Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

An Oasis

Posted May 19, 2016
My parents had a wonderful holiday here and I can not Thank you enough to the absolutely wonderful staff who work here. I wish all the hotels around the world had the same welcoming nature as the Vivanta By Taj, other hotels should really take note. They made my Parents feel like royalty everything from the food to the spa is absolutely wonderful. Thank you Vivanta by Taj Malabar you are all truly fabulous. A must do is the boat trip and the barbecue in the hotel oh and not mention the Spa.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet location

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The view / the tea time at 5 pm for free / their Yatch boat at customers disposal after tea time , to sail for a little time ( for free)
Cons: More shopping inside the hotel would be nice ( only one store )
Location: A bit far from the airport but the best location to stay in Cochin
Very nice as all taj hotels , on the morning when you will leave and have no time to have breakfast they will give you a breakfast bag so that you can eat on your way to the airport ( and that's without asking for it )
4 out of 5
by Paramjit from Manchester uk

Taj review

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
memorable stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

An oasis of calm

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: The staff are the hotel's greatest asset!
Cons: For a 5 star hotel, I would expect some upgrading to the bathrooms, although adequate I felt the furnishings and 'frills' were more 4 star.
The hotel's location is slightly out of the main area of Cochin but works very much to the traveller's advantage. It provides an oasis of calm away from the busiest areas of the ports and provides a high standard of service. On one side the coconut palms line the coast and on the other side of the port, a freight terminal resembles something gone by from Salford's dockyards. The staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive. The facilities on site, especially the 'Spa' were worth the effort, time and experience. This is not to distract you away from the short ferry ride or 'tuk-tuk' ride away from the main tourist sites . Due to Government regulations, the 'drinkers' amongst the travelling community need to be aware that alcohol is only served 'til 10pm (State wide) and that the bars/cafes have disappeared over the last.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top notch

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
Jätte fin resort ligger ligger lite utanför staden, kostar ca 200 rupee till M.G road (huvudgatan). Extertemt bra standard, lyx. Har aldrig fått så bra service som på detta hotell.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, Missouri

A bit of peace and tranquility in India...

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: The room and public facilities were excellent...and the staff from the General Manager on down treated us extremely well.
Cons: Free high speed internet for more than three (3) devices should be mandatory as most of us carry tablets, smartphones, etc.
Location: It is located on Willingdon Island...and it is quiet compared to the rest of Cochin with easy access by sea or road to the sights in Cochin.
For our Spring Break away from Saudi Arabia, we chose to return to India. Given our past experience with the iconic Taj Mahal Palace Hotel in Mumbai, we decided to use the Vivanta by Taj - Malabar as our "home base" while in Southern India next to the water. Our daughter also flew in from the US to join us for the week-long holiday. I had earlier made contact through our contacts made at our last stay in Mumbai...and they hooked us up with the management at this hotel by e-mail to arrange our airport transfers. What we did not expect that we were essentially double, if not triple-upgraded to the largest rooms in the Heritage Wing with a sea view to accommodate the additional bed we required for our daughter to stay with us. Upon an early check-in (we arrived on a red-eye flight), we were personally welcomed by the General Manager and the Director of Guest Services. Refreshments were served and we were escorted to our sea view room with everything set up. After our bags were delivered to our room, the General Manager came up to the room and asked if we personally needed anything...never had that happen in a hotel of any size. As India can be a bit chaotic, the hotel was an oasis from the bustling chaos as it is located in a remote part of Cochin on Willingdon Island with easy access by either car or boat to other portions of the area. The facilities were excellent...and the staff also at the top of their game. We plan on returning when time permits!
5 out of 5
by Eela from bethlehem

Kerala, Kovalam

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
awesome place, awesome staff
4 out of 5
by Zeyna from Mumbai

Perfect stay in Kochi although not value for money

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay for the second time at Taj Malabar. Staff are superb. Complimentary afternoon tea in the garden, complimentary sunset cruise and entertainment. Would have marked it 5/5 except we have stayed at a number of Taj properties recently and felt this one wasn't value for money. Actually it cost the same as a package in Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur which was recently voted 'Best hotel in the world', and deservedly so. Also a la carte and room service pricing was above average for India possibly because there were a lot of westerners staying there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zu überteuerert leider

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Es war alles viel zu teuer. Preis Leistung leider im Ungleichgewicht. Würde eher das Marriott daneben empfehlen. 1/3 vom Preis bei gleicher Leistung