. It's located in Manarola which was one of my favourite villages in Cinque Terre. The view was absolutely breathtaking. Yes, you do have to walk up a very steep hill and some stairs to get to the apartment but once you're there it's worth it. Giovanni was extremely helpful and met us as soon as we arrived. He carried out luggage up for us which was great as the room is at the top of some steep stairs. The room itself was very clean and had a comfortable bed. It looks like it has been recently redone as all the facilities are fairly new. There is wifi and a fridge available, as well as a kettle for making coffee and some wine glasses. The only downside for the whole weekend was the number of ants, however there was a cleaner who came every day who got rid of them for us. Giovanni also very kindly kept our bags for us on the last day as we were only leaving later in the afternoon. If we ever come back to Cinque Terre I'll definitely stay here and recommend it to all my friends.