Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

good hotel in an excellent location

Posted Sep 25, 2016
nice staff, comfortable and well located for all the historic sights. good secure parking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, but not worth 4 stars.

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Nothing really bad about this hotel, but nothing great either. No hot foods at breakfast, hard bed, slightly worn down and dated rooms, and no view out the window.
4 out of 5
by Jack

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel English speaking staff.

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Everything over all at the hotel was pleasant. They had a nice sitting area sectioned off from the rest of the lobby with comfortable chairs. We were there when they were full with a conference. The help they gave us was given cheerfully. Front desk people spoke English well. Good bed, quiet rooms,clean. Take your shower before 9am. The hotel was full so the water was luke warm. Breakfast was buffet style consisting of a large variety of sweet rolls. Yogurt and fruit was included , espresso from the bar is really good but the machine coffee is terrible It was a nice walk to the castle and old town.
5 out of 5
by SAVVAS

Wonderful

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
Staff were fantastic and all spoke English. Wonderful breakfast, clean throughout the hotel.peaceful area and only 15 minutes to the train station and 5 minutes to the main attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent location, good breakfast, horrible mattress

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is about a five-to-ten-minute walk from the city center and the main sights. The neighborhood is fine, but there are other hotels closer to the action (right in the main squares). Breakfast was always fine--not a huge selection, but always enough to choose from and it always tasted fine. The only real downside was the horrible mattress--one of the most uncomfortable hotel mattresses I'd ever had to sleep on. I asked to have it changed, but apparently they had no spares and there was a festival in town, so there were no other rooms to switch me to. If not for the mattress, I would have rated the hotel 4-5 across the board.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Director, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm really sorry about your bad experience with our mattress. We're changing the older just in these days, so I' hope to fix this issue. Thank you for your kind suggestion, best regards
4 out of 5
by baz from Brussels

Central, Clean and functional even if a bit dated

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels
I have stayed at Astra a few times now and have always found the hotel a very convenient place to stay. The location is a short walk along the street to the central Ferrara including Castello Estense and all the city can provide. A beautiful city. The staff are helpful and efficient, including providing access to the underground car park (there is a charge). Rooms are of a reasonable size and clean although maybe dated. A Fridge, AirCo and window blinds are provided and the rooms are quiet. TV only offer CNN and BBC as English channels (normal for Italy) but the WiFi is good and free. Breakfast is Excellent giving lots of info about the source from across the region. I have not had a dinner in the hotel or used the bar (as the city has so much to offer). I would stay again.
1 out of 5
by Nick

Ghastly non stay - 2 star not 4 star

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels
There have only been two occasions in my life where I have refused to stay the night at a hotel despite having already paid for the room and not being able to get a refund - and this was one of them. Dark and grubby, a small and miserable room. Unpleasant staff. Not cheap. Inadequate light in the room so hung out of the window to check cancellation clause only to have a pigeon above the window defecate over the confirmation email. A suitable endorsement. Avoid at all costs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Germany

Very small bed

Posted May 9, 2011
The hotel is in a great location and is very nice on the inside. The bed was a twin size bed. Even with the upgrade to the higher level room, it was still a tiny bed. We were told to park outside on the street for 3 Euro's a day which is very cheap for parking for 24 hours. Breakfast was small but good food. You can't beat the location for this town though. It is walking distance to everything you want to see!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels