Ratings based on 805 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I won't be returning.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: The location is great, right next to the fisher theater, and a short drive away from midtown, eastern market, and the stadiums.
The rooms were stifling. 80 plus degrees, and we had no control over the temperature. No water pressure in the showers, and water temperature was tepid at best. The walls are thin, we heard everything the neighbors were doing. The staff was apologetic and understanding, but explained that all of our complaints were just part of staying in a 'historic' hotel. And although this was out of the hotels control, a car crashed into the side of the building at 3 in the morning. We weren't evacuated nor were we told what happened. The entire experience was extremely unsettling.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Charming, older hotel in Detroit

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Cons: It could use some TLC. It's an older hotel, so it won't be perfect.
This was our second year staying at the Hotel St. Regis. The hotel isn't really comparable to a modern facility. It has beautiful old world charm and architecture. My biggest criteria when choosing a place to stay is cleanliness, bed bug reports and price. We were in town for beerfest, not to lounge at the pool or sit at their bar. The Hotel St. Regis was cheaper than any of the other big names in town by $50-100. I like that they have parking at a reasonable rate ($20/per night) and I can get my car out as many times as needed. The hotel is in need of some TLC and it looks like they're trying to keep it up. There were signs of recently repaired walls & ceilings. Our room had some blemishes in the wall paper and the tub could use a new round of caulk. The carpet in the hall needed attention...but none of this impacted our comfort there. We had an issue with hot water. They couldn't immediately remedy the issue, but the staff made sure we were satisfied with the outcome. It's not the Westin, but I also didn't pay Westin prices. The bed was comfortable. We got a good night's sleep and the staff were friendly. We will look at staying again next year. I'm not sure we'd eat in the restaurant again. We were the only two diners in the room and a business meeting in a private room. It took a very, very long time to get our food. It wasn't the greatest breakfast I've had. For what's available close by, we would probably eat somewhere else.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: The area is under construction so a lot of the businesses are hard to get to. The New Center Cafe is excellent and right across the street.
It's an older hotel with tons of charm. The rooms were very clean and the staff will get you anything you need! About the only negative thing about the room was the air conditioner didn't keep it cool enough for us. The free wi-fi was iffy; but they have some downstairs in the lobby area if you really have issues.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thumb

No air! Luckily the window opened

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Detroit is coming back !!! This place looks awesome from outside . it is a relic.
Cons: Cleanliness needs addressing and air conditioner that works!
Location: Marathon, Lions,Tigers,Red Wings and Fox Theatre!!
Nice ! Relic ! For the price ,the room could be cleaner and the air should of worked, In town for the Marathon and heard a lot of runners complaining of no air and loud noise made from air conditioner!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

The housekeeping was horrific.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The bath tub was sorry and slimy. I had to wear my flip flops on the tub. The bottom of the toilet had urine stains and behind the toilet seat cover had brown and red stains. When housekeeping csme the following mothing I told her about the bathroom. She attempted to clean the bath tub but the toilet was still dirty. I took pictures of the toilet but I was not able to make a complaint until I got home. I left a voicemail message for Jeremy who I was told is the director of operations but he did not return my call. I also spoke to the another Jeremy at the front desk this morning October 3, 2016 and he told me he was sorry for the experience but I will not get a partial credit to the hotel cost. The hotel cost me $288 for two nights and that did not include the $40 I paid for the valet parking. The hotel hallway carpet was really dirty. I will not go back to that hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to the hospital

Posted Sep 27, 2016
The business center was very well kept. Hotel staff was extremely efficient and knowledgeable. I did have problems with not getting hot water in my shower in the mornings only. The Internet connection was really bad as well so it was difficult to get work done. Room service food was delicious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

good location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: the location
Location: good location. visit Belle Isle and beautiful old buildings.
very noisy weeding guest, talking to loud on the hallway until past midnight !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton. Ohio

Good Hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Restaurant and bar staff. Food was good, a little heavy on the spices, but good.
Cons: Clean the ventilation system. And expect to add $20-30 per day for parking and valet tipping.
Location: Not much, hotel sits on outskirts of Detroit.
The Hotel St. Regis is currently a mid class hotel, built during the 60"s as a flagship hotel for Detroit. She has now seen better days, but the staff do a nice job of meeting travelers requests. The best part of my stay was talking with the staff of the hotel restaurant and bar. Very friendly and pleasant. My least desirable experience was observing that the hotel ventilation system had not been cleaned in years (see photo of bathroom vent.) If you have allergies, not a good thing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ogdensburg, NY

Close to Comerica Park

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Everything else! Lovely hotel and the employees were great!
Cons: Perhaps have an option for a quiet floor or party floor!
The only problem with this hotel was our neighbors who were on the other side of an adjoining door to the next room. There was a huge party going on, with many drunk people, and the noise from slamming doors & revelers was unbearable. After knocking on their door & asking them to tone it down, we called the front desk twice & were moved to another floor. That room was fine, but unfortunately, it was already 1:00 a.m & we had to be on the road for 8:00 a.m. for an 11 hour drive the next day. Not a great experience for our grandsons.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst customer service

Posted Jul 25, 2016
I had a terrible experience at this hotel. The room was clean and I can't complain about the bed/linens. My major complaint was with the service. My husband and 4 month old came with me for a business trip. First, we arrived late at night and it took forever for someone to come outside to do our mandatory valet. Next, the gentleman helping me with my bags left me in the lobby with a screaming baby and a carrier full of bags. I was so desperate to get my son to the room to feed him I tried to push the carrier myself. It was broken so I ended up leaving it in the hallway with all my things on it just to get my son to the room. No one at there service desk or restaurant attempted to help me. I tried calling the front desk when we got to the room bevause it said online there would be a fridge available, nothing. The person at the front desk tells us thw fridges are locked in a room and the key is lost and only one person has access. I said i specifically asked about a fridge because I have breast milk to store. No help. Then, in the morning, we called down 20 minutes before I needed to leave for my interview to request our car from valet. We walk down, no car. No valet. We ask the front desk. It then takes another 10 minutes to get our car making me late for my interview. This happened every time we attempted to leave the hotel. I just can't say enough how poor the customer service was. I've never taken the time to write a review before, but I felt I must warn others.