Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Room was great breakfast was fantastic and staff we're friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from south west

Effordleigh

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: .
Cons: .
Location: .
Nice view over golf course.....................................
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful grounds and an awful bed

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful grounds and breakfast very good. Rooms were large although a bit dusty. Bathroom was clean and shower was good. Tea and coffee in the room was a bonus. Mattress was awful and like a scoop. When I mentioned how bad it was, the reply was that they are getting some more and not too much care about how bad my back was or the lack of sleep I had. Also flies were in the room - this was mentioned on a piece of paper in the room and they did swap one of our rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful surroundings. Room was clean and warm.

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Beautiful surroundings.
Cons: Breakfast was consistently good and served promptly. Room would appear more welcoming if the walls had pictures.
Location: Excellent location for exploring Dartmoor and nearby Plymouth.
Staff were helpful. Parking during the day was an issue as golfers used the hotel car park, despite having a separate car park a short distance away. Breakfast on the second day was delicious, but first day was a very long time coming and cold. We also had a bar snack and the chips were the best I have ever tasted.
3 out of 5
by R from Sussex

Join the bar crowd or take ear plugs

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Checked into single room but discovered that half electric sockets were out of action. Staff moved me to larger double room. This room (14) however, is short on sound insulation and directly above the bar where celebrations then loud discussions went on until 0330. Happily only a one night stay.
5 out of 5
by Norman from Adare

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very peacefull surroundings, overlooking golfcourse. Very helpfull staff.
3 out of 5
by Norman from chippenham

nice location shame about the restaurant

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very poor service in the restaurant! Booked for 7pm no one in the restaurant had to wait then call out to the kitchen to get some attention. Finally ordered the food then had a 45 minute wait for a starter of soup and pate as told the kitchen was busy. But only 3 couples by now in the restaurant food when it came was acceptable but nothing to write home about. Also noticed while waiting food debris on the floor from earlier use of restaurant that day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A good non chain hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
Really friendly hotel staff, very accommodating. Would stay again as location is brilliant for working around the area.