Ratings based on 2,011 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Renovation

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Price reduction until renovation is complete.
Location: Close to my headquarters, shopping facilities and good restaurants.
The facility is still under renovation. It has been for several months. I will not stay there again until it is completed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norcross, ga

Nice and renovated

Posted Sep 17, 2017
They are renovating the entire hotel but it is worth, the rooms are awesome is like stay on a 5 star resort ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with access to everything.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Jessica B. Helped with a crisis we had at hotel. We thank her tremendously. Kitchen staff for breakfast was outstanding and friendly. Being there with the Irma hurricane evacuees the staff handled the situation very well. We will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy due to renovations

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: I like the staff. They were all very pleasant.
Cons: I guess there will be great improvements once the renovations are complete.
Location: It's located in Norcross close to a few nice restaurants. We had dinner at the Bahama Breeze Caribbean restaurant 18 mins away.
I didn't know the hotel was under renovation when I booked the room and the representative from Expedia did not make me aware of this. I was shocked when I arrived and learned that only one floor was available to guest at this time, the pool and spa was closed and the breakfast was more like a continental breakfast instead of the hot buffet I was looking forward to. Also, the construction crew started working early the next morning and totally disturbed our sleep. At any other time this may be a great place to stay due to it's location, but not at this time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Treated as house staff and not customer

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Cons: Staff
I stayed at this hotel and was never informed by Expedia that this hotel is under renovation. I was assign room and that did not match my booking. I ask the girl at front desk (Jessica) and she gives me 2nd key.....that was again same problem. I was going up and down like a house staff for 3..4 and 5th time. Then i had to tell her stop treating m,e like and house staff....and treat me like customer. That was not at all my job. She was busy babysitting her kid more importantly then helping customers. If you staying here...be prepared....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.C.

Nice hotel despite the renovation

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Staff and cleanliness
Cons: Better breakfast
Location: Was having to stay over on unscheduled appointment. Did not get out and about.
Even though there was a lot of renovation work, management knew how to room customers and things were out of sound range and construction site being visible was at a minimum. I had no problem sleeping and was not disturbed at any time. Room was very clean and large. Staff was excellent. I had a sudden change of an appointment and was over 3 hours drive away to home, so I just showed up in hopes of a good deal and a nice clean room. I got more than I expected. Very pleasant stay. Will look at staying with Wingate again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from middle TN

under renovation, which we were not told ahead.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: We chose it on the basis of location and price. Guess we got what we paid for! The staff was pleasant.
Cons: It's under renovation, so some of the problems should be alleviated when construction is complete.
Location: Don't really know, as we were there to visit family and did not investigate the area. It is close to grocery store and pharmacy and traffic.
It may be a decent hotel under normal circumstances, but it was under renovation (not disclosed ahead of time). Not only was there construction noise, but some of the renovation in our room was poorly completed: if you open the door all the way, it catches against the counter top and does not close. So there I was in bed in my nightgown when my husband left to get ice, with the door stuck open. There were several gnats in our room. Not sure what that indicates, but it was surprising. The shampoo and conditioner seem to be low quality and smell like dish-washing detergent. Perhaps because the place is under construction, they've let the weeds and trash accumulate in front of the hotel. That's a bad sign, isn't it? There was no problem with Housekeeping keeping the room tidy and the bathroom clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Very Poorly maintained and under significant const

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location was convenient and it would be good place to actually have a hotel...
Cons: Everything but most importantly be upfront about the renovation, closed amenities, etc.
I had booked my Hotel through Expedia and also called the hotel directly, neither the website or the hotel itself mentioned that is was under major renovation. They advertised a pool but failed to mention the pool is closed and covered. The spa also was closed and full of debris. The "lovely" view from my window was of piles of debris being out of the windows from the third floor. I do understand that sometimes renovation is required, but again, neither the website or hotel disclosed this information or the fact that the hotel apparently felt is was not necessary to cut the grass or maintain the grounds during the renovation. The room was just as bad... there was no rod in the closet to hang your clothes on, and of course no hangers. The alarm clock was missing the face plate and did not work. I could go on but let's just say this was a very disappointing experience. Not to mention that since I booked through Expedia, I could not get a refund to move to another hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse experience.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing...get rid of the roaches... Stayed three days and the sheets were never changed. Housekeeping did a terrible job
Cons: Closedown this hotel.. That will be a great improvement
Location: Completely turned off by the, state of the hotel therefore had no interest in doing anything in this area.
Worse experience. I will never stay in another Windam property. I am sending notification and picture images to our corporate office and all customers that we support. I have been travelling over 20 years. This is my worse stay ever in a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The hotel price and staff were spot on but the site doesn't tell you they are under remodeling construction and the pool is closed until 'i think October' per the evening concierge.