Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sam - Perth, Ausi

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Resort facilities - excellent. Resort food and variety - excellent. Hotel staff - excellent. Pools and beach activities - excellent. Fiji Gold and Happy Hour - excellent. Lagoon rooms - poor, dirty and ancient! Overall a resort with great facilities (lagoon, beach, pool, restaurants) except for rooms that need to be upgraded to match the resort facilities!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic location. A gem in its day!

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Location is outstanding
Cons: Staff morale, pricing, maintenance. Also HATED the staff pressuring us to take the tour to the local village, they didn't like it when we declined
Location: Beautiful beach, coral reef at the resort for snorkeling, gorgeous gardens which need a bit more maintenance and watering.
We recently spent 7 days (family with 2 kids; 3 & 5). It was a last minute trip and we knew it wasnt 5 star. I emailed the resort twice requesting a ground floor room for the kids; we were upstairs. We had to ring house keeping most days as our room was not yet made up at 4pm., We were consistently left only 2 towels and one of the beds sagged really badly. The airconditioning was not terribly efficient. Must have been an original unit from 1975. The kids club was great and had fabulous facilities and activities fro the kids, however only two of the staff members there appeared to be enthusiastic towards the kids; a vast change to the enthusiasm we have experienced at other kids clubs. Only 2 restaurants were open plus the adults only one. The food was not of a particularly good standard, nor variety and was exceptionally expensive! I had the feeling there were some issues going on there with staff members as none seemed overly happy and on more than 2 occasions I saw a manager berating a staff member quite loudly in public. This no doubt does little for staff morale. The pools were crystal clear but the main pool needs a complete refurbish. Tiles coming off and shoddy patching jobs around the water line. The spa was devine but very expensive! We spent over $600 in massages during our time there and when we had to cancel our last massages due to my son being sick even though we cancelled the day before! Beautiful beach but you can do better.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: The pool and beach were fantastic, great location, all facilities easily accessible from our room.
Cons: The staff in the lagoon restaurant were not very happy people. The prices of the dinner buffet were extortion and drinks.
Location: The Gecko's Restaurant just outside the resort is a must, reasonable prices, lovely staff, lovely dance & fire show. Catching a taxi is easy.
The local people are so lovely in Fiji. Catching a taxi or the local bus into town is a great experience. Don't be afraid to venture outside the main tourist shop. Eating outside the resort is a good idea to save money and enjoy new experiences, i can highly recommend Gecko's. The pool and beach are superb, and great easy access from our room. The kids club staff are fun and young kids will love the activities at the pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SYD

Little bit boring

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Not much to do here besides eat and drink after 5:30pm, and it's a costly experience
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

99 out of 100

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: Everything but your beer.
Cons: The most popular beer drank in Australia is tooheys extra dry and I think if the resort stocked it you would definitely get me back.
Location: all good
Fantastic barring 1 minor hiccup,as I love a good beer I had to travel to Nadi to get a beer that I could drink
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa needs a make over

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: The Staff
Cons: Millions of dollars need to be spent on this hotel to meet up the name Shangri-La
Location: 20 min walk to Gecko`s resort which we would class as a 4 star hotel, Great food and entertainment was include in the price
What a shock , the place needs a renovating inside and out, the room was 10 mins walk to reception and the nearest restaurant , and longer to the other restaurants and bars and clubs, we were trapped in the hotel grounds had to catch cabs to get off the island . The breakfast which was included was excellent.The dinners were very poor and over priced which forced us to travel out of the resort .The staff were the only value in this hotel ( they were great) who ever puts star values should go back and review the star rating, we been to many hotels around the world, we would place this hotel 2 stars. We went to the Polenesian night which we paid $180.00 FJD a couple , the dancing was very good but the food was very poor (it was not tasty and dried out) would not recommend
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect spot for families - lots of variety

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: The lagoon pool and the beautiful sandy beach
Cons: nothing really
Location: location is great - only short trip to Sangatoka - for supermarket shopping
Awesome hotel, great for family, didn't need to leave the resort - it had everything in the one place - 5 restaurants - massive lagoon pool for the whole family. Really great 'things to do' resort - always something happening for young and old - so worth the trip.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NZ

5 night mini break

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: The staff are a credit to the hotel and are what make the experience what it is.
A very relaxing, excellent experience. Resort was wonderful. Staff are warm/friendly people. Well organised for children, but also restaurants and pools for adults. Restaurants were excellent, weather perfect. You can arrive, relax, return home well rested without having to leave the resort. Beach massages available, everything you need at your finger tips. Naturally on a resort the prices for alcohol and food are expensive but manageable. We stayed in the lagoon rooms with a balcony, right in the hub of the restaurants/bars/pool, steps from the beach. If you don't want to be amongst the activity/noise , then choose the coral end or the ocean view rooms, they are a small walk away but more private. Early morning walks with stunning views, stunning sun sets, pretty cocktails! Perfect spot for a romantic getaway with hubby/partner.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast


Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Setting
Cons: Perhaps, more basic choices of dining, perhaps cheaper snacks
Although we have previously stayed in many other properties, had not had the pleasure of the Fijian previously. Although it is an older property, the setting and grounds are beautiful and staff, restaurants and facilities are fantastic. My only complaint is we only had 4 nights ..... next time hopefully longer.
5 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent facilities

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, spa
Cons: The spa could provide a greater range of services
Location: Not a lot nearby to do, but the resort had enough to provide a great break away
Great relaxing resort, spa and beauty treatments excellent