Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renovation. Not a 4 stars.

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Over priced, lousy service. No room service at night. Renovation and very noisy. No ice. Reservation done for 2 beds and confirmed. Had to upgrade to get the desperate beds. Not recommended!
2 out of 5
by Susie from Frankfurt

Disappointing second stay due to renovation work

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
We had such an amazing time at the hotel last time we stayed in Cologne that we decided to book it again. Unfortunately it was a completely different experience which has put us off staying again. The hotel is currently under renovation and the lobby, bar, restaurant and reception area are all affected by this. There is noise, dirt and dust everywhere and it is a real maze to get around and figure out where you need to go. There were a few signs around the place printed on simple pieces of paper, but not sufficient for us to locate the restaurant without asking someone. There was no warning of this renovation prior to us booking the room and when I raised this with reception, he said he would upgrade our room, but I didn't see any difference between the upgrade and where we stayed last time. Whilst the staff were friendly, you could tell they were less than impressed with the situation themselves. We had to walk through the building site to get to the reception and the lifts and by the time we got to the room, our bags and clothes were covered in dust. The room was clean but smelled very strongly of fresh paint. Unfortunately you can't open the windows in the rooms, so we couldn't get any fresh air in to try and get rid of the smell. It's a real shame as we enjoyed our stay there so much the first time we visited, but I doubt we will be back again.
2 out of 5
by pankaj from chandigarh, india

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Service was bad, renovation was going on in the hotel so very noisy through out the day, there was no tea/coffee maker in the room.
3 out of 5
by Michael from Hastings

Major refurbishment spoilt our entire anniversary weekend

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
When we arrived we were shocked to see from the ground floor upwards that major refurbishment was going on. SURELY THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN TOLD TO US WHEN BOOKING! Although upgraded to 6th floor workman were still painting the walls and carpeting was being done. There was no bar or restaurant either and breakfast was served in a conference room. On the second day our keys stopped working, a despite 2 attempts we had to move to another room! And finally, when paying by card, our bill was converted to GBP without our knowledge or being given an option, obviously at their own exchange rate. In small print on the receipt we noticed AFTER THE TRANSACTION that it stated "I have chosen not to use the Mastercard currency conversion". That con cost us £12.50 extra!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Germany

Near to New Town

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Cons: better free internet speed.
I make a reservation for Standard room but when i check in get the Single room without any notify. They should provide the room according the reservation or ask the guest when change. Between, Sauna is not for free it cost 5 Euro. The hotel under renovation in this moment so can't sleep late. Very noisy. Internet speed is slow you need to pay to get better quality. Overall experience more prefer NH in Barcelona.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bill S.

FINE

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Ebookers
Fast check in.Comfortable rooms with great shower. Breakfast at €25.00 is to expensive even for Cologne. Staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel 15 mins walk from cathedral

Posted Feb 23, 2016
The hotel is in a nice location, just fifteen minutes walk from the cathedral and main train station. The room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel, fantastic staff

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff, good clean rooms
Stayed here in the middle of December, a great hotel, very clean, comfortable and good facilities. Approx 15 minute walk from the cathedral and all the Christmas markets. Staff were extremely helpful, explained all the places to go in the city, which markets to see and how to get there, and then sorted out taxi's for our group of 8 back to the train station, all in English. Highly recommended/
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bucks

Conveniently situated

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: It would be a bonus to have tea making facilities in the room. I also felt the breakfast cost was rather a lot at 22 Euros
Location: About a 15 minute walk into the city centre. We visited the Christmas markets easily accessible from the hotel.
An enjoyable stay in Cologne near the city centre and transport routes