Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: helpful staff, comfortable bed, hot shower, good location
Cons: updating
helpful staff, comfortable bed, hot shower, good location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good but not not as expected

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Staff was friendly and hotel was in great location . Only the thing that can be change the Ac which was not working .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and charming hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
I had a comfortable stay with a fantastic view, even though the lock on my door was spoilt and the wifi connection was not strong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Friendly Hotel with easy access to shopping

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The friendly staff, the restaurant and the free WiFi.....and my beautiful room on the top floor
Location: Situated right in the heart of Themal shopping area a short distance from the Garden of Dreams and Monkey Temple
I stayed 7 days then went to Pokhara and returned to same hotel for a further 5 days....Tibet Guest House was located in a quiet street with views of the mountains from the rooftop and Upper levels.. The Hotel Car was available for sightseeing, and local taxis were happy to tour you to the Temples and shopping. The Hotel was in a busy shopping area and rickshaws were available at the door. The Hotel restaurant was fantastic with smiling service 24 hours, and there were 2 free Computers for Wifi..and free wifi for my tablet and phone. The hotel also had a coffee/wine bar and relaxing area with snacks and coffee or tea. Room service daily with clean towels and soap was appreciated. I can recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a safe and happy place to stay at where "you arrive as a traveler and leave as a friend'...quote from their advertisement. I left many friends behind when I left Nepal.
3 out of 5
by Michael from Melbourne

Reasonable value

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at Tibet Guesthouse (and many other hotels in Thamel) many times. While the service and overall ambience of the hotel is very good, the quality of the actual rooms vary considerably with some in particular lacking sufficient maintenance. That said, it is better than most hotels in Thamel and is reasonable value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Dependable

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Wotif
The TGH is a perfectly fine place to stay. For the money it is reasonable value. The level of finish in the building is typical of Kathmandu. Do no expect spotless, but you also won't get spotless at other places that are quite literally 4 times the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great place

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The breakfast buffet was a really pleasant surprise, but also the friendly and helpful staff
For Nepal I thought this place was pretty good. Set in Thamel, it's in the heart of the tourist district and an easy walk to masses of shops. In comparison to the many other places I stayed in Nepal, this was easy to settle into, friendly to guests and affordable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Utah, USA

Good for the situation

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: For me the two best improvements would be hotter water early in the day (for a morning shower) and heat for the room.
Location: Thamel, Durbar, the Palace (and its nearby "rich folks" shopping), and a nice walk to Swarambunath
If you come from the States or other highly developed country and you are used to staying at the best places then you'll rate this this hotel low. That's always easy to do. However, this is Nepal. In my view the hotel was good for the circumstances. To be sure, it is not the Hyatt. Yet, the staff are friendly, my room was clean and things generally worked. Power is out for a good deal of the day, but that comes with the territory unless the hotel has "dual power" (around the clock). The air conditioner/heater didn't work most of the time as a result of the power issues. If the city is cold the hotel will be cold also (probably more heat in the winter). In my view the best parts of this hotel are the friendly staff, good locks on the room, cleanliness, and the location. The hotel is located between Thamel and Durbar, a short walk to the former and a longer walk to the latter. I'd stay there again. However, for higher cost there are some nicer hotels in Thamel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A big mistake for chosing this Hotel..

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: Only location....
Cons: Improvement needs to be done to a maximum....
Location: A good location and the best place to Shop and move around.....
The stay was a nightmare.... rooms were not clean or comfortable... Guests requirements were not even taken into consideration ... even though they had the generator set they did not operate the same during power cuts... food was horrible.. actually we thought of even cancelling our holidays and returning back until we found an alternate hotel which was much better... please never take the risk of booking this hotel... please u wil regret it for a lifetime... the simplest requirement of hotwater was also not provided,.... Wifi was so bad... you can name anything and all things failed...
4 out of 5
by Dr. N D Arora from Shahjahanpur

Fair Deal n Good Services

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels
A comfortable Stay n well mannered staff!