Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TEXAS

Clean and close to everything the grounds are beau

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice but dated all the folks that worked there were great it's like they really wanted us on their Island
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not worth the money!!

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The personal that works there, people is very nice!
Cons: rooms are old and need to be repaired. I stay with the faucet on my hands after trying to open the water!!!
Location: good location!
To be fair there are not 5 or 4* hotels in EI, we book what we thought would be one of the best hotels available to be comfortable with our 2Y. The hotel common areas are surrounded by nature which makes it beautiful but the rooms are a total disappointment! so why to pay more when you can get the same on other less expensive hotels? my recommendation rent a cabin, you would get more space and be comfortable. my 2Y was crying every time we got into the room, he asked to be outside; we thought he was having too much fun outside but the true is that this only happen on this hotel, he was happy in all other hotels we booked in Chile. we decided to keep the door open and let him run in the nice gardens that the hotel offered. The breakfast is the same everyday and since my son is a 2 year old and stays free he was not entitle to have breakfast (ridicules, even the staff felt bad and would bring us extra bananas). There are no ceiling funs and comfortable beds as advertise, you get a table fan (personal size); When I complaint about it and showed the owner the description of the room, she was very nice and understanding, she upgrade us to the more expensive room which was lager and with air condition for 3 out of the 4 nights since she needed the room. I accepted better to sleep 3 nights that none because the humidity and heat wont let you sleep & windows open don't work since there was no ocean breeze. However, the larger room was far from better!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little slice of paradise

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
The place is beautiful, a little slice of paradise. The owners and staff were so friendly and helpful. Only bit of constructive criticism would be that the WiFi could be improved as it was difficult to book flights and other important internet based activities... however given that it is a secluded island, I cannot complain. Will definitely return one day. Thank you hotel manavai :)
5 out of 5
by Patricia from Boston

Island charm, but a bit rustic.

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
If you're looking for a major luxury hotel chain, you've come to the wrong place. I happened to love the Hotel Manavai, though, because it has a very island feel to it. Yes, it's a bit rustic with wood paneling and a tiki support beam, but that's what gave it its charm. Very convenient to the main street in town. Breakfast was the same each day, but I had no problem with that. Wi-fi was a little iffy, but I think it was a town wide problem. Some of the staff spoke English and some didn't. Even so, we were able to communicate satisfactorily. I would not have been happy in a chain hotel. I hope they never come to the island so that it stays pure as it is now.
4 out of 5
by Tai Wai from Hong Kong

A Friendly stay at Easter Island

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
I really enjoy the breakfast and the friendliness of the owners. It is a good escape from business for 2 days. However, if you cannot get away from internet, Easter island is not the location.
3 out of 5
by eric from simi valley, CA

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
Basic hotel, nice garden setting. Very helpful staff. Great location. Nice breakfast. Unreliable wifi but there is an internet café up the street.
3 out of 5
by Irene from Brussels

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
very close to the main street and the beach rooms can use a major renovation (especially the bathroom falls apart from just looking at it) ok WiFi great breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pictures of the rooms are consistent with what the place looks like overrated price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from LA

Hotel on the island of a dream of a lifetime

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Authentic vibe to the island and it has a great location close to the main street of the city and near the water.
Cons: Proper bedding; updated facilities; working internet.
Location: The hotel is right off of the main street where all the supermarkets are and close to the water side where scuba shops and restaurants are. Safe area.
We were on our honeymoon and looked over many hotels on the island to find the perfect one for us. I wanted a mixture of class, comfort and excitement. The pictures of the hotel looked great with a very outdoorsy feel. The pictures of the rooms were varied and at times it looked like a hostel more than a hotel, but they noted they had renovated rooms so I went for it since it was a 3 star hotel. When we arrived, the hotel shuttle was nowhere to be found- they later told us that our travel agency should have booked it for us, however I booked this directly through expedia so no "agency" was working with us. they should not publicize a free airport shuttle if they will not actually pick up people. Our room had a basic queen bed and a twin bed in it. The queen bed however had sheets that did not fit it! So every night when we went to sleep, the bottom sheet would move around and wrap around my husband that tends to move at night. That uncovered big stains on the bed which was pretty appalling. We also had an issue with the restroom: the toilet had an issue that it kept running because the pump was off. We let the staff know, but they did nothing about it. We had to keep lifting the back of the toilet to fix the pump every time we went to the restroom and our fingers kept getting covered with black dye from the pump - disgusting. The internet was a deciding factor for us as it was included in our stay, however it was terribly slow and we were not able to do anything with it.
3 out of 5
by Jay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels