Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Ok place to stay!

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach, restaurants and the main road!
Cons: A TV in the room!
Location: It's close to everything since the Island is small!
The building is old, but the room was clean! There was no TV or blow dryer in the room!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Site magnifique, chambre sous-équipée

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Site extraordinaire, sur le bord du Pacifique, avec plage tranquille (baignade déconseillée)
Cons: Mettre télé, four et micro-ondes dans les chambres, repeindre les chambres et le bàtiment.
Location: À 10-15 minutes de l'aéroport de Lihue, à 5 minutes du village de Kapaa, chutes spectaculaires à 10 minutes en voiture. Toute l'île est accessible.
La kitchenette comprenait uniquement un réfrigérateur et un évier. Pas de four-micro-ondes ni de plaque chauffante. Dommage, parce que la chambre était spacieuse avec une vue extraordinaire sur le Pacifique. Pas de climatisation,, mais nous n,avons pas eu chaud et nous avons adoré dormir avec le bruit du vent et des vagues. L'entrée de l'hôtel est mal indiquée, il faut faire attention pour ne pas passer tout droit. Le bàtiment a besoin d'une couche de peinture. Épicerie, restauration rapide à distance de marche, Kapaa est à 5 minutes en voiture. Malgré tout, excellent rapport qualité-prix.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is close to the beach- that's why we go there.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Not happy they removed the hot plates and toasters from the rooms. Homeless people were using the facilities and swimming in the pool. Didn't feel safe- more security needed
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: General maintenance of the rooms.
Location: Great location in Kapaa central to so many things to do on Kauai.
Property could use some upgrading but it is clean and on the ocean. The water is rough being on the windward side. Nice grounds with built in alarm clocks in the form of roosters. Overall for a good budget place to stay it is good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leduc, alberta

Not worth it!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The view of the ocean.
Cons: Tear down the hotel and rebuild.
Terrible shape. Broken security chain. Patio door broken. Toilet wouldn't shut off. Best part... Amazing view.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
pleasant; close to beach; making improvements so will be better for future visitors!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Minimalistic choice at a fair price

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: It was affordable and safe. At any given time, I had expensive camera/video camera equipment stored in the room and no issues.
Cons: Addition of a small fan for better air circulation.
Don't expect too much. Read the description. Do you need a place to store your stuff while you experience Kauai? Then this is your place. No TV, A/C, Wifi in the room, but in my case had a great view. Suggestion, bring a portable fan to circulate the air in the room. I bought a $20 oscillating fan at walmart and it made the living experience better. Bathroom was clean. My only issue was the door, somewhat difficult to close and open. Seemed that the flooring leading to the door became uneven and there was wear/tear on door to alleviate the stress of the imperfection.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

No TV, No A/C, No Internet, No Phone in Room

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: The "studio ocean front" view from my 3rd floor room balcony is outstanding! Especially at $89 plus taxes, each night. Terrific location!
Cons: No TV, No A/C, No Internet, No phone in the room. Also, No elevator. My room was on the third floor; good thing I was traveling light.
Location: Motel is at south end of Kapaa Town. There are 2 small shopping complexes practically across the street, within 5-7 minute drive.
This hotel has an outstanding view of the ocean with a breakwall. The beach is next door. Great functioning gas grill. I saw several guests grill steaks. Grocery store is 5-7 minute drive. The staff are very friendly. The room is old with lots of salt air damage. I should have read the amenities list and not assume that ALL hotel rooms have a TV, A/C, Telephone, and Internet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

A week in Paradise!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The restaurant at the hotel was good, although a bit pricey. Central location was great.
Cons: The place is a bit run down and could use updating. No WiFi except in lobby and pool area. No TV Darn Roosters wake you at 5:30 am
Location: Great walking distance to stores, specialty shops, kayak guides, restaurants, surfing, snorkeling, scuba diving.
I stayed at the Mokihana for a very reasonable price so I was not expecting a 5 star hotel. However, my reservation was not received so they were not expecting me at the late arrival time I had alerted them about. The security guard on the grounds opened the office and gave me an unexpected guest room until my reservation could be resolved the next day. The staff were helpful. The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to several stores. A great surprise was the kayak guides up the Wailua river at the end of the drive. Very welcoming people. The rooms were adequate. My screen door fell off the track so I ended up putting it back on often. All in all, I had a good stay. I wasn't in the room much. No TV or air conditioning. Just a fan and a good breeze off the ocean. Great view from any room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations in some areas. Currently, Mokihana is scheduled to undergo an interior and exterior renovation beginning in February of 2017. When completed, all rooms will have flat screen TV's, wifi modems, new beds, new decor. and much more. We hope to see you again once our renovation is complete.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. George, Utah

Great location and an excellent value

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Excellent value, good location, ocean view from balcony.
Cons: The exterior of the building clearly needs work, and the parking lot is not large enough to accommodate both guests and restaurant patrons.
Location: Shopping, hiking, swimming, exploring.
It is clearly an older facility that has seen better days, but it appears that the bathrooms were updated recently with fiberglass tub enclosures. There were no room phones or TV. WiFi was solid in the lobby, but kind of marginal at my room. The grounds were nice with an excellent view of the ocean, and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The restaurant served dinner only, but the food was excellent. It seemed to be very popular as the parking lot was completely filled at times, and I had to park off the driveway on the grass. Just across the highway is a McD's for those who are on a budget or need an early breakfast. Two local shopping centers have pretty much anything you need. The highway does get totally backed up at times as traffic crawls through multiple traffic lights. Overall, it was a pleasant convenient stay, and I would choose it again for the bargain price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments as we get closer to our property renovation in February of 2017. When completed, each room will have a TV, wifi modem, new bedding, new décor, and much more. We hope to see you again on your next visit. Mahalo, General Manager