Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouvwr

Hotel with a heart.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Although there were some issues, the fact that they were taking in wildfire evacuees far outweighed any personal inconvenience. I would not hesitate to return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kamloops

University Dorm room 9 months of the year

Posted Aug 20, 2017
If you are feeling nostalgic and want to relive your youth staying in a dirty, beat up dorm room this is the place for you. If you want a hotel go else where. This place was advertised as a hotel, and it's not. In the off season from school they rent out the door rooms. It was filthy! Dirty floors, left over condiments in the fridge, hair in the shower. The bed sheets looked clean. Hard dorm style beds. Because it was not a hotel the room had no hotel room amenities. No coffee, slippers, iron, house coat, safe, etc. I can't believe it was rated a 3.6 out of 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Posted Aug 20, 2017
My kids loved the space! If a hair dryer is included, it would be perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph

What you see is what you get

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Perfect for our large group . Clean room and friendly staff .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

It's just a university dorm room

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The beds are rock hard. They should be a little more clear that what you're getting is a dorm room and not a "2 room suite"
I guess the word "Residence" should have tipped me off but in Northern Alberta lots of Hotels that cater to oilfield have the word residence in their name and some are quite nice, so it didn't seem that odd. I guess the fact that it's a dorm room isn't such a big deal except for the fact that the beds are rock hard. We were just passing through and just needed to get a good night's sleep but the beds didn't really provide that so it was a bit of a fail.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Not up to it's previous standard

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location and price are perfect for our pit-stop during our road trip. Close to supermarkets and restaurants
Cons: Nothing, usually a great stay but just a couple of glitches with more than usual numbers of people staying I think!
We will still stay again, no question, but this stay was definitely not as good as previous years. It's is completely understandable because of being an evac centre for the current BC fires so we are not complaining! There was no wifi as it was being upgraded, which was disappointing because my husband had some work to do while on this trip and was going to get it done while staying here because of the space available in the kitchen area. The drink machine wasn't working either, an issue we've never had in our 3 previous stays so we're putting this down to a glitch because of the increase in people staying. Nothing was serious enough to stop us from coming back again next year
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Centrally Located on Campus

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Reception assisted nicely with directions. Check in and out were a breeze.
Cons: Since parking was at the back, it would have been nice to have a bell hop attend to my bags.
Location: Although centrally located on the south side, a car will still be required to get downtown.
Apparently maid service was not available during my stay with the difficult to comprehend rationale that services to fire evacuees had taken precedent. Although, I empathized with the plight of fire evacuees staying at the complex, I didn't quite see why paid guests who had booked months in advance would consequently have service compromised. This room came equipped with a microwave, sink, and cupboards and hence it would make sense to provide a basic dish set in order to utilize the facilities. I had the impression that the kitchen down the hall was unavailable to hotel guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kamloops Research Trip

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Location: It is on the campus of the Thompson Rivers University on hill some distance from downtown, too far to walk.
Due to wildfire evacuees there was no housekeeping service available, had to make my own bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Trevor , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to pass on your words. Unfortunately due to the province wide state of emergency, the campus was designated as an evacuation center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

easy bus ride to downtown

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Roomy and clean
Location: take a bus and go downtown
We stayed this hotel { university dorm} for last summer and this summer. It is clean and so roomy and affordable. When we come to Kamloops, we go to our favorite pub for dinner and drink and catch a bus home. It is so relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

great view, comfortable

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: great view of city Kamloop, quiet, and neat.
Cons: could you please get rid of the terrible smoke smell.
great view, comfortable. but the whole room smells not good....it seems that last resident was a heavy smoker.